Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the ATCA Rubber Stamp Art Collection

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1927-1997
Creator: ATCA Rubber Stamp Art
Extent: 4.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0788
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Miscellaneous printed materials (primarily catalogs) concerning rubber stamp art. The majority of the materials in this collection were acquired by artist, author, and archivist John Held Jr. (born 1947) from William Picasso Gaglione (born 1943).

Alternate Extent Statement: Ephemera throughtout.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were given to the University of Iowa Libraries by John Held and Steven Durland.

Preferred Citation: ATCA Rubber Stamp Art Collection, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

The majority of materials in this collection were acquired by artist, author, and archivist John Held Jr. (born 1947) from William "Picasso" Gaglione (born 1943). Gaglione has worked extensively with both stamp art and mail art. Gaglione founded the rubber stamp company Stamp Francisco, which he owned from 1982 -- 1997. From 1990 -- 1997 he served as the curator of the Stamp Art Gallery. Gaglione currently designs stamps for the company Stampland, which he runs with his wife Darlene Domel. He is also the editor of Stampzine, an irregularly published collaborative of stamp art.

The ATCA (Alternative Traditions in the Contemporary Arts) Rubber Stamp Art Collection consists of 4.5 linear feet of miscellaneous printed materials concerning rubber stamp art from 1927-1997. Catalogs from various rubber stamp companies and orgainizations comprise the majority of the collection. These companies and organizations are organized in alphabetical order. Note: This is a folder level inventory. Specific contents of each folder are not listed.
Additional material on William Gaglione can be found in ATCA: Artists' Works and Correspondence. The stamp related zines National Stampographic, The Rubber Fanzine, The Rubber Stamper, Rubberstampmadness, Stamp Art, Stamp Axe, and Stampzine can be found in ATCA Periodicals and Zines. This is an Alternative Traditions in Contemporary Art collection.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Miscellaneous Rubber Stamp Related Materials
  • Flyers, notices, and booklets for rubber stamp shows, events, and festivals
  • Publications about rubber stamps
  • William Gaglione correspondence concerning rubber stamps
  • Rubber Stamp Companies and Organizations
  • A Stamp in the Hand
  • A A Graphics
  • Aardvark Adventures
  • Box 2:
  • Abracadada Rubber Stamps/ Stamp Francisco
  • Acey Deucy
  • Aladdin Stamps
  • Alextamping
  • Alice In Rubberland Fantasy Stamps
  • All Night Media
  • American Traditional
  • Anderson Enterprises
  • Anne Made Designs
  • Annette Allen Watkins Printworks
  • Anonymous Stamp Catalogs
  • A.N.T. Transfer Company
  • Aquarian Research Foundation
  • Arben Corporation
  • Art Studio Workshop
  • Box 3:
  • ArtCraft Distributing Comapny
  • Artistic Impressions
  • Artstampers World, Incorporated
  • August Grauer's Magic Show
  • B. M. Blue
  • Bayberry Stamps
  • Bears to Go
  • Bear-wee-wuvables
  • Bergsma Ilustrations
  • Beth Club Stamping Gear
  • Big Black Cadillac
  • Bizzaro
  • Blue Moon
  • Bobz Rubber Stamp Company
  • Bonnie Rose Company
  • Boo Coo Rubber Stamps
  • Bookman Enterprise
  • Boston International Incorporated
  • Brand X
  • Button Mania
  • C Note Enterprises
  • Box 4:
  • Calligraphy Rubber Stamps
  • Cat Stickers and Rubber Stamps
  • Catnip Corner, The
  • Chicken Little Rubber Stamp Factory
  • Circustamps
  • Classic Status Stamp Company
  • Co-motion Rubber Stamps
  • Contemporary Concepts
  • Country Peddlers, The
  • Creatrix Carvings
  • Dawn Rubber Stamp Company
  • Decor 8
  • Diced Lemon
  • Distinct Impressions
  • Doo-Da Postage Works
  • Evergreen Engraving
  • Fabulous Rubber Stamps
  • Fairfax Rubber Stamp Company (formerly Red rubber Valley)
  • Far East Rubber
  • Far North Images
  • Fawcet Stamps
  • Fearless Design
  • First Impressions
  • Five and Dime Rubber Stamps, The
  • Flim-Flam Shop
  • Fly By Night
  • Flying Fish Rubber Stamps
  • Folk Stamps
  • Fruit Basket Upset
  • Funny Business Rubber Stamps
  • G and K Stamper Enterprises Company
  • Box 5:
  • Go Stamping
  • Gold Thrush Arts
  • Good Impressions
  • Good Stamps
  • Govin's Incorporated Office Supply
  • Graphistamp
  • Gravin Images
  • Great Notions Rubber Stamps
  • Gregory Manifacturing Company, Incorporated
  • Happy Rubber
  • He "B" She "B" Rubber Stamp Company
  • Hero Arts
  • High Top Rubber Stamp Company
  • I Stamp
  • Impressions
  • Impressive Stamps
  • Incestuous Rubber Stamp Comapny, The
  • Box 6:
  • Ink and Image Rubber Stamps
  • Inkadinkado
  • Inkadoodle Dandies
  • Inkcredible Stamps
  • Inkling Stamp Comapny
  • International Premium Incorporated
  • Iris
  • J. C. Casey Design Rubber Stamps
  • Jackson Marking Products
  • Jerlyn Ju
  • Johnston Linotype Service Rubber Stamps
  • Judi Kins Rubber Stamps
  • Just Kids
  • Karen's Character Stamps
  • Kate Lanxner Stamps
  • Kidstamps
  • Kitten Kaboodle
  • Kitten Log Rubber Stamps
  • Klear Copy Design Rubber Stamps
  • Lasting Impressions
  • Leavenworth Jackson rubber Stamps
  • Leisure America Productions Limited
  • Letters
  • Box 7:
  • Lew company, The
  • Leonardo's Stampworks
  • Limited Edition Rubber Stamps
  • Lookin' Good Trading Company
  • Lost Marbles Rubberstamps
  • Loveland Rubber Stamp Company
  • Loving Little Rubber Stamps
  • Luv 'N Stuff
  • Lyons Rubber Stamps
  • MacGregor Enterprises
  • Mac-J Incorporated
  • Mainly Impressions
  • Make Your Mark Rubber Stamps
  • Marburger Stempel
  • Margaret Stamps
  • Mary alice Scenic Stamps
  • Metropolitan Stamp Company
  • Midnight Oil
  • Midnight Studio
  • Mini Creations
  • Ministry of Silly Stamps
  • Minkey's Rubber Stamps
  • Mostly Hearts
  • Box 8:
  • Mother and Child Rubber Stamps
  • Mother's Rubber Stamp Company
  • Museum of Modern Rubber
  • My Favorite Things
  • My Little Shop
  • Mystic Seals Rubber Stamps
  • Name Brand
  • National Stampagraphic
  • Nature Impressions
  • Neato Stuff
  • No Name Stamps
  • Northampton Museum of modern Art Picotiral Rubber Stamps
  • Nostalgic Impressions
  • One Hundred Proof Press
  • Orange Rubber Stamp Comapny
  • Palo Alto Printing and Rubber Stamps
  • Patrick and Company
  • Personal Stamp Exchange
  • Po Jo's Novelty Rubber Stamps
  • Polpero
  • Print Play
  • Printworks
  • PSX Rubber Stamps
  • Ragged Edge Press
  • Rollerwall Incorporated
  • Rub-A-Dub-Dub Rubber Stamp Works
  • Rubber Moon Stamps
  • Rubber Stamp Catalog, The
  • Rubber Stamps From Asia
  • Rubberama
  • Rubbersmith, The
  • Rubberstampede
  • Rubberstampgraphics
  • Rubberstampmadness
  • Box 9:
  • Ruth Hoppes Rubber Stamps
  • Sachs-Lawlor Anatomical Rubber Stamps
  • Saint Simian Society Limited
  • Serendipity Stamps
  • Seventeenth Stree Rubber Works
  • Square Beans Rubber Stamp Catalog
  • Stamp Act, The
  • Stamp Art Gallery
  • Stamp Art Museum
    Includes a gift from Mark Rassmiller "Moan Lisa"
  • Stamp Art Unlimited
  • Stamp Out Art
  • Stamp Pad Catalog, The
  • Stampa Barbara
  • Stampcrafter, The
  • Stamping Grounds, The
  • Stamping Up A Storm
  • Stampinks Unlimited
  • Stampos Rubber Stamps
  • Stamps of Approval
  • Stampworks
  • Stempelspa├č
  • Superior Type Company, The
  • Tickled Ink
  • Top-Drawer rubber Stamp Catalogue
  • Trodat
  • Tsukineko, Incorporated
  • Whoooshka Stampworks
  • X Stamper

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
Twentieth Century Avant-Garde Art
Alternative Traditions in the Contemporary Arts (ATCA)