Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Frederick and Margaret McDowell Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1965-1994
Creator: McDowell, Fred
Extent: 74.00 items.
Collection Number: MSC0753
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Collection of letters from literary figures, including T. C. Boyle, Paul Engle, E.M. Forster, Gail Godwin, Caroline Gordon, and Angus Wilson.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition:

Preferred Citation: Fred McDowell Literary Correspondence Collection, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Fred McDowell served for many years on the English faculty at the University of Iowa beginning in 1949. He received his B.A. from the University of Pennsylvania and his Ph.D from Harvard. While at the Univertsity of Iowa, he maintained correspondence with some literary notables and published many book reviews and articles. From from 1964 until 1967 Mr. McDowell was the director of the Iowa Center for Modern Letters. His wife, Margaret, was an associate professor of Rhetoric and Women's Studies at the University of Iowa as well. The McDowell's had five children and Mr. McDowell was an avid gardener who cultivated a giant garden of daylillies each year at his Iowa City home, earning local and national fame for it. This collection is comprised of two series.

Series one contains seventy-four letters with figures in the literary world, such as Angus Wilson, E.M. Forster, T. Coraghesson (T.C.) Boyle, Caroline Gordon, and Gail Godwin. It is arranged alphabetically by author with the letters arranged chronologically. Series two consists of published articles authored by McDowell and reviews of McDowell's own book, Ellen Glasgow and the Ironic Art of Fiction (1960). This series is arranged alphabetically by journal with the articles arranged chronologically.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: BIOGRAPHICAL MATERIAL
Series 2: CORRESPONDENCE
Series 3: MISCELLANEOUS
Series 4: MANUSCRIPTS
Series 5: PUBLICATIONS
Series 6: MARGARET MCDOWELL

  • Series 1: BIOGRAPHICAL MATERIAL
  • Box 1:
  • Biographical material
  • Series 2: CORRESPONDENCE
  • Box 1:
  • Boyle, T. Coraghesson
  • From McDowell, March 10 - 1986
    ccTL
  • From Boyle, March 26 - 1986
    ALS
  • Engle, Paul
  • From Engle (form letter), January 3 - 1983
    pcTLS
  • From Engle (form letter), December 5 - 1983
    pcTLS
  • Photocopy from the New York Times, November 8 - 1984
  • From Engle, August 5 - 1985
    TLS
  • "Robert Frost." Poem by Paul Engle, printed in the University of Iowa's typography lab to honor the visit of Robert Frost to the University on April 13 - 1959
  • Forster, E.M. From Forster, April 21 - 1961
    ALS
  • Godwin, Gail
  • From McDowell, March 29 - 1990
    pcTL
  • From Godwin, April 3 - 1990
    TLS
  • Gordon, Caroline
  • Copy of a letter from Jacques Maritain to Caroline Gordon, March 25 - 1956
    ccTL
  • From McDowell, January - 1965
    ccTL
  • From Gordon, January 22 - 1965
    TLS
  • From McDowell, February 9 - 1966
    TLS
  • From Gordon, February 20 - 1966
    TLS
  • From McDowell, April 4 - 1966
    TL
  • From Gordon, April 7 - 1966
    TLS (initialed)
  • From Gordon, November 4 - 1966
    TLS
  • From McDowell, November 28 - 1966
    ccTL
  • From Laurie Sullivan (Charles Scribners and Sons, regarding reprinting McDowell's biocritical essay on Gordon) to McDowell, March 7 - 1972
    TLS
  • McDowell to Sullivan, March 17 - 1972
    ccTL
  • McDowell to Gordon, March 17 - 1972
    ccTL
  • Sullivan to McDowell, March 22 - 1972
    TLS
  • McDowell to Sullivan, June 2 - 1972
    ccTL. Includes ccTMS of changes to Gordon essay
  • McDowell, Frederick P. W. "Caroline Gordon." University of Minnesota Pamphlets on American Writers, No. 59. Minneapolis: University of Minnesota - 1966
  • Laurence, Dan H.
  • FM to DL, January 22 - 1978
  • DL to FM, July 25 - 1978
  • FM to DL, August 27 - 1978
  • DL to FM, December 21 - 1978
  • DL to FM, January 21 - 1979
  • DL to FM, February 10 - 1979
  • FM to DL, February 19 - 1979
  • DL to FM, February 17 - 1979
  • FM to DL, March 24 - 1980
  • FM to DL (?), March 24 - 1980
  • DL to FM June 27 - 1980
  • DL to FM, April 25 - 1981
  • FM to DL, May 14 - 1981
  • DL to FM, May 22 - 1981
  • DL to FM, June 11 - 1981
  • DL to FM, July 8 - 1981
  • DL to FM, March 14 - 1984
  • FM to DL, April 2 - 1984
  • Peters, Margot
  • MP to FM, March 22 - 1978
  • FM to MP, May 8 - 1978
  • FM to MP, April 11 - 1984
  • Raphael, Frederic
  • Raphael to McDowell, December 4 - 1969
    TL
  • Raphael to McDowell, November 23 - 1972
    TLS
  • McDowell to Raphael, January 26 - 1973
    ccTL
  • Raphael to McDowell, March 13 - 1975
    TLS
  • Sahni, Professor. FM to Sahni
  • Turco, Alfred
  • AT to FM, September 1 - 1977
  • FM to AT, October 28 - 1977
  • University of Illinois at Urbana
  • Weintraub, Stan
  • FM to SW, August 31 - 1978
  • SW to FM, May 23 - 1979
  • FM to SW, June 10 - 1979
  • SW to FM, February 19 - 1982
  • FM to SW, March 5 - 1982
  • Correspondence pertaining to Widower's Houses
  • Box 2:
  • Wilson, Angus, Tony Garrett, Joseph Kissane
  • To Wilson, February 12 - 1972
    ccTL
  • To Wilson, July 10 - 1972
    ccTL
  • Correspondence with Viking Press regarding McDowell's review of As If By Magic, October and December 10 - 1973
  • McDowell, Frederick. "An Exchange of Letters and Some Reflections on As If By Magic."
    pcTM
  • Wilson and Garrett from McDowell, December 10 - 1973
    ccTL
  • McDowell from Wilson, July 24 - 1973?
    ALS
  • [McDowell] from Garrett - 1973
    APCS
  • Wilson and Garrett from McDowell, June 25 - 1974
    ccTL
  • Wilson from McDowell, August 7 - 1974
    ccTL
  • Postcard to McDowell from Garrett and Wilson, November 23 - 1974
    APCS
  • Postcard to the McDowells from Garrett and Wilson - 1974?
    APCS
  • Postcard from Wilson to Mrs. McDowell - 1980
    APCS
  • Wilson to McDowell, September 13 - 1980
    Combined holograph and TL
  • Postcard from Wilson and Garrett to the McDowells, December 7 - 1981
    APCS. Signed by both Wilson and Garrett
  • To Wilson from Frank Paluka, September 22 - 1980
    ccTLS
  • Postcard from Wilson to McDowell - 1980
    APCS
  • McDowell to Wilson and Garrett, November 28 - 1982
    pcTL
  • Garrett to McDowell - 1982?
    Combined holograph and ALS
  • Kissane to McDowell, December 4 - 1982
    TLS
  • McDowell to Garrett, December 10 - 1982
    ccTL
  • Wilson to McDowell, February 2 - 1983?
    Combined holograph and TLS
  • Wilson to McDowell, February 23 - 1983?
    Combined holograph and TLS
  • Kissane to McDowell, February 27 - 1983
    TLS
  • Kissane to McDowell, March 14 - 1983
    TLS
  • McDowell to Garrett, March 14 - 1983
    ccTL
  • Note from Garrett to Fred and Margaret, undated
    AN
  • Garrett to McDowell, March 20 - 1983
    Combined holograph and TLS
  • McDowell to Garrett, March 29 - 1983
    ccTL
  • McDowell to Kissane, March 31 - 1983
    ccTL
  • McDowell to Kissane, early - 1983
    ccTM
  • Kissane to McDowell, April 6 - 1983
    TLS
  • McDowell to Kissane, April 26 - 1983
    ccTL
  • McDowell to Wilson and Garrett, July 8 - 1983
    ccTL
  • Garrett to the McDowells, August 9 - 1983
    Combined holograph and TL. Signed by both Garrett and Wilson
  • [To the McDowells?] from Garrett - 1986
    ANS
  • Garrett to the McDowells - 1987?
    APCS
  • Garrett to the McDowells, October 2 - 1988
    ALS
  • Garrett to the McDowells, January 2 - 1991
    Combined holograph and TLS
  • Garrett to the McDowells June 28 - 1991
    ALS
  • Garrett to the McDowells - 1992
    ALS
  • No last names: Charles, Lou, Sidney
  • Series 3: MISCELLANEOUS
  • Box 2:
  • Miscellaneous
  • Series 4: MANUSCRIPTS
  • Box 2:
  • Manuscripts
  • Series 5: PUBLICATIONS
  • Box 2:
  • "After the New Criticism." Western Review 22.4 - 1958
    pages 309-318
  • "All's Well with Forster." English Literature in Transition 21.3 - 1978
    page 203- (pages missing)
  • "And the Greatest of These is Charity." Western Review 20.2 - 1956
    pages 167-171
  • "The Angus Wilson Manuscripts in the University of Iowa Libraries"
  • "An Interview with Angus Wilson." The Iowa Review 3:4 Fall - 1973
    pages 77-105
  • "Another Look at Bernard Shaw." Drama Survey 1 - 1961
    pages 34-53
  • "Apocalypse and After: Recent Interpretations of Heartbreak House." Independent Shavian 25:1-2 - 1987
    pages 3-15
  • "Autobiography of an Artist's Mind." Western Review 17.4 - 1953
    pages 334-337
  • "Bernard Shaw - Aspects and Problems of Research." The Shaw Review 3.2 - 1960
    pages 18-26
  • "Bernard Shaw the Artist." Journal of Modern Literature 4 - 1974
    pages 145-154
  • "Bernard Shaw: Biographical and Textual Scholarship." Journal of Modern Letters 3:1 February - 1973
    pages 120-129
  • "Bernard Shaw: Socialist and Dramatist." n.p.
  • "Bernard Shaw: Writer of 'The Grand School'." Journal of Modern Literature 3 - 1974
    pages 1039-1044
  • "Bibliography, News, and Notes." English Literature in Transition 10.4 - 1967
    pages 204-240
  • "Bibliography, News, and Notes: E.M. Forster." English Literature in Transition 10.1 - 1967
    pages 47-64
  • "Bibliography, News, and Notes: E.M. Forster." English Literature in Transition 11.4 - 1968
    pages 206-216
  • "Book Reviews." Conradiana 1 - 1968
    pages 87-90
  • "Book Reviews." Modern Drama ? - 1968
    pages 341-345
  • "Book Reviews: 'The Golden Labyrinth: A Study of British Drama'." Modern Drama 7 - 1964
    pages 321-333
  • "By and About Forster: A Review Essay." English Literature in Transition 15.4 - 1972
    pages 319-331 (two copies)
  • "Caroline Gordon." University of Minnesota Pamphlets of American Writers 59
  • "Conrad's Romanticism." Book review. Conradiana 8.1 - 1976
    pages 83-86
  • "Crisis and Unreason: Shaw's On the Rocks." The Educational Theatre Journal, XIII:3 October - 1961
    pages 192-200
  • "Devious Involutions of Human Character and Emotions: Reflections on Some Recent British Novels." Wisconsin Studies in Contemporary Literature 4.3 - 1963
    pages 339-366
  • "E.M. Forster Bibliography of Secondary Writings: Some Preliminary Observations." English Literature in Transition 13.2 - 1970
    pages 89-92
  • "E.M. Forster: An Annotated Secondary Bibliography." English Literature in Transition 13.2 - 1970
    pages 93-173
  • "E.M. Forster (1879 - 1970): In Memoriam." English Literature in Transition 13.2 - 1970
    page 180
  • "E.M. Forster and Goldsworthy Lowes Dickinson." Studies in the Novel 5:4 Winter - 1973
    pages 441-456
  • "E.M. Forster: Recent Extended Studies." English Literature in Transition 9:3 - 1966
    pages 156-168
  • "E.M. Forster: Romancer or Realist" English Literature in Transition 11:2 - 1968
    pages 103-122
  • "E.M. Forster's Conception of the Critic." Tennessee Studies in Literature X - 1965
    pages 93-100
  • "E.M. Forster's Theory of Literature." Criticism, A Quarterly for Literature and the Arts VIII:1 Winter - 1966
    pages 19-43
  • [E.M. Forster] Book reviews. Modern Fiction Studies 23.4 Winter - 1977-1978
    pages 620-628
  • "Eight Modern Writers." Book review. English Language Notes II:3 March - 1965
    pages 237-242
  • Box 3:
  • "Elizabeth Bowen's 'The Little Girls'." Critique: Studies in Modern Fiction 7.1 - 1964
    pages 139-143
  • "Ellen Glasgow: A Bibliography." English Language Notes II:4 June - 1965
    pages 313-315
  • "Ellen Glasgow and the Art of the Novel." Philological Quarterly 30.3 - 1951
    pages 328-347
  • "Ellen Glasgow's American Dream." The South Atlantic Quarterly 65.3: 412-413
  • "English Literature: A Current Bibliography." Philological Quarterly 41.3 - 1962
    pages 547-548
  • "'Eternal Against the Expedient': Structure and Theme in Shaw's 'The Apple Cart'." Modern Drama 2 - 1959
    pages 99-113
  • "Everybody's Political What's What: A Twelfth Anniversary." The Shavian 7 July - 1956
    pages 39-42
  • "Fiction of Doris Lessing? An Interim View." Arizona Quarterly 21:4 Winter - 1965
    pages 315-345
  • "Forester's Many-Faceted Universe: Idea and Paradox in 'The Longest Journey'." Critique: Studies in Modern Fiction 4.1 - 1960-1961
    pages 41-63
  • "Forster's Most Recent Critics." English Literature in Transition 8:1 - 1965
    pages 49-60
  • "Forster's 'Natural Supernaturalism': The Tales." Modern Fiction Studies 7. 3 - 1961
    pages 271-283
  • "Forster's Posthumously Published Tales and Some Reflections on his Fiction." Virginia Woolf Quarterly 2.3-4 - 1976
    pages 270-280
  • [George Bernard Shaw] Book reviews. The Independent Shavian III.1 Fall - 1964
    pages 4-5
  • [George Bernard Shaw] Book reviews. The Independent Shavian VIII:3 Spring - 1970
    pages 44-48
  • [George Bernard Shaw] Book reviews. Modern Drama 11 - 1968
    pages 341-345
  • "George Bernard Shaw." Book reviews. Journal of Modern Literature III:? - 1974
    pages 772-776
  • "George Bernard Shaw." Book reviews. Journal of Modern Literature III:3 February - 1974
    pages 449-450 (Incomplete)
  • "George Bernard Shaw." Book reviews. Journal of Modern Literature III:3 - 1974
    pages 772-775 (Incomplete)
  • "George Bernard Shaw." Book reviews. Journal of Modern Literature IV:2 November - 1974
    pages 442-455
  • "George Bernard Shaw." Book reviews. Journal of Modern Literature 4:5 - 1974
    pages 1111-1115
  • "George Bernard Shaw." Book reviews. Journal of Modern Literature V.4 - 1976
    pages 799-802
  • "George Bernard Shaw." Book reviews. Journal of Modern Literature VI.4 - 1978
    pages 712-715
  • "George Spater and Ian Parsons. A Marriage of True Minds: An Intimate Portrait of Leonard and Virginia Woolf." Book review. Biography 1.3: 89-93
  • "Guildenstern among the Biographers." The Shaw Bulletin 2.3 - 1957
    pages 16-20
  • "Hardy's 'Seemings or Personal Impressions': The Symbolical Use of Image and Contrast in 'Jude the Obscure'." Modern Fiction Studies VI Autumn - 1960
    pages 233-250
  • "Heaven, Hell, and the turn-of-the-century London: Reflections upon Shaw's 'Man and Superman'." Drama Survey 2.3 - 1963
  • "In Defense of Arabella: A Note on 'Jude the Obscure'." English Language Notes 1.4 - 1964
    pages 274-280
  • "Jefferson Davis: American Patriot, 1808-1861." Book review. Civil War History II:III September - 1956
    pages 156-157
  • "Joseph Conrad: Current Criticism and the 'Achievement and Decline' Question." Journal of Modern Literature 1.2 - 1970
    pages 261-272
  • "Joseph Conrad: The Way of Dispossession." Book review. Conradiana 10.2 - 1978
    pages 179-182
  • "Major Barbara: A Facsimile of the Holograph Manuscript." Book review. n.p., n.d.;
  • "'Mild Intellectual Light' Idea and Theme in Howards End." PMLA LXXIV:4, Part 1 September - 1959
    pages 453-463
  • "More G.B.S." Drama Survey 1 - 1962
    pages 354-363
  • "Most Recent Books on Joseph Conrad." Papers on Language and Literature IV Spring - 1968
    pages 201-223
  • "'Old Pagan Scorn of Everlasting Mercy': Ellen Glasgow's 'The Deliverance'." Twentieth Century Literature 4:4 January - 1959
    pages 135-142
  • "'Pentecostal Flame' and the 'Lower Centers': 'Too True to Be Good'." The Shaw Review 2.9 - 1959
    pages 27-38
  • "Poetry of W.H. Auden: The Disenchanted Island." Philological Quarterly 44.3 - 1965
    pages 417-423
  • "Politics, Comedy, Character, and Dialectic: The Shavian World of 'John Bull's Other Island'." PMLA 82.7 - 1967
    pages 542-553
  • "Protean Wit and Wisdom: Shaw's Uncollected Essays and Speeches." Modern Drama 5 - 1962
    pages 187-193
  • "Psychology and Theme in 'Brother to Dragons'." PMLA 70.4.1 - 1955
    pages 565-586
  • "The Rationalization of Russia." Book Review. The Independent Shavian 3.1 - 1964
    pages 4-5
  • "Recent Books on Modern Fiction: British." Modern Fiction Studies 14.4 - 1968-1969
    pages 469-478
  • "Recent British Fiction: New or Lesser-Known Writers." Contemporary Literature 11.4 - 1970
    pages 540-578
  • "Recent British Fiction: Some Established Writers." Contemporary Literature 11.3 - 1970
    pages 401-431
  • "Recent Novel in English." Contemporary Literature 9.4 - 1968
    pages 558-566
  • "'The Region of Ever-day Hurt': Gerda Charles' 'A Slanting Light'." Book review. Critique: Studies in Modern Fiction VII:2 Winter - 1965-1966
    pages 172-175
  • "Religion, Socialism, and Heresy." Book review. Shaw Review 12:1 January - 1969
    pages 22-25
  • "Religious Trends in English Poetry, Volume V: 1880-1920, Gods of a Changing Poetry." Book review. Philological Quarterly 43.4 - 1964
    pages 567-573
  • "Review Article: A Bernard Shaw Bibliography." Philological Quarterly 6 Fall - 1987
    pages 509-520
  • "Review Article: Recent Books on Joseph Conrad as Artist and Philosopher." Philological Quarterly 51.4 - 1972
    pages 922-939
  • "Robert Penn Warren's Criticism." Accent: A Quarterly of New Literature Summer - 1955
    pages 173-196
  • "Romantic Tragedy of Self in 'World Enough and Time'." Critique: Studies in Modern Fiction 1.2 - 1957
    pages 34-48
  • "Second Thoughts on E.M. Forster's 'Maurice'." Virginia Woolf Quarterly 1.1 - 1972
    pages 46-59 (two copies)
  • "Self and Society: Alan Sillitoe's 'Key to the Door'." Critique: Studies in Modern Fiction 5.1 - 1963
    pages 116-123
  • "Shaw: The Style and the Man." Philological Quarterly 43.1 - 1964
    pages 141-144
  • "Shaw and the Modern Drama of Ideas." Book Review. The Shaw Review VIII:1 January - 1965
    pages 34-37
  • "Shaw and the Novel, Victorian and Modern." Book review. The Shaw Bulletin 2.6 - 1958
    pages 21-23
  • "Shaw's Eminent Contemporaries." The Independent Shavian 4.2 - 1965-1966
    pages 20-24
  • "Shaw's 'Higher Comedy' Par Excellence: You Never Can Tell." n.p., n.d.
  • "Shaw's Increasing Stature." Drama Survey 3.3 - 1964
    pages 423-440
  • "Shaw's Intrepidity as Letter Writer: The Correspondence With Frank Harris." Book review. n.p., n.d.
    pages 202-209
  • "Shaw's 'Real, Creative, Material World': The Correspondence." Drama Survey 5.1 - 1966
    pages 78-86
  • "Spiritual and Political Reality: Shaw's 'The Simpleton of the Unexpected Isles'." Modern Drama 3 - 1960
    pages 196-210
  • "Some Reflections on Back to Methuselah in Performance." Shaw 8 - 1988
    pages 161-163
  • "Stuart P. Sherman: The Evolution of His Critical Philosophy and Method." Studies in Philology L:3 July - 1953
    pages 540-557
  • "Subtle, Various, Ornamental, Clever: Auden in His Recent Poetry." Wisconsin Studies in Contemporary Literature 3.3 - 1962
    pages 29-44
  • "Symbolic Use of Image and Contrast in 'Jude the Obscure'." Modern Fiction Studies 6 - 1960
    pages 233-250
  • "Technique, Symbol, and Theme in 'Heartbreak House'." PMLA 68.3 - 1953
    pages 335-356
  • "Theme and Artistry in Ellen Glasgow's The Sheltered Life." The University of Texas Studies in Literature and Language 1:4 Winter - 1960
    pages 502-516
  • "Time of Plenty: Recent British Fiction." Contemporary Literature 13.3 - 1972
    pages 361-394
  • "Two New Books on the Master." Book review. Shaw Review 12:3 September - 1969
  • "Varied Universe of Frederic Raphael's Fiction." Critique: Studies in Modern Fiction 8.1 - 1965
    pages 21-50
  • "Victorian Frame of Mind 1830-1870." Philological Quarterly 39.2 - 1960
    pages 254-258
  • "Victorian Shaw." The Victorian Newsletter II Spring - 1957
    pages 16-19
  • "World, God, and World Bettering: Shaw's Buoyant Billions." Boston University Studies in English 3 Autumn - 1957
    pages 167-176
  • "World Within World: Gerda Charles, Frederick Raphael, and the Anglo-Jewish Community." Critique: Studies in Modern Fiction 6.3 - 1963-1964
    pages 143-150
  • Series 6: MARGARET MCDOWELL
  • Box 3:
  • "Black Woman as Artist and Critic: Four Versions." The Kentucky Review VII.1 Spring - 1987
    pages 19-41
  • "Moral Purpose in Restoration Comedy." Several drafts of her Ph.D. dissertation