Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Zagreb Folios: Yugoslavian Artists' Work

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1974-1997
Creator:
Extent: .50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0765
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Half a linear foot of original art works by Yugoslavian artists and a scholarly paper that discusses several of these works.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: The Zagreb folios were donated by Ken Friedman in the late 1990's.

Preferred Citation: Zagreb Folios: Yugoslavian Artists' Work, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

The Zagreb Folios consist of half a linear foot of original art works by Yugoslavian artists and a scholarly paper that discusses several of these works. The approximate dates of the collection are1974-1997. This is an Alternative Traditions in Contemporary Art collection.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • "Mladen Stilinovic, Neue Slowenische Kunst, and Commodified Ideaology: Yugoslavian Art and Western Reception," July. - 1997
    Paper by Sarah Warren discussing some of these works.
  • FOLIO 1-Zagreb
  • Vlado Martek
  • Unitled, n.d. (with pencil)
  • "Autorsko Kiyiga" - 1980
  • "Autorsko Kiyiga" - 1980
  • "Upirem Prst U Abeced" - 1979
  • Unitled - 1980
  • "Book of Reparation" - 1980
  • "Poezija" - 1980
  • Unitled - 1980
  • Unitled - 1980
  • FOLIO 2-Zagreb
  • Mladen Stilinovic
  • 2 color installation photographs of Stilinovic's exhibition, "Exploration of the Dead: 1984-88." Gallery PM, Zagreb - 1988
    In brown envelope
  • FOLIO 3-Zagreb
  • Mladen Stilinovic
  • Portfolio of 19 small works by Stilinovic with English translations of texts
  • FOLIO 4-Zagreb
  • Mladen Stilinovic and Ken Friedman cover sheet notes
  • "Ja" series of 4 postcard size pieces
  • Newsprint piece - 1976
  • 3 printed cards
  • Card piece mounted on board, "Izvaden Iz Gomile"
  • Four-panel photo/text
    Needs conservation
  • Artists' book "Govor"
  • Four-panel snapshot piece
  • Card "polaroid"
    explanation of above piece?
  • Artists' book "Crveno Roza" - 1978
  • Artists' book "Written with Blood" - 1978
  • FOLIO 5-Zagreb
  • Mladen Stililnovic
  • Artists' book titled "Samoce II," (Solitude II) - 1976
  • FOLIO 6-Zagreb
  • Mladen Stilinovic
  • Conceptual 3 photo piece, 1 drawing, "My/Yours," and 2 works on money (date unreadable) - 1974
  • FOLIO 7(I)-Zagreb
  • Mladen Stilinovic
  • "Ausbeutung der Toten," Studio D Tubingen, Germany, January 17th-February 11th. Gallery Show Announcement - 1986
  • Galerija Nova, Zagrev
  • "Pjevaj!," Galerija Suvremene Umjenosti, Zagreb - 1980
  • Workers Canteen, Zagreb, (1989?) "Explotation of the Dead: 1984-1989."
    Interviews and statements about his work, with many pieces reproduced and map of how works were located in the show
  • FOLIO 7(II)-Zagreb
  • Empty
  • FOLIO 8(I)-Zagreb
  • Vlado Martek
  • "Counter-Culture Movement in Croatian Art from 1975-1985", Galerija Karas, Zagreb. April 5th-19th. Group show catalog - 1985
  • Galerija Suvremene Umjetnosti, Zagreb, April 8th-16th; Galerija DDT, February 3rd-20th, Zagreb; "Sentimentalnosti," Galerija Suvremene Umjetnosti, March 26th-April 19th, Zagreb. One man show catalogs - 1982, 1987
  • FOLIO 8(II)-Zagreb
  • Mladen Stilinovic and Vlado Martek
  • Collaborative Book, Stilinovic/Martek, "Knijigarad," Zagreb: Galerija Studentskog Centra - 1980
  • Mladen, Stilinovic, "I Have No Time," Tubingen: Edition Dacic - 1983
  • File X
  • Mladen Stilinovic
  • Artists' book
  • "Nered" (Order-Disorder)
    Undated.

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
Twentieth Century Avant-Garde Art
Alternative Traditions in the Contemporary Arts (ATCA)