Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the ATCA Artists' Works and Correspondence Files Collection

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1968-2010
Creator: ATCA Artists' Works and Correspondence
Extent: 18.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0764
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: This ATCA collection brings together mail art, correspondence, photographs, slides, compact discs, show announcements/posters, writings, and other ephemera related to or by various artists.

Alternate Extent Statement: Ephemera throughout.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: Artists' Works and Correspondence Files include donations made by Buster Cleveland, Steve Durland, Ken Friedman, and Fred Truck from approximately 1980-1990.

Preferred Citation: ATCA Artists' Works and Correspondence Files Collection, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

This collection collocates a number of similar file sequences, including The Crane/Friedman Correspondence Art Collection and portions of the Ken Friedman archive, as well as items from the Buster Cleveland and Bill Gaglione collections which brings together mailart, correspondence, photographs, slides, compact discs, show announcements/posters, writings, and other ephemera by or related to various artists. Entries appear in alphabetical order according to artists' last names and gallery names. Mailart is listed by the last name of the sender. The vast majority of artistic booklets are considered xerox art. This is an Alternative Traditions in Contemporary Art collection.
Series II contains gallery announcements and Series III contains 3-D artworks.
Descriptions for each folder's contents have not been completed. Please contact us (lib-spec@uiowa.edu) if you are interested in learning about the contents of a specific artist's folder.

Browse by Series:
The detailed description has not been entered into the repository.
To view the content list, please follow this link.