Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Steven Durland Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1977-1983
Creator: Durland, Steven
Extent: 1.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0787
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Writer, sculptor, performance artist, and editor of High Performance magazine. Personal correspondence and documentation as well as artworks and other documentation from the Not Clay International Mail Art Show, co-curated by Durland and Melvin Tearle in 1977, and The Cover, co-curated by Durland and Robert Harris in 1978.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photos in boxes 1, 4

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition:

Preferred Citation: Papers of Steven Durland, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Stephen Durland has long served as the editor of High Performance magazine. Although well known throughout the United States, Canada, Ireland, and England as a writer, sculptor, and performance artist, he has also been highly active as an initiator of international correspondence art events and publications.

The Papers of Steven Durland consists of 1.5 linear feet plus 1 oversize box of Durland's personal correspondence and documentation as well as artworks and other documentation from the Not Clay International Mail Art Show, co-curated by Durland and Melvin Tearle in 1977, and The Cover, co-curated by Durland and Robert Harris in 1978. In boxes 1-3, the names of artists, who contributed to these shows, are listed in alphabetical order followed by a brief description of their work and the date of their work when known. The same information is provided in box 4; however, because the works in this box are mounted for exhibition, the names of the artists are arranged according to the order of their works as they appear in the box. (Note: This collection does not contain all of the works exhibited in either the Not Clay Show or The Cover. Several works from The Cover can also be found in Artifacts of the Eternal Network.
This is an Alternative Traditions in Contemporary Art collection.

Browse by Series:
The detailed description has not been entered into the repository.
To view the content list, please follow this link.

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
Twentieth Century Avant-Garde Art
Alternative Traditions in the Contemporary Arts (ATCA)