Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Jonas Mekas Collection of Fluxus Films

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1960-1970
Creator: Mekas, Jonus (1922-)
Extent: .75 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0762
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Lithuanian-American avant garde film maker and critic. This collection is comprised of nearly one linear foot of Fluxus film loops.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: The Jonas Mekas Film Loops were donated to the University of Iowa by Jonas Mekas in 1992.

Preferred Citation: Jonas Mekas Fluxus Films Collection, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Jonas Mekas was born in Lithuania in 1922. In 1949, Mekas emigrated with his brother to the United States, where he became interested in avant-garde film. He later began screening his own avant-garde films and publishing criticism in several different venues, including Film Culture. Mekas also founded the Anthology Film Archives, one of the world's largest collections of avant-garde films.

This collection consists of nearly one linear foot of 35 Fluxus 35mm film loops dating approximately 1960 -- 1970. This is an Alternative Traditions in Contemporary Art collection.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: FILM LOOPS

  • Series 1: FILM LOOPS
  • Box 1:
  • 1. "numbers 1 to 9" / Maciunas
  • 2. Paul Sharits loop "Words"
  • 3. Paul Sharits loop
  • 4. Macuinas loop
  • 5. "Artype Dots" loop / Macuinas
  • 6. X-Ray loop / Watts
  • 7. Stan Vanderbeek loop
  • 8. Jolly loop: Penguins
  • 9. Jolly loop: Cowboys Fight
  • 10. Jolly loop: Chaplin
  • 11. Two loops by John Cavanaugh
  • 12. Vilnius loop / Macuinas
  • 13. Stan Vanderbeek loop
  • 14. Laufer loop
  • 15. Al Fine loop
  • 16. Paul Sharits Razor loop
  • 17. Vostell loop
  • 18. Yoko Ono loop
  • 19. Brecht loop "Black Leader"
  • 20.-35. "One of a Kind" own loops

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Mekas, Jonas, 1922-

Corporate Names:
Fluxus (Group of artists)

Dates:
20th century

Topics:
Art, Modern

Genre/Form of Materials:
Experimental films
Archives
Loops (Components)

Browse:
Twentieth Century Avant-Garde Art
Alternative Traditions in the Contemporary Arts (ATCA)