Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the George Abbe Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1938
Creator: Abbe, George (1911-1989)
Extent: 2.50 linear inches.
Collection Number: MSC0772
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Abbe, George, 1911-1989 , novelist and poet. Mss of Voices in the Square (Coward-McCann, 1938), his first novel.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition:

Preferred Citation: George Abbe Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Poet and novelist, George Abbe was born in Somers, Connecticut in 1911, the son of Harry Allen Grant and Aida (Kitteredge). He married Barbara Rossiter on September 22, 1934. They had no children. Abbe was a student at the University of Iowa. He was a professor of Humanities at New York State University and Associate Professor of English at New York State University and Russell Sage College.

He has published several novels and volumes of poety. Voices in the Square was his first published novel. Abbe died on March 15, 1989.

Browse by Series:
The detailed description has not been entered into the repository.
To view the content list, please follow this link.

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
McLeod, Kembrew, 1970-

Genre/Form of Materials:
Scrapbooks
Archives
Audiocassettes
Fliers (Printed matter)

Family Names:
Trailer family

Title:
Freedom of expression