Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Dick Higgins Collection

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1968-1993
Creator: Higgins, Dick (1939-1998)
Extent: 7.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0790
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: He was a Fluxus artist. This is an Alternative Traditions in Contemporary Art Collection (ATCA).

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in Oversized material.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were given to the University of Iowa Libraries by a variety of sources including Ken Friedman, Buster Cleveland, and Steve Durland.

Preferred Citation: Dick Higgins Collection, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Dick Higgins was born in Cambridge, England in 1939 and died in Quebec in 1998. He was a Fluxus artist who studied with John Cage and Henry Cowell (1958-1959), and co-founded Happenings in 1958. He is credited with coining the phrase intermedia to describe his particular approach to artmaking that included (but is not limited to) his visual, musical and literary efforts. He was a theorist, poet, composer, performance artist, printmaker, filmaker, and book publisher. Most notably, Higgins founded Something Else Press (1963-1974), operated the Something Else Gallery (1966-1969) and founded Unpublished Editions (Printed Editions) in 1972.

The collection contains original manuscripts of performance art, original works of art, and related ephemera.
This is an Alternative Traditions in Contemporary Art collection.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL
Series 2: OVERSIZED MATERIALS

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Correspondence
    47 items, mostly postcards
  • Writings
  • "An Exemplativist Manifesto" poster by Unpublished Editions, 26 August - 1976
  • "Useful Stanzas" - 1959
  • "Non-Performance Pieces" - 1963
  • "Happytime the Medicine Man" July - 1958?
  • "Employment Questionaire" 23 May - 1963
  • "Garden Magic" July 1959 - 1959
  • "Snake in the Grass: a variation on Concretion Number Eight" - 1963
  • "Just Who Knows What" - 1963-1964
  • "january fish" Futura 21 poster - 1967
  • "i'm tired of being misunderstood" - 1976
  • "Towards an Allusive Referential" from A Dialectic of Centuries - 1977
  • "Fiction" four stories - 1959-1961
  • "In the Context of Shoes and Shoes and Horses and Burned Rushes Moon! and Seahorses Rebuff'd and Trio Without Rags or Sandals and Musical Process No. 6" - 1960
  • "The Musical Wig" - 1961
  • "New Poems" - 1959-1962
  • "One Hundred Plays" - 1961
  • "Levels" - 1959
  • "Three Landscapes Decorated with Witches" - 1960
  • "A Second Pseudo-Philosophical Treatise Upon the Word 'Likely' as it was Used by George Brecht in a Momentous Communication Received by the Present Author 8/14/60" - 1960
  • "poem in 64 word form - for Larry Poons-" - 1959
  • "An Anonymous Novel about the Snow (which offers to become an opera or a theater piece or a movie or just snow)" - 1959
  • "Rank Weeds: a valentine which is just as you make it to be" - 1960
  • "Information, Classified and Private, for Larry Poons" - 1961
  • "Four Poems to be Performed" - 1962
  • "An Essay Deliberately on Snow" - 1959
  • "Four Dangers, a Structure, and a Symphony" - 1961
  • "Half a Dozen" - 1960
  • "Six Concretions" - 1961
  • "Two Hundred and Sixteen Basic Cuing Situation"
  • "Suggested by Small Swallows" set of two performance scores by Dick Higgins - 1973
  • Miscellaneous
  • "Performances by Dick Higgins" June-July 1976, compiled by Don Boyd-Dick Higgins - 1976
  • Dick Higgins: A Bio/Bibliography 1979, Threadneedle Editions, West Glover, Vermont - 1979
  • "Other Management Presents: Dick Higgins" -- a curriculum vitae brochure (2 copies)
  • Unpublished Editions Catalog (2 copies) - 1976-1977
  • Unpublished Editions, Special Catalog: Books by Dick Higgins - 1977
  • "Five Traditions of Art History, an Essay" poster by Dick Higgins - 1976
  • "Some Poetry Intermedia" poster by Dick Higgins (2 copies) - 1976
  • publishers advertisement for The Epickall Quest of the Brothers Dichtung and Other Outrages
  • "Vintage Higgins" checklist
  • Schedule of events for The 11th International Festival of Sound Poetry in Toronto, n.d.
  • List of "Dick Higgins -- Activities in Europe" (2 copies) - 1982
  • Program from performance "Musik von Dick Higgins", April 16, Berlin - 1982
  • Series 2: OVERSIZED MATERIALS
  • Drawer 1:
  • Series of 29 related prints
  • 26 color prints all untitled but numbered - 1973
    30" x 22"
  • Topsy Tury #3 - 1973
    color print 30" x 22"
  • Unititled - 1973
    color print 30" x 22"
  • Back O' the Wind - 1973
    color print 30" x 22"
  • Drawer 2: Material related to Higgin's print series and other miscellaneous material
  • "Geographies" - 1983
  • Nadie
    color print 8.5" x 13"
  • Untitled - 1973
    color print 8.5" x 13"
  • Untitled - 1973
    color print 9" x 12.5"
  • Untitled - 1973
    color print 15" X 20"
  • Untitled - 1973
    color print/drawing 14" x 17"
  • Untitled
    color print with poem 22" x 30"
  • Untitled (2 copies) - 1973
    black and white prints 9.5" x 13.5
  • Untitled - 1973
    color print 16" x 20"
  • Untitled - 1973
    color print 18" x 23.5"
  • Untitled E #2 - 1973
    black and white photo 16" x 20"
  • Untitled - 1973
    mixed media/print 16" x 20"
  • Untitled - 1973
    color print 16" x 20"
  • Glass/lass, poem poster (4 copies) - 1970
    poem poster
  • 1,000 Symphonies Event (26 copies) - 1967

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
Twentieth Century Avant-Garde Art
Alternative Traditions in the Contemporary Arts (ATCA)