Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Ellis Robb Collection of Iowa Autographs

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1893-1936
Creator: Robb, Ellis
Extent: 91.00 items.
Collection Number: MSC0749
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Signatures of noted Iowans, mostly U.S. Senators and Representatives, and several Iowa governors.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: This collection was purchasedby the University of Iowa in 2002.

Preferred Citation: Ellis Robb Collection of Iowa Autographs, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Browse by Series:
Series 1: SIGNATURES

  • Series 1: SIGNATURES
  • Box 1:
  • A-H
  • Adams, John T. (Chairman, Republican National Committee). TLS. June 13; June 27; July 5; July 11 - 1921
  • Albert, [Klauss?]. ALS. March 19 - 1905?
  • Aldrich, Charles (Curator, Autographs, Manuscripts, Portraits, State Historical Department of Iowa). ALS. April 3; TLS June 22 - 1893, 1905
  • Allen, William V. (U. S. Senator). TLS. June 1 - 1898
  • Allison, William Boyd (U. S. Senator and Representative). TLS. November 26; April 18; March 23; June 5 - 1896, 1893, 1908, 1908
  • Bleakly, John L. ALS. December 21; December 28 - 1908
  • Boies, Horace (Governor). January 9; June 18 - 1909, 1900
    ALS. Includes clipping
  • Butcher, [Fanny?] (Literary Editor, Chicago Tribune). TLS. November 17 - 1930
  • Byers, S.H. M. (Poet and lyricist). November 12 - 1900
    ALS. Includes bio/critical sketch
  • Cummins, Albert B. (Governor).TLS. November 5; November 10; June 24; October 23; November 29 - 1903, 1906, 1911, 1920
  • Cummins, Amos (U.S. Representative). TLS. June 5 - 1894
  • Darling, Jay Norwood ("Ding") (Cartoonist). TLS. November 8 - 1932
  • Davis, C. K. (U. S. Senator?) TLS. January 9 - 1899
  • D., F. ALS. October 21
  • Haas, Martha (Secretary, Eldora Public Library). ALS. July 9 - 1928
  • Hammill, John (Lieutenant Governor, Governor). TLS. October 27; November 6; February 13; November 7; November 9 - 1924, 1926, 1928
  • Harlan, Edgar R. (Curator, Historical, Memorial, and Art Department of Iowa). TLS. January 15 - 1932
  • Henderson, D.B. (U. S. Representative). TLS. April 11; September 2 - 1902
  • Hepburn, William P. (U. S. Representative). TLS. June 2 - 1898
  • Herron, George (Department of Applied Christianity, Iowa College) TLS. September 2 - 1899
  • Hill, James J. Signature only. February 22 - 1912
  • Hitt, R. R. (U. S. Senator). ALS. June 6 - 1898
  • K-L
  • Kendall, N. E. (Governor) TLS. November 2; April 27; April 30; June 10 - 1920, 1921
  • Kenyon, William S. (Department of Justice, Office of the Assistant to the Attorney General, Washington; U. S. Senate). TLS and TL. April 20; June 22; August 10; August 23; February 3; August 26 - 1911, 1921, 1923
  • Kern, Jonathan W. (U.S. Senator). April 7 - 1921
  • Lacey, John F. (U. S. Representative). July 7 - 1898
  • Larrabee, William (Governor). June 17; September 29; November 25 - 1904, 1905
    2 cards with signature only, one clipping
  • [Leseur?, Robert Adolf?]. February - 1907
  • Lowden, Frank (Governor of Illinois). TLS. September 30; February 28; August 22; January 15; August 1 - 1916, 1919, 1921
    Includes clippings and a biographical booklet
  • N-Z and illegible
  • Norris, Charles A. (Iowa Association of Postmasters). ALS. January 17; July 18 - 1935, 1936
  • Page, Carroll S. (U. S. Senate). TLS. January 29 - 1910
  • Pickett, C.E. (U.S. Congressman). TLS. November 6 - 1908
    Includes picture from newspaper
  • Reynolds, Arthur (Vice-President, Continental and Commercial National Bank of Chicago). TLS. December 20 - 1920
  • Robb, Ellis. TLS
  • Shaw, Leslie (Executive office, Des Moines). TLS. December 28 - 1901
  • Steiner, Edward A. (Department of Applied Christianity, Iowa College). ALS. September 24; December 2 - 1903, 1913
  • Sweet, Burton E. (U. S. Representative). TLS. April 16 - 1921
  • Teller, H.M. (U. S. Senator). TLS. February 21 - 1899
  • Train, George Francis (Railroad builder). December 22; April 22 - 1893, 1896
    1 signature, one hand-written note on Robb's letter (Both are signed with crayon)
  • Van Wyck, C. H. Signed card only
  • Wallace, Joseph. Signature on certificate (signed by Leslie M. Shaw) appointing Wallace delegate to a convention in St. Louis for the purpose of considering the matter of celebrating the Centennial of the Louisiana purchase; signed by Wallace appointing Ellis D. Robb to act as his proxy to this convention. Accompanied by a transcript of an article from the Wall Street Journal of February 2 - 1922
  • Young, Lafayette (State Senator). TLS. March 23; July 27 - 1917, 1921
  • Illegible signatures. 4 letters