Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Lewis H. Brown Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1940-1951
Creator: Brown, Lewis H. (1894-1951)
Extent: .25 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0754
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Papers of the industrialist who went to Germany after World War II to investigate the financial recovery there. Various forms of the book resulting from this investigation as well as speeches, press releases, and clippings.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition:

Preferred Citation: Papers of Lewis H. Brown, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Lewis H. Brown was born on February 13, 1894 in Creston, Iowa. He entered the University of Iowa in 1915 and worked his way through college working as a research assistant and librarian for the State Historical Society.

During World War I Brown served as an infantry captain in France. After his discharge he went to work for Montgomery Ward and in eight years was assistant general operating manager.

He resigned from Montgomery Ward at thirty-five to become the youngest man ever to be chairman of the board of Johns-Manville.

During World War II Brown was advisor to General Levin Campbell, chief of army ordnance, and received the Medal of Honor for his work. At the war's end, he went to Europe at the request of General Lucius Clay to report on the industrial situation in Germany. Brown's book, Report on Germany, tells of his on-the-spot experiences and opinions. Brown died February 26, 1951 in Delray, Florida.

This collection is comprised of clippings, annual reports and press releases from Johns-Manville, print-offs of several speeches given by Brown, and various versions of his book Report on Germany.

This collection is comprised of clippings, annual reports and press releases from Johns-Manville, print-offs of several speeches given by Brown, and various versions of his book Report on Germany.
Report on Germany MAIN Library HC286.5 .B76 1947

Browse by Series:
The detailed description has not been entered into the repository.
To view the content list, please follow this link.

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.