Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Chicago Rock Island and Pacific Railway

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1857-1894
Creator: Chicago Rock Island and Pacific Railway
Extent: .
Collection Number: MSC0782
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Author of Land of the High Flags. The collection consists of manuscripts for this book, articles, correspondence, and other miscellany.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: The collection of CRIP materials was purchased from Scott Petersen of Wilmette, IL, in 1985. At the time of acquisition, archivists weeded out and destroyed most materials not related to the state of Iowa. The materials were processed between September 2009 and April 2010. In the course of processing, a large number of materials were weeded from the collection and destroyed: these included the majority of the collection's contract files, easements, industrial department files, lease cancellations, leases, and sales files. What is left is a strong representative sample of these types of records, reflecting the full range of CRIP business activities.

Preferred Citation: Chicago Rock Island and Pacific Railway, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

This collection consists of correspondence, legal files, property records, administrative records, maps, and other corporate records documenting the administration and activities of the Chicago, Rock Island and Pacific Railroad [CRIP]. The records focus particularly on the road's corporate life from the late 19th-mid-20th centuries, and concentrate (with some exceptions) on its activities within the state of Iowa.
See a history of the Chicago Rock Island and Pacific at the Kansas State Historical Society web site:

http://www.kshs.org/research/collections/documents/businessrecords/business_records_findingaids/chicago_rr.htm

Browse by Series:
The detailed description has not been entered into the repository.
To view the content list, please follow this link.

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.