Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Book Arts Legacy at Iowa Collection

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1976-2000
Creator: Frost, Gary
Extent: 7.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0770
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Drawn primarily from the records of the Conservation Laboratory at the University of Iowa, this collection contains files for Bill Anthony, the first conservator; and Pam Spitzmueller and Gary Frost, the second and third conservators. Records from the Conversation Lab as a whole, the Book Arts Club, and the University of Iowa Center for the Book are also included in the collection.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in Box 2.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were given to the University of Iowa by Gary Frost in 2004.

Preferred Citation: Book Arts Legacy at Iowa Collection, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Gary Frost is an educator in book arts and conservation. He has taught at the School of the Art Institute of Chicago, Columbia University in New York and the University of Texas at Austin. He was a partner at BookLab, Inc., Austin, Texas and he founded the Dry Frio Bindery in Utopia, Texas. He was a founding Co-director of PBI and worked as a consultant to the National Library of Venezuela. He is currently the Conservator Emeriti for the Libraries at the University of Iowa.

The collection contains the personal and business papers of Gary Frost as well as publications that deal with the topics of conservation and book arts.
 
The material is organized into four series: Series I: Conservation as Discipline; Series II: Books and Bookbinding; Series III: Personal Papers and Documents; and Series IV: Miscellaneous. It is contained in four boxes, with numerous folders with Frost's original labeling. The name of each folder is listed in the Box Content List (below).

Browse by Series:
There is no information currently for this Collection Guide.

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.