Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Alice Hutchins Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1961-2003
Creator: Hutchins, Alice (1916-2009)
Extent: 18.75 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0758
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Fluxus artist. Art works, audiotapes, videotapes, exhibition catalogues, photographs, articles, poster and show announcements, and various documents and correspondence.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in Boxes 6, 10, 11; Ephemera in Boxes 4-9; Film/Video in Box 1; Audio material in Box 1; CD in Box 1.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: The Alice Hutchins Collection was donated to the University of Iowa by the artist from 1992-2009.

Preferred Citation: Alice Hutchins Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Alice Hutchins was born in 1916, in Van Nuys, California. After studying history and economics at the University of California, Berkeley, she spent the late nineteen-thirties through the forties living in California, Virginia, Michigan, Washington, D.C. and Cairo, Egypt, with her husband and two children. Hutchins and her family settled in France in 1950, two years prior to the appearance in print of Harold Rosenberg's unabashedly anti-formalist celebration of the liberation of American art from the hegemony of School of Paris modernism. She returned to the United States and spent her last years, very active, in Southern California, and died there October 25, 2009.

Hutchins' interactive magnetic assemblages re-describe the spectator's role in the artistic process by inviting the receiver to alter her sculptural elements of ball bearings, screws, nuts, bolts, coils, cubes and cylinders at will. The artist's works and papers are housed under the auspices of Alternative Traditions in the Contemporary arts and provide important evidence about the inter-relationship among participants in the Paris avant-garde of the late 1960s and the New York Fluxus collective. A web site at which a number a number of Hutchins' art works can be viewed is maintained at www.alicehutchins.com (note that the site requires Macromedia Flash Player to view it).

In addition to a significant number of works by Hutchins, the Alice Hutchins Collection consists 13 linear feet plus 4 oversize boxes of audio tapes, videotapes, exhibition catalogues, photographs, articles, poster and show announcements, and various documents and correspondence concerning the artist and her work, dating from 1962-2003. Original works by Henri Chopin and Bernard Heidsieck are also included in this collection. This is an Alternative Traditions in Contemporary Art collection.

Browse by Series:
The detailed description has not been entered into the repository.
To view the content list, please follow this link.

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
Twentieth Century Avant-Garde Art
Alternative Traditions in the Contemporary Arts (ATCA)