Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Manuscripts of Chinese Writers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1949-1995
Creator: Chinese Writers
Extent: 3.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0771
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: A number of literary manuscripts composed by Chinese writers were acquired for the East Asian collections over a long period of time. In 1991, a program was established to encourage further and continued growth in this area.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition:

Preferred Citation: Manuscripts of Chinese Writers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

In 1991, The University of Iowa established a program to collect the work of prominent Chinese writers. Printed and manuscript materials were acquired, both by purchase and by gift. Records for published work can be found in the Libraries' bibliographic database, InfoHawk. Manuscript materials are described in this finding aid.

There are two series in this collection: correspondence concerning acquisition of the materials composes Series I. Series II is the manuscripts themselves.

For background, and a history of the early program, see Peter Xinping Zhou, "Chinese Writers in Iowa" (Books at Iowa 58 (April 1993). For an annually updated list of Chinese writers who have visited Iowa in the International Writers Program and whose work is represented in the Iowa collections, see Chinese IWP participants.

Browse by Series:
The detailed description has not been entered into the repository.
To view the content list, please follow this link.

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Nie, Hualing, 1925-

Dates:
20th century

Topics:
Authors, Chinese
Chinese literature

Genre/Form of Materials:
Archives
Articles
Correspondence
Manuscripts (Document genre)
Periodicals
Photocopies
Photographs