Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the R. Keith Courtney Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1971-1995
Creator: Courtney, R. K.
Extent: 4.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0761
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Iowa City resident and artist. From the late 1970s to the late 1980s Courtney conducted a project titled Notes From All Over, which invited artists to send him found objects and printed matter. The collection consists of art works, correspondence, and related documentation dating from 1971-1995.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: R. K. Courtney donated this collection to the University of Iowa in 1998 and 2000.

Preferred Citation: R. K. Courtney Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

R. Keith Courtney is an Iowa City resident and artist. From the late 1970s to the late 1980s he conducted a project titled Notes From All Over, which invited artists to send him found objects and printed matter.

The R. K. Courtney donation consists of art works, correspondence, and related documentation dating from 1971-1995. The majority of this material concerns his "Notes from All Over" project. The materials in boxes 1-3 were donated October 11, 1998; those in box 4 on June 7, 2000. This is an Alternative Traditions in Contemporary Art collection.
 
Prepared by D. Crites and J. Roethler, September 2004.

Browse by Series:
The detailed description has not been entered into the repository.
To view the content list, please follow this link.