Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the NC92 Networker Databank Congress Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1991-1993
Creator: NC92 Networker Databank Congress
Extent: 2.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0783
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: 443 indexed items generated by participants in the Decentralized World-Wide Networker Congress (August 1, 1991 -- March 15, 1992) (coordinated by the Crackerjack Kid - aka Chuck Welch) as well as additional materials documenting the congress.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in Boxes 1-5; Film/Video in Boxes 3, 4; Audio Material in Boxes 1, 2, 5.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.  Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition: These papers were given to the University of Iowa Libraries by various artists and were compiled by Estera Milman and Stephen Perkins.

Preferred Citation: NC92 Networker Databank Congress Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Coordinated by the Crackerjack Kid (aka Chuck Welch, editor, Eternal Network: A Mail Art Anthology, University of Calgary Press, 1995), the NC 92 Networker Databank consists of 443 indexed items generated by participants in the Decentralized World-Wide Networker Congress (August 1, 1991 - March 15, 1992). This approximately year long event was composed of dozens of small congresses during which self-identified Networkers convened to discuss issues relevant to the present and future of networking culture as well as concerns relevant to copy art, mail art, computer art, cassette recordings, underground publications, etc.

The Networker Databank Congress consists of 2.5 linear feet of 443 items submitted by various artists between August 1991 and February 1993 as well as additional material documenting the congress.These items include correspondence related to the Congress, statements about networking written by Congress participants, little magazines, electronic publications, catalogues, a network bibliography, video and audio documentation, and are arranged chronologically by their accesion numbers. The date provided for each item is the date the item was received unless indicated otherwise.
The NC92 Networker Databank Congress is a part of the Alternative Traditions in the Contemporary Arts Collection.

Browse by Series:
The detailed description has not been entered into the repository.
To view the content list, please follow this link.

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
Twentieth Century Avant-Garde Art
Alternative Traditions in the Contemporary Arts (ATCA)