Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Warren B. Smith Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1960-1999
Creator: Smith, Warren B. (-2003)
Extent: 4.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0747
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Smith, a professional writer based in Clinton, Iowa, began writing in the 1960s and published a number of works of non-fiction as well as western historical novels. He also reviewed automobiles for Clinton and other newspapers. His papers include correspondence, drafts, journals, clippings, etc. Also present is a pre-publication mimeograph copy of James Jones' Some Came Running (1957).

Alternate Extent Statement: Floppy disks: Box 3

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These materials were donated to the University of Iowa Libraries by Warren Smith's eldest daughter, Sue Coon, in 2003.

Preferred Citation: Warren B. Smith Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Warren William (Billy) Smith was a writer who lived in Iowa from 1953, residing first in Davenport, then Durant, and from 1960 in Clinton, Iowa, until his death on May 9, 2003. He published many newspaper reviews of automobiles, newspaper and magazine articles on boating and other subjects, and from 1965 until near his death, a substantial number of non-fiction and genre fiction titles in paperback editions.

The Warren Smith Papers consist of (1) correspondence files documenting Smith's work as a writer (including correspondence with agents, publishers, and colleagues). Many of Smith's books appeared under his own name, some under pseudonyms, and he was contracted to write some by other authors (and in turn sub-contracted part or all of some of the work published under his name); (2) Smith's journals, from about 1984 until near his death in 2003, which contain biographical information, lists of projects and ideas, and document his recurrent problems with alcohol and depression; (3) holograph, typescript, and computer printout notes on ideas, possible projects, drafts of stories and novels, etc.; (4) four boxes of 3.5" computer disks containing drafts of Smith's writing; (5) copies of about 35 of Smith's books; and (6) a mimeograph copy of an early draft of James Jones' Some Came Running (1957).

Browse by Series:
The detailed description has not been entered into the repository.
To view the content list, please follow this link.

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.