Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Fluxus West Collection

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1959-2003
Creator: Fluxus West
Extent: 45.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0763
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Organization representing the work of the Fluxus group and its members in the Western United States. Original artworks and relics by Fluxus West members.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in Box 1 and map case drawer. Series 6, 7, and 8 are stored at the off-site storage facility.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were given to the University of Iowa Libraries by Ken Friedman.

Preferred Citation: Fluxus West Collection, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

According to its founder Ken Friedman, "Fluxus West was established in 1966 to represent the work of the Fluxus group and its members in the Western United States and to promote and care for a wide variety of concerns in contemporary art which at the time represented highly experimental viewpoints in the art world represented by what was then an extremely small group of artists such as George Maciunas, Dick Higgins, Joseph Beuys, Christo, George Brecht, Bob Watts, et. al." The majority of the Fluxus West Collection was originally stored at the Museum of Contemporary Art in La Jolla, California, and later transferred to The University of Iowa Libraries. Several works from this collection were also shown in the travelling exhibition, Fluxus: A Conceptual Country.

The Fluxus West Collection consists of approximately 17 linear feet plus 14 oversize boxes of original art works and "relics" by various Fluxus artists. The approximate dates of this collection are 1959-1981. An asterisk next to a work indicates that it was used in Fluxus: A Conceptual Country.
This is an Alternative Traditions in Contemporary Art collection.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: 2-D WORKS
Series 2: POSTERS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, EPHEMERA
Series 3: 3-D WORKS
Series 4: OVERSIZE 2-D WORKS
Series 5: OVERSIZE POSTERS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, EPHEMERA
Series 6: OVERSIZE 3-D WORKS
Series 7: 2-D WORKS: MAP CASE DRAWER
Series 8: 3-D WORKS IN BOX

  • Series 1: 2-D WORKS
  • Box 1:
  • Anonymous
  • Smiling Thomas Jefferson on $2 bill (photograph), no date
  • Hungarian Demonstration (Tamas, St. Joby) (photograph) - 1972
  • Hungarian Artists/9: Gilbert and George (Tamas, St. Joby) (photograph)
  • Graphpaper triangle on string
  • Pierre Bergendi: letter to Ken Friedman with photographs of 25 of his works - 1968-1972
  • Joseph Beuys: 10 Fluxus West postcards, no date
  • George Brecht
  • Erotik (postcard), no date
  • Five Snakes Stolen in Munich (postcard), no date
  • Gianfredo Camesi: photographs and documentation of his work - 1972
  • Gustave Cerutti: 5 paper collages titled Variation - 1972
  • F. Copp: Vanzetti/Socko from "Famous Radicals Series" - 1971
  • Neil Felts: Untitled Objects - 1970
  • Ken Friedman
  • Zen Priest in Hat - 1970
  • Gentleman in Suit - 1970
  • 4 untitled pen and ink drawings, no date
  • Untitled print, no date
  • "Sock of the Month Club" letter with sock (first edition) - 1970
  • "Sock of the Month Club" letter with sock - 1973
  • Hundertmark
  • Drawing of man on bike - 1967
  • Untitled (collage) - 1966
  • Erwin Huppert: letter to Ken Friedman with 5 photographic collages - 1972
  • Mauricio Kagel: Saitensprung, no date
  • *Milan Knizak: Aktual/provo/Fluxus (photograph), no date
  • Alison Knowles
  • Untitled (Serigraph), no date
  • Untitled (Triptych), no date
  • J. H. Kochman: This Page Was Touched by the Fingers of J. H. Kochman, no date
  • Frank Pileggi: 5 photographs of Charlotte Moorman - 1976
  • Lucien Sagan: Sequence (a series of 4 photographs), no date
  • Klaus Staeck
  • Untitled (postcard), no date
  • Untitled (postcard) - 1971
  • Number 3 (postcard) - 1971
  • Ben Vautier
  • Untitled (postcard) - 1965
  • Untitled (postcard) - 1967
  • Impulse Art Realizations Cord #26 (postcard), no date
  • The Postman's Choice/ Le Choix du Facteur (postcard) - 1967
  • Series 2: POSTERS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, EPHEMERA
  • Box 1:
  • Poster for "A Mysterious New York Correspondence School Meeting" held at Finch College, no date
  • Poster and flyer for "Monday Night Letters," arranged by Robert Watts and George Brecht with "Assorted Night Riders" by Alison Knowles (Performance held at Cafe Au Go Go), no date
  • Announcement for "Celebrating John Cage Notations," no date
  • Poster for "Vautier Day/ Knizak Night," held at several venues - 1968
  • Poster for two performances by Sebdi (Michael Milure, George Montana, and Freewheelin Frank), one in Berkeley and one in San Francisco - 1967
  • Flyer for "Fluxus West in England" - 1972
  • A Brief History of Fluxus West, probably by Ken Friedman, no date
  • Chronology of Fluxus West - 1966-1970
  • Designs for Fluxus stamps by various Fluxus West artists - 1963-1974
  • An International Contact List, Published by Fluxus West, partial revision, September 9; March 10 - 1973; 1974
  • American Hero: The Sculpture of Don Boyd, DVD - 2006
  • Fluxus West, by Donald E. Boyd, 2007, and envelope "Found Art by Don Boyd" - 2007
  • Series 3: 3-D WORKS
  • Box 2:
  • Dietrich Albrecht: Untitled - 1970
  • Alison Deuine: Tie - 1966
  • Gold whistle, no date
  • Fur covered dish with balloon, no date
  • Hole punch with plastic object, no date
  • Mechanical object , no date
  • Gabor Altorjay: Kurzschlussobjeckt, no date
  • Bob Corley: Eyeglass
  • Julian Street: The Pylons
  • Monte Cazzara
  • Untitled - 1971
  • Dada is Everywhere, no date
  • Eric Anderson: In Case of Emergency, no date
  • Box 3:
  • Toy drum - 1969
  • Miniature mail bag, no date
  • Greg Sharits: prototype Fluxbox, "Plastic Box Event," no date
  • Melachrino box with seashells, New England - 1966
  • Block with rainbow stripes, no date
  • Calligraphy pen tips, no date
  • Metal bells (4) - 1968-1970
  • Temperature and humidity scale, no date
  • Brown paper bag full of black and white marbles and plastic stoppers, no date
  • Epaulet braid - 1967
  • Red leather coin purse full of die, metal chains, jewelry, and coins - 1967-1970
  • Champion Spark Plugs can - 1968
  • Ben Vautier: glass bottle labeled "$1 Dirty Water Brand from Flux Mill nice," no date
  • Box 4:
  • Plastic bag numbered 105, no date
  • Serenader pitch-pipe, no date
  • Nam June Paik: Fluxrelic from performance: Black Silk in a Plastic Canister - 1971
  • Amy de Neergaard: Metal canister containing a glass tub with a dead butterfly labeled "The remains of the alfatah after it was bombed by the manger . . ."
  • Small metal canister with plastic 3 Readers Digest tokens and 1 ID coin inside - 1968-1969
  • Miniature deck of Old Maid playing cards, no date
  • Tea strainer, New York - 1966
  • Blue plastic box , no date
  • Checkers and "standard checkers" lid - 1967
  • 2 wooden rulers - 1970
  • Fluxus West: Fluxfest - 1967
  • W. Feelisch made with Tommy Mew: rubber stamp with designs by K. Friedman, no date
  • Eric Stratton: Little Statues - 1969
  • Gregory H. Sweigert
  • Tag - 1968
  • Untitled - 1970
  • Frank Zappa: Tres Flores - 1970
  • Eleanor Ballov: Necklace - 1970
  • Stefan Wewerka: Hanger , no date
  • Ken Friedman: Swizzle Sticks (3 separate canisters); used at Fluxus West, 1967 - 1954-1961
  • Louis Mannich: Collage, no date
  • G. Brecht : Nutbone a Yamfest Movie , no date
  • Don Leicht: Lunch Money Tray - 1981
  • Thad Freeman: Circular Mobile in three pieces (metal) - 1968
  • Anonymous: "Too Late for Christmas," no date
  • Edition Hundertmar: Hommage á Valoch, no date
  • Box 5:
  • *Takehisa Kosugi: Events
  • *Plastic Buddha on a string purportedly belonging to Nam June Paik, no date
  • *Benjamin Patterson: Instruction No. 2, circa - 1965
  • *George Maciunas: Mystery Flux Animal, circa - 1965
  • Ben Vatier
  • *Dirty Water - 1964
  • *Fluxus/Theatre D'Art Total, circa - 1967
  • *higeko Kubota: Flux Medicine, circa - 1966
  • *George Brecht: Deck by George Brecht/ A Fluxgame, circa - 1966
  • *Mieko (Cheiko) Shiomi: Water Music - 1964
  • *Olivier Mosset/"Total Art Nice": Flux Dots - 1969
  • *Serge III Oldenbourg/"Total Art Nice": Flux Contents - 1969
  • *Andre Thomkins: Zahnscutz gegen gummiparagraphen, no date
  • *John Chick: Flux Food, circa - 1969
  • *Robert Watts: Flux Timekit, circa - 1967
  • *Robert Filliou: Fluxdust collected by Robert Filliou, circa - 1966
  • *Jack Coke's Farmers Cooperative: Find the End/ A Fluxgame, circa - 1969
  • *James Riddle: E.S.P. Fluxkit (4 copies), circa - 1966
  • Box 6:
  • Eric Anderson
  • 182550-182949 (Edition Hundermark) - 1971
  • Untitled (four multiples), no date
  • Gerhard Ruhm: Voyeurobjekt (Edition Hundermark) - 1969-1971
  • Klaus Staek: Sieg Heil "Wir Setzan uns Durch" - 1968
  • Ecology necklace belong to Milan Knizak, no date
  • Catalogue for exhibition titled "Les Paravents" La Galerie Ben Doute De Tout, held at Ben Vaituer's Galerie De La Salle in Venice, July 31- August 6 - 1971
  • Dieter Rot : Taschenzimmer. (Lithograph with banana slice per Keith Buchholz) - 1969
  • Ben Vautier : Fluxbox Containing God, circa - 1969
  • Wolfgang Feelisch: Fluxus Keeps Left - 1970
  • George Maciunas: New Flux Year, circa - 1965
  • Endre Tot: Cup with Shoe Lace, no date
  • Box 7:
  • *Albert M. Fine: Piece for Fluxorchestra, circa - 1967
  • George Bracht: Fluxus Games and Puzzles (4 versions), no date
  • George Maciunas: Flux Snow Game (2 copies), no date
  • Robert Watts
  • Fluxsand Hide and Seek, no date
  • Fingerprint, no date
  • Events - 1964
  • Fluxrock, marked by volume in CC (two wooden circles and a rock with number 75), no date
  • Robert Filliou: Optimist Box #3, no date
  • Takehisa Kosugi: Events - 1964
  • Ben Vautier: Theater D'Art Total - 1976
  • Serge III Oldenbourg/"Total Art Nice": Flux Contents, no date
  • Ay-O: Finger Box, no date
  • Box 8:
  • *Jochen Gerz: Postsachen - 1968-1972
  • *George Maciunas
  • *American Flag Samurai Hood - 1967-1968
  • *Flux Year Box 2 (Maciunas editor of this collaborative multiple), circa - 1968
  • *Hair from Yoko Ono Haircutting Event - 1966
  • Box 9:
  • Don Boyd: Flux Box II, c. - 2003
  • *Mieko (Chieko) Shiomi: Events and Games, circa - 1964
  • *George Maciunas and Robert Watts : Prototype for Watts Fluxrock, no date
  • *David Mayor: Fragmen - 1972
  • *Don Boyd: Fluxus West Leather Envelope - 1977
  • *Robert Filliou, Daniel Spoerri, and Roland Topor: Monsters are Inoffensive, circa - 1968
  • *George Maciunas: New Flux Year, circa - 1965
  • Series 4: OVERSIZE 2-D WORKS
  • Box 10:
  • Anonymous - 1971
  • Anonymous: Collage of identical images of S. Brad Hunt, founder and Chairman of the Board of American Life and Accident Insurance Company of St. Louis (signed S. Brad Hunt) - 1971
  • Beach (Etching) - 1960
  • Blei: O For the Soft Machinery of Earth and the Windmill Working It without Us (watercolor), no date.
  • George Maciunas
  • Fluxfest Sale, no date
  • Fluxus (Its Historical Development and Relationship to Avant-garde Movements), no date
  • Larry Mason: Untitled, no date
  • Ben Vautier
  • Drawing - 1968
  • 3 drawings - 1972
  • 2 drawings, no date
  • Jean-Pierre Zaugg: 2 untitled prints - 1971
  • Series 5: OVERSIZE POSTERS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, EPHEMERA
  • Box 10:
  • Poster for "Gigantic/See the Light/Happening" held at the Bifrost Bridge, no date
  • Poster for "Fluxus a biographical installation of events and collaborative projects," "Fluxus Concert and Valentine Event," directed by Peter Frank, and "Friedman," held at the Interart Gallery, New York - 1982
  • Poster for "Fluxshoe," no date
  • Poster for "A Tribute to John Cage," by Nam June Paik, televised event - 1976
  • Series 6: OVERSIZE 3-D WORKS
  • Box 11:
  • Gregory H. Sweigart: Leather strips tying plastic bags containing leather strips (35 bags)
  • Box 12:
  • Milan Knizak: Objekte (Edition Hundertmark) (labeled box with metal paper glider and yellow sponge in shape of hammer and sickle inside; sponge used in Fluxus: A Conceptual Country) - 1970
  • Box 13:
  • Checkered shirt and tube shirt - 1967
  • 2 brown raincoats, New York, used to perform Brecht Aqueous Events - 1966
  • Pea coat, New York-New England performance tour - 1966
  • Box 14:
  • White T-shirt with "The Happy Day School" printed on it, no date
  • White T-shirt with "The Happy Day Camp" printed on it, no date
  • Denim pants leg, Fluxus West (Knizak performance) - 1969
  • "Happy Day Nursery School" bag - 1967
  • Blue performance T-shirt (intentionally torn), used in Milan Knizak performance - 1969
  • Yellow-green shower curtain - 1968-1969
  • Green shirt sleeve (for Kosugi performance) - 1967-1969
  • Drumhead (educative toys), no date
  • Box 15:
  • Medical Scrubbs: 7 pairs of pants, 3 shirts, from "Marching Down to Washington," performance at Shaker Seed House, Tyringham, Massachusetts - 1972
  • Potato sacks (2), flour sack, and some stamps - 1968
  • Box of jumbo straws (Esco Maid) - 1966
  • Metal Arrow sign, no date
  • Coca-Cola thermometer - 1968
  • Ken Friedman: Captain's Shoes (pair of shoes with Nails and String) - 1967
  • G.L. Nova: "Midnight Spacial", no date
  • M. Ravicz: Sacred Cookies, no date
  • Box 16:
  • Burnt cork object in frame, no date
  • Box 17:
  • Rock with holes, used as candelabra (and) in conjunction with Watts rocks
  • Ken Friedman: Found Corner (iron square with nails) - 196-
  • Box 18:
  • Square with hooks and 3 labels-Balsa Wood, no date
  • Rope, no date
  • Crumby's Horse's Head: "Polky," no date
  • Box 19:
  • *"Stradivarius," (2 violins used during a Fluxus performance), no date
  • Neil Felts: Genocide (floor mat) - 1972
  • Box 20:
  • Black shirt, no date
  • White sweatshirt with marijuana image printed on it, no date
  • White sweatshirt with Egyptian hieroglyphs printed on it, no date
  • Striped shirt, no date
  • White T-shirt with "The Happy Day Camp" printed on it, no date
  • Yellow, black , and red sweater, no date
  • Japanese bathrobe, no date
  • Pink silk pajamas, no date
  • Light blue shirt, no date
  • Plaid sport coat, no date
  • Jean cut-off shorts, no date
  • Royal blue scarf, no date
  • Green vest, no date
  • Plaid jacket, no date
  • Blue pants and jacket, no date
  • Light blue pajama top, no date
  • Apron with Hebrew letters printed on it, no date
  • Box 21:
  • Black shirt, no date
  • George Brecht: white shirt with drawings on it, no date
  • Green jacket with "Cream Pecker '67," written on it - 1967
  • Box 22:
  • Jack Ox: Pyramid number 7 - 1969
  • Box 23:
  • Enzo Mari: Deformazione ottico de namica di un cubo in una sfera serie a punti C - 1959-1963
  • Series 7: 2-D WORKS: MAP CASE DRAWER
  • Map Case:
  • Mark (Thad) Freeman: An Armpit Manifesto
  • Nam June Paik: photocopy of Sifonie for 20 Rooms (First sketch) - 1961
  • 3 flyers for Fluxus West
  • Louis Nussbaumer: photos of drawings, 9 x 12, no date
  • Gérald Dueimetiere: photo series
  • Monument II - 1972
  • Monument - 1972
  • Exhibition in the Museum of Basil - 1972
  • Identification - 1972
  • Bois! - 1973
  • Diggers: 1% Free Poster, no date
  • Poster for 23rd Annual Fireman's Ball, Croan Hall, Mendocina
  • "Hanger" (Pencil drawing on corrugated cardboard) - 1968
  • JRF: Untitled  (Pencil drawing on paper) - 1977
  • Robert Watts: black turtleneck with painted on bowtie, no date
  • Fluxus stationary and masks (Macuinas baring teeth and anatomical diagram), no date
  • Ken Friedman: Antonio Canova print - 1967
  • Frank Pileggi : Untitled (photograph of Charlotte Moorman) - 1976
  • Series 8: 3-D WORKS IN BOX
  • Box 1:
  • Two Typewriters

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
Twentieth Century Avant-Garde Art
Alternative Traditions in the Contemporary Arts (ATCA)