Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Peter H. Huyck Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1974-1980
Creator: Huyck, Peter H.
Extent: 1.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0757
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Drafts of and correspondence related to an early book on the theory of computer programming, Huyck, Peter H. and Nell W. Kremenak. Design and Memory: Computer Programming in the Twentieth Century (New York: McGraw-Hill, 1980).

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were given to the University of Iowa Libraries by Peter H. Huyck in August 2002.

Preferred Citation: Peter H. Huyck Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Peter H. Huyck collaborated with Nell W. Kremanek on drafts of an early book -- Huyck believes it may have been the first book -- on the theory (rather than the practice) of computer programing. The first draft was written in the smoking lounge on the fourth floor of Main Library, The University of Iowa, in 1974. It was not immediately accepted for publication and endured considerable editing by several prospective publishers before being brought out by McGraw-Hill in 1980 with the title Design and Memory: Computer Programming in the Twentieth Century.
 
The collection includes three early drafts, marked proof sheets, and correspondence with publishers. The subject of the book was very much a moving target during the period of composition, a fact reflected in the revision and editorial process.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: DESIGN AND MEMORY

  • Series 1: DESIGN AND MEMORY
  • Sub-Series: Drafts
  • Box 1:
  • "First draft, written in the 4th floor smoking lounge at U. of I. Libraries from Jan/Feb 1973 to July/Aug 1974." Written in ballpoint ink on yellow second sheets; some other materials interspersed. January-August - 1973-1974
    2 folders
  • Second draft. Second sheets with holograph sections and typed fragments variously taped to them.
    3 folders
  • Box 2:
  • Second draft. Second sheets with holograph sections and typed fragments variously taped to them.
  • Third draft. Typescript.
    4 folders
  • Sub-Series: Versions and proofs
  • Box 3:
  • Huyck, Peter H. and Nell W. Kremenak. Design and Memory: Computer Programming in the Twentieth Century. Photocopy. Envelope note: "Best original version"
  • A later version with stamp of Hy Cohen Literary Agency, Ltd. (New York) and "comments in red by BR 5/79" - 1979
  • Page proofs with corrections marked
  • Duplicate set of page proofs copy marked "indexing copy"
  • Index drafts and page proofs
  • Sub-Series: Correspondence
  • Box 3:
  • Publishers' correspondence with PHH note: "correspondence with the first publisher, the second (who bought out the first while the book was in process but did not like it), and the third, who published it"

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.