Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Robert Espinosa Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1978-2000
Creator: Espinosa, Robert
Extent: 19.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0769
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Photocopies of articles on conservation and bookbinding.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were given to the University of Iowa Libraries by Robert Espinosa in 2004.

Preferred Citation: Robert Espinosa Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Robert Espinosa was born in Alamosa, Colorado. He attended Washington University in St. Louis and received a B.A. degree in Latin American Studies from the University of New Mexico. He studied book and paper conservation in New York City at the Center for Book Arts (1975 -- 1976) and worked as a Rare Book Conservator for the Library of Congress (1978 -- 1982). In 1982 he joined the faculty of the Harold B. Lee Library at Brigham Young University as Head of Conservation. He also served as the editor of the Book and Paper Group Annual and assistant editor of the Journal of the American Institute for Conservation.

This collection contains mostly photocopies of articles dealing with the binding of books, and preservation and conservation of books. Series I contains the Conservation Classified (boxes 1-12), which is Espinosa's collection on a variety of topics relating to the history, technology, and other aspects of bookbinding and archival conservation. The classification scheme is an expansion of a scheme first proposed by Espinosa in The Abbey Newsletter, Vol. 9, Number 1, part 2. (April 1985).

The second series (boxes 12-13) contains Espinosa's personal documents in relation to his work as a scholar and technician of book and archival conservation and preservation.
Brigham Young University - Harold B. Lee Library: http://www.lib.byu.edu/

The Library of Congress - Conservation Division

The Abbey Newsletter - Preservation of Library and Archival Materials: http://palimpsest.stanford.edu/byorg/abbey/an/

American Institute for Conservation (AIC): http://aic.stanford.edu/

Northeast Document Conservation Center (NDCC)

Browse by Series:
The detailed description has not been entered into the repository.
To view the content list, please follow this link.

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Espinosa, Robert

Corporate Names:
Brigham Young University
Library of Congress

Topics:
Archival materials
Bookbinding
Books

Genre/Form of Materials:
Archives
Articles
Correspondence
Notebooks
Personal papers
Photocopies
Professional papers