Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Centro de Arte y Communicacion (CAYC) (Center for Art and Communication) Buenos Aires

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1970-1980
Creator: Centro de Art y Comunicaci
Extent: 1.75 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0759
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Committed to the production and dissemination of systems art, CAYC was established as a multidisciplinary workshop in August of 1968. A collection of large scale works (each about 22 x 34 inches) was assembled in 1972 by Jorge Glusberg, CAYC Director, as an edition of 10 that circulated as traveling exhibitions. Apparently including about 72 works in 1972, the collection grew over time and the Iowa collection now consists of 143 diazo prints and appears to be the only extant copy. The collection includes a linear foot of catalogues, documentation, books and pamphlets, dating from 1970 to1980 and a complete set of black and white photographs from which online images were derived.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs Boxes 2 and 3

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: CAYC related materials were donated to the University of Iowa by Ken Friedman.

Preferred Citation: Centro de Arte y Comunicacisn (CAYC) (Center for Art and Communication) Buenos Aires, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

CAYC related materials consist of one copy of each of the poster-size works included in the 1972 circulating and later exhibitions (these are located in map cases in the Special Collections) plus a linear foot of catalogues, documentation, books and pamphlets dating from 1970 to1980 and inventoried here. Boxes 2 and 3 contain black and white photographic prints which were scanned to produce the online images; many of the original works are difficult for a camera to "read" and the prints have were created to increase the brightness and contrast between the foreground ("art") and the background paper..

This is an Alternative Traditions in Contemporary Art collection.

Browse by Series:
The detailed description has not been entered into the repository.
To view the content list, please follow this link.