Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Manuscript of "The Chancellor's Party" by Don Liljenquist

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1947
Creator: Liljenquist, Don
Extent: 4.00 items.
Collection Number: MSC0776
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Four revisions of the play that won the Iowa centennial contest and was performed at the University of Iowa in 1947.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were given to the University of Iowa Libraries by Don Liljenquist in 1949.

Preferred Citation: Manuscript of "The Chancellor's Party" by Don Liljenquist, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

First, second, third, and fourth drafts of the play The Chancellor's Party. This play won the competition for the centennial play in 1947, and was produced at the State University Theatre February 25 -- 28 and March 1, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, and 8, 1947.
SPECIAL COLLECTIONS x-Collection PS3523.I373 C5 1949

MAIN Library 812.1 .L728c

MAIN Library PS3523.I373 C51949

Internet Broadway Database entry on Liljenquist: http://www.ibdb.com/person.asp?ID=5066

Browse by Series:
Series 1: THE CHANCELLOR'S PARTY

  • Series 1: THE CHANCELLOR'S PARTY
  • Box 1:
  • First draft, handwritten in a notebook, with revisions
  • Second draft, typewritten, with revisions as it was submitted to the contest committee
  • Third draft, a carbon copy, as it was presented February 25 - 1947
    With revisions made by the author, Charles Gaupp, and E. C. Mabie
  • Fourth draft, typewritten, a later version, written at Stanford University, from which the published edition was prepared