Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Haskell Family Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1775-1941
Creator: Haskell Family
Extent: .50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0766
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Diary of Caleb Haskell, 1775-1776; writings and correspondence of Edwin Charles Haskell, a presbyterian minister, and those of his wife Lottie and children Evan, William, Elsie, and Nellie.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in Box 1.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were purchased by the University of Iowa, April 2004.

Preferred Citation: Haskell Family Papers, The University of Iowa, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Edwin Charles Haskell was born in Madison, Indiana, on March 25, 1835, the son of Amos Hale Haskell and Gloriana Eldredge Haskell. He attended Marietta Academy and Marietta College in Marietta, Ohio, before attending Wabash College where he took his B.A. in 1857. He was licensed as a Presbyterian minister in April 1860 and ordained in Bainbridge, Indiana, in December 1860. He served in churches in Indiana, Iowa, and Nebraska, and moved about every two years. In 1864, he married Lottie E. Stevens in Vevay, Indiana. They had seven children. He apparently returned to Wabash College in 1888 -- 1889 to obtain an M.A. degree. He retired from the ministry in 1913 due to failing eyesight. Lottie died in 1928 and Edwin died in 1929.

These are mainly the papers of Edwin Charles Haskell, and include materials relating to his schooling at Wabash College, his work as a minister, and his personal and some clerical writings. A sentiment book kept by Lottie Stevens Haskell is a part of this collection. His daughters Elsie and Nellie also wrote creative pieces, and some of their writings are included here. A letter between two of Edwin's sons, Evan and W. E. (William Edmond) is included. Also included is a transcription of the diary of Caleb Haskell, whose relationship to Edwin is unclear, from May 5, 1775 to May 30, 1776.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Certificate, Atlanta-Southern Dental School. Charles Evan Haskell. July 5 - 1924
    Probably Edwin Haskell's son, though on other sources he is called Evan Charles
  • Diploma. Wabash College. Edwin Charles Haskell. - 1857
    Photocopy (Original at Wabash College, Crawfordsville, Indiana)
  • Haskell, Elsie. Over the Counter: A Monologue. Franklin, Ohio: Eldridge Entertainment House - 1923
  • Letter from Evan [Haskell] to "Bro" (W. E. William Haskell).
    ALS
  • Notebook containing a typewritten transcript of the diary of Caleb Haskell, May 5, 1775 to May 30, 1776 and writings of Elsie and Nellie Haskell, 1892 -- 1903. - 1775-1776; 1892-1903
  • Personal Writings of Edwin Chas. Haskell.
    Bound in red leather
  • Photographs and cards
  • Edna
  • Paul Haskell
  • Evan Haskell
  • Mrs. Edwin Chas. Haskell
  • Memorial card for Nellie Haskell
  • Christmas card to "Mother" from Elsie, 1929
  • Willie Haskell with wife, Della
  • Birdie Haskell, 1890s
  • Unidentified photograph
  • "Uncle Frank, Aunt [Ines?] and Jim"
  • Unidentified photograph (taken at Cedar Rapids, Iowa)
  • Presbytery of Fort Dodge. Spring Meeting, 1910. Program
  • Sentiment book, Lottie Stevens.
    This contains poems inscribed to her; newspaper clippings and illustrations, including the announcement of her 25th wedding anniversary and illustrations of Stromsburg Normal School, Norton Normal and Scientific Academy, and Stromsburg High School; photographs; and a retrospective of the life of E.C. Haskell written on the occasion of his eighty-ninth birthday.
  • "Song Poems by Elise A. Haskell. Secular." - 1935-1941
    Bound in a three ring binder. Typewritten. Includes some of her father's poems, some financial records and transcriptions of letters, including letter sent upon E. C. Haskell's death in 1929.
  • Tenth Semi-Annual Exhibition, Wabash College. Program.
    Photocopy (Original at Wabash College, Crawfordsville, Indiana)

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
Clergy and the Church