Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the David Edstrom Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1917-1931
Creator: Edstrom, David (1873-1938)
Extent: .25 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0752
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: A small collection of papers of the Swedish-American sculptor, including 8 x 10 photographs of some of his busts.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs throughout collection.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition:

Preferred Citation: David Edstrom Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Peter David Edstrom was born on March 27, 1873 in Hvetlanda, Sweden. He came to the United States with his parents in 1880. He studied sculpture with Johannes Scheiwe in Ottumwa, Iowa. He returned to Sweden to study at the Royal Academy. He settled in Los Angeles thereafter and worked mostly on portrait commissions. He died on August 12, 1938.

This small collection consists of a few catalogues of Edstrom's exhibits, clippings, and some correspondence. Most notable are 8x10 photos of some of his sculptures.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Artistic reproductions of artwork
  • Catalogs of exhibitions
  • Patterson Gallery, Old Bond Street, London, April 25-May 24 (no year)
    Includes a photograph of his sculpture "The Sphinx"
  • Clippings
  • Correspondence
  • Photographs of Edstrom's sculpture
  • Publications
  • "Man Triumphant"
    A "revision and concentration of two lectures delivered at the National University of Sweden at Upsale"
  • Unveiling ceremonies of the M. H. Whittier Memorial Statue, March 11 - 1929
    Exposition Park, Los Angeles, CA. Program. Includes a photograph of the statue

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Edstrom, Peter David, 1873-1938

Topics:
Swedish Americans

Occupations:
Sculptors

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa -- Ottumwa