Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Susan Gearhart Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span:
Creator: Gearhart, Susan (1876-1961)
Extent: .50 linear inches.
Collection Number: MSC0774
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Manuscripts of poems from the Springville, Iowa poet's two books, The Plow on the Hill and The West is Here, as well as other poems.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were given to the University of Iowa Libraries by Mrs. Gearhart in 1947-1948.Guide posted to Internet: July 2004.

Preferred Citation: Susan Gearhart Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Susan Merriam was born in Hopkinton, Iowa, on September 9, 1876. She graduated from Lenox College in Hopkinton in 1897. She married Dr. Gearhart in 1901. She was a poet with two books to her name: The Plow on the Hills, published in 1936 and The West is Here, published in 1944. She lived in Springville, Iowa, for sixty years. Mrs. Gearhart died in 1961.

This collection consists of typescript and carbon copies with holographic corrections of some of Gearhart's poems from The West is Here and The Plow on the Hills and other poems.

Browse by Series:
There is no information currently for this Collection Guide.

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
English & American Literature
Writers Archive at Iowa
Novelists, Story Writers, & Poets