Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the ATCA Periodicals and Zines Collection

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1960-2003
Creator: ATCA Periodicals and Zines
Extent: 56.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0779
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: This ATCA collection brings together journals, newspapers, zines, and similar formal and informal periodicals that are art-related or have artistic merit. The range of subjects is broad and include political and cultural issues, gender and sexuality questions, as well as music, film, poetry, and religion.

Alternate Extent Statement: Additional 19 oversize boxes and a map file drawer

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: The ATCA Periodicals were donated primarily by Stephen Perkins between 2000 and 2004. Additional donations were made by Ken Friedman, Steven Durland, Buster Cleveland, John Held, Fred Truck, R. Courtney, Estra Milman, Mike Crane, Don Milliken, M. B. Corbett, Alice Hutchins, and Luce Fierens.

Preferred Citation: ATCA Periodicals and Zines Collection, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

The ATCA (Alternative Traditions in the Contemporary Arts) Periodicals and Zines Collection consists of journals, newspapers, and zines dating from the 1960's to 2003. Most of these periodicals are art related or have artistic merit; however, the collection also includes periodicals concerned with music, film, poetry, politics, religion, and sexual orientation. The collections occupies some 56 linear feet plus 19 oversize boxes and a map file drawer of folio oversize materials.

The place of publication for each title has been recorded when known. For locations in the United States, city and state is noted; for foriegn locations, city and country is noted when known. Volume and issue numbers and dates are also recorded when known. Many titles do not have volume numbers. When a title was not assigned volume and issue numbers by the publisher but carries an indication of the year of issue, the number of issues present in the collection for that year is noted.

Titles are described below in one alphabet but are arranged by physical size in three sequences. The bulk of the collection is foldered and stored in standard document boxes. Oversize issues are stored flat in oversize boxes, and a smaller number of large items are stored flat in a map file drawer. Location is indicated following issue information. That is, if there is no oversize indication, then all issues are stored in the standard document boxes. An oversize designation indicates that preceding issues are stored in oversize boxes (or map drawer). Brackets "[ ]" have been used when these designations might be ambiguous without them.

This large collection by no means represents all of the University of Iowa Libraries holdings for similar periodicals published during this time period. A large number of similar titles are individually cataloged and must be searched in the InfoHawk database.

This is an Alternative Traditions in Contemporary Art collection.

Browse by Series:
The detailed description has not been entered into the repository.
To view the content list, please follow this link.