Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Nellie Aurner papers

Collection Overview

Date Span:
Creator: Aurner, Nellie (1874-1961)
Extent: 6.00 linear inches.
Collection Number: MSC0784
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Professor, dean, and author. This collection contains Ms. Aurner's unpublished translations of the dedications of Matteo Bandello as well as her research on Bandello.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were given to the University of Iowa Libraries by Ruth Aurner Tabb in 1982

Preferred Citation: Papers of Nellie Aurner, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Nellie S. Aurner was born in 1874 in Eldora, Iowa. At the State University of Iowa, she earned B.Ph., MFA and Ph.D. degrees. Later she was a dean of women at SUI and in 1935 she became a professor in English. She is the author of several books, including Hengest, A Study in Early English Hero Legend and Caxton: Mirrour of Fifteenth-Century Letters. She translated the dedications of Matteo Bandello, but these were not published. Nellie Aurner died in 1961 at the age of 87.

Manuscripts and notes concerning Nellie S. Aurner's work on Matteo Bandello.

Browse by Series:
There is no information currently for this Collection Guide.

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
English & American Literature
Writers Archive at Iowa
Prose Writers