Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Partial Manuscript of Katherine Buxbaum's Iowa Outpost

Collection Overview

Date Span:
Creator: Buxbaum, Katherine (1885-1975)
Extent: 1.00 folders.
Collection Number: MSC0755
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Iowa author and teacher. This collections contains twelve of the chapters from the book Iowa Outpost. Iowa Author

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition:

Preferred Citation: Partial Manuscript of Katherine Buxbaum's Iowa Outpost, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Katherine Buxbaum was born June 27, 1885, in Gracehill, Washington County, Iowa. She was educated at the Washington Academy and took a B.A. at the State University of Iowa (later the University of Iowa) in 1908. In 1924 she received an MA at the University of Chicago. She pursued further graduate studies at the University of North Carolina, but she did not take a degree. She spent thirty-nine years as a teacher, first in high schools in Lamoni, Colfax, Washington, Fort Dodge, and Waterloo in Iowa, and Mitchell in South Dakota. She served on the faculty of Rochester Junior College in Rochester, Minnesota. From 1924-1948 she served as Instructor, Assistant Professor and Associate Professor at Iowa State Teachers College (later University of Northern Iowa). She also worked part-time at the Cedar Falls Public Library.

This collection consists of several chapters from her book Iowa Outpost.

Browse by Series:
There is no information currently for this Collection Guide.

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.