Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Del Stelck collection of Guy M. Gillette Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1936-1959
Creator: Stelk, William
Extent: 18.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0745
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Research for a biography that was never published, this collection consists of papers from Gillette as well as Stelck's research materials.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs: Box 12; Audio Material: Reel and audiocassettes, Box 12

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were given to the University of Iowa Libraries by Professor Del Stelck.

Preferred Citation: Del Stelck Collection of Guy M. Gillette Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Guy Mark Gillette was born in Cherokee, Iowa, February 3, 1879. After attending public schools, Gillette served as a sergeant in the Fifty-second Iowa Regiment of the US Army during the Spanish-American War, from May 25 until October 30, 1898. He returned to school and graduated from Drake University in Des Moines in 1900. After being admitted to the bar, he established practice in Cherokee. Gillette was City Attorney of Cherokee in 1906 and 1907, prosecuting attorney of Cherokee County from 1907 until 1909, and a member of the Iowa State Senate from 1912 until 1916. He married Rose Freeman in June of 1907.

During the First World War, Gillette served as a captain in the Army's Forty-ninth Regulars, from November of 1917 until March of 1919. After the war, Gillette returned to Cherokee, left law and became involved in dairy farming. In 1932, Gillette was elected to Congress, and re-elected in 1934. In 1936, he was elected to the U. S. Senate and served there until 1944. In 1945, Gillette served as the chairman of the Surplus Property Board and then became president of the American League for a Free Palestine, where he served until 1948. In 1949, Gillette was again elected to the United States Senate, and served until 1955. Gillette then worked as counsel with the Senate Post Office and Civil Service committee until 1956, and with the Judiciary Committee until 1961. Guy M. Gillette died on March 3, 1973.

Just after World War II, William Del Stelck began his teaching career in Southern California. In 1956, he and 31 other instructors became the founding faculty members of San Fernando Valley State College, where he served as the first dean of social sciences and helped to organize many of the school's academic departments. He was recognized with the school's Outstanding Teacher Award and its Creativity Award. The school later became known as California State University at Northridge. Stelck retired from the History faculty in 1987, and was presented with the Emeriti Merit Award in 2002. He died in 2004.

The Del Stelck Collection of the papers of Guy M. Gillette consist of papers from Gillette's files, as well as research materials from Professor Stelck's files on Gillette. Professor Stelck was working on a biography of Gillette that was never published.
Guy M. Gillette's correspondence is scattered in numerous manuscript collections, including:

Papers of Raymond W. Baxter (MsC348)

Papers of Edward J. Breen (MsC334)

Papers of Frederick Elliott Biermann (MsC128)

Papers of Albert A. Couch (MsC65)

Papers of Orville F. Grahame (MsC318)

Papers of Henry N. Graven (MsC222)

Papers of Edward E. Kennedy (MsC442)

Papers of Nelson G. Kraschel (MsC174)

Papers of Donald J. Mitchell (MsC330)

Papers of Jake More (MsC187)

Papers of John C. Pryor (MsC377)

Papers of William F. Riley (MsC192)

Papers of B. H. Shearer (MsC242)

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Biographical and Personal
  • Chronological Files
  • 1936
  • 1937
  • 1939
  • 1940
  • 1941
  • 1942
  • 1943
  • 1944
  • 1945
  • 1950
  • 1951
  • 1952
  • 1953
  • Late 1950's
  • Correspondence
  • Miscellaneous - 4 folders
  • Atlantic Parliamentarians - 1951
    2 folders
  • Atlantic Union
  • Campaign Correspondence - 1952
  • Farr, Cy
  • Farr, Cy, Stuart McClure and Gillette - 1949-1950, 1951-1952
  • Miscellaneous re: Gillette Study
  • S2269 
    2 folders
  • 1978
  • Box 2:
  • Miscellaneous Clippings - 9 folders
  • Clippings - 1954
    1 folder
  • Miscellaneous Publications
    3 folders
  • Box 3:
  • Manuscripts
  • "Agricultural Background"
  • "Antecedents and Early Years"
    2 folders
  • "Guy Gillette, Company M, and the Spanish American War"
    2 folders
  • "Guy Gillette: County Attorney"
  • Miscellaneous Untitled and Fragments
  • Political Speeches and Addresses
  • "World War One"
  • Box 4:
  • Student Papers
    12 folders
  • Subject Files
  • Afghanistan
  • Africa
  • Agriculture -- Loans for Conservation, Reforestation, and Water-Control Works
  • Agriculture Problems -- 20 Questions
  • Agriculture Subcommittee
  • Ames -- National Student Association - 1954 August 25
  • America and the World - 1953 December
  • American Business, Foreign Interests - 1950
  • American Christian Palestine Comm Speech - 1954 February 16
  • American Council on NATO
  • American Jewish Congress, New York City - 1950 April 18
  • American League for Free Palestine
  • America's Security Frontiers - 1951 February 17
  • Announcement of Candidacy - 1954 January 21
  • Anti-Enslavement Res.
  • Anti-Recession
  • Arab-Moslem Federation
  • Argentina
  • Arms Aid
  • Article for Annals
  • Asian Federation
  • Box 5:
  • Subject Files, cont.
  • Atlantic Assembly Speech, Ottawa - 1952 April 30
  • Atlantic Commission
    3 folders
  • Atlantic Force
  • Atlantic Pact
    3 folders
  • Atlantic Procurement and Production
  • Atlantic Union
  • Atlantic Union-Charlotte Speech
  • Atlantic Union-Publications
  • Atlantic Union-Publicity
  • Atlantic Union-Speech - 1950 June 1, 1951 March 13, 1951 May 18
  • Atlantic Union-Various Years
  • Atlantis
  • Atomic Energy Bill -- Johnson Amendment - 1954 August 4
  • Atomic Energy Bill -- Preference Clause REA Coops & Publicity -- Owned
  • Utilities - 1954 July 17
  • Atomic Power - 1954 August 4
  • Austria
  • "Basic Problem" / Situation
  • Belgian Colonies
  • Bibliography
  • Bolivia
  • Boston -- Park Street Church - 1954 April 22
  • Brazil
  • Bricker Amendment 
    2 folders
  • Britain - 1950
  • Britain and European Union
  • British Colonies
  • Burma
  • Campaign materials - 1954
  • Campaign Speeches Iowa - 1952 October
  • Canada
  • Canada - US Meeting
  • Canadian Club Speech - 1954 March 21
  • Capitalism
  • Box 6:
  • Subject Files, cont.
  • Capricorn Africa Union
  • Carver, George Washington, Speech - 1950 January 8
  • Cherokee Times
  • China - 1949-1950
  • China Lobby - 1951-1952
  • Chile
  • Churchill's Visit
  • Code of Investigating Procedure - 1954 May 27
  • Coffee
    2 folders
  • Coffee Prices
    2 folders, speeches)
  • Coffee Regulation on Trading in Coffee - 1954 August 14
  • Coffee Senate Speeches
    2 folders
  • Cold War (class notes, Stelck)
  • College Deferments
  • Columbia - 1950
  • Committee on Consumers Interest (2 folders)
  • Commodity Exchange Regulation - 1954
  • Communism
  • Communist China and the United Nations - 1954 July 8
  • Conference at Strasbourg
  • Congressional Report
  • Consultative Subcommittee on NATO Affairs
  • Consumer Interests
  • Consumers / Commodity Exchange
  • Contemporary World Economic Problems (class notes, A. Balbach)
  • Crisis of Christianity in the 20th Century (class notes, Camp and Keller)
  • Cyprus
  • Democratic Rally, Chicago - 1953 September
  • Dictionaries, Intellectual Mobilization
  • Disarmament - 1953 July 29
  • Domestic Issues
  • Box 7:
  • Subject Files, cont.
  • Elections
  • Elections -- League of Women Voters - 1952 January 29
  • Employment -- Program to Restore Full Employment in Expanding Economy
  • Ethiopia
  • European Defense Community (EDC)
  • European Union (2 folders)
  • Fair Campaign Practices pamphlet - 1966
  • Farm Ownership
  • Farm Statement, Chicago - 1953 September 14
  • Farm Surpluses, Article
  • Farm to Consumer Price Spreads - 1953 November 3
  • Farmer, Consumer and Food Prices - 1950 July 29
  • Farmer's Fair Share - 1951 February
  • Food Plan
  • Foreign Aid Mutual Security Ac - 1954
  • Foreign Policy Debate
  • Foreign Policy Program - 1953 June 9
  • Foreword to Print on Judicial Decisions in Security Cases
  • Formosa
  • France
  • Freedom and Independence for Colonial Peoples, Senate Resolution - 1953
  • French Colonies
  • Geography of America's Foreign Policy - 1951 February 8
  • German Debt Settlement
  • Germany
    4 folders
  • Germany and Allies
  • Gillette Program
  • Grain Storage
  • Greece
  • Box 8:
  • Subject Files, cont.
  • Houston Texas Speech, U.J. A - 1954 February 14
  • Haan, Kilsoo (Korea)
  • Ideas
  • Ideaology
  • India
    2 folders
  • India, Wheat
  • India Wheat Bill Speech - 1951 May 14
  • Individualism
  • Indo-China-Gillete urges complete independence - 1954 April 5
  • Indo-China-Another Korea - 1954 May 6
  • Indo-China-Speech, Senate Floor - 1954 April 4
  • Indonesia
  • Investigating Procedure-Resolution - 1954 March 25
  • Investigating Procedure-Testimony - 1954 June 29
  • Iowa Campaign Speeches - 1950
  • Iowa Matters
  • Iran (2 folders)
  • Ireland
  • Israel, Economic Aid - 1951
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • Jewish Collection, New York Public Library
  • Jewish National Fund Dinner - 1953 December 2
  • Korea
  • Korea -- 38th Parallel
  • Korea -- Post War Program
  • Korean War
  • Labor Day - 1953 September 7
  • Land Policy
  • Land Reform (file 1 of 2)
  • Box 9:
  • Subject Files, cont.
  • Land Reform (file 2 of 2)
  • Latin America
  • Latin Blod
  • Liberation (2 folders)
  • Liberal Caucus
  • Liberia
  • Libya
  • MacArthur, Douglas (3 folders)
  • McCarthy, Joseph (2 folders)
  • Masons, Philadelphia - 1950 May 18
  • Middle East
  • Middle East Pact
  • Middle East Trip
  • Migration
  • Military Assistance Program
  • Military Policy
  • Minority Leader, 83rd Congress
  • Miscellaneous - 1953
  • Moral Rearmament
  • Morocco (French Protectorate)
  • Mutual Security Bill - 1953 June 12, 1953 June 30
  • NATO-NATO, Harriman and TCC
  • NATO-Lisbon Conference - 1952 February
  • NATO-Organization
  • NATO-Ottawa Conference
  • NATO-Rome Conference - 1951 November
  • NATO-Speech - 1953 May 13
  • NATO-Test of American Leadership - 1953 May 12
  • Box 10:
  • Subject Files, cont.
  • Natural Gas Act (3 folders)
  • Nepal
  • New York Democrat Speech, Young Democrat Rally - 41806
  • North Atlantic Area (State Department)
  • North Atlantic Assembly - 1953
  • Nuremberg Trials
  • Ohio Farm Bureau - 1950 November 28
    Not Delievered
  • Oil Pipeline Bill - 1954 March 5
  • Oxford Conference - 1952 September 7-12
  • Pakistan - 1951
  • Pan-American Federation
  • Pennsylvania Democrat Speech, Erie, Pennsylvania - 1953 June 9
  • Peru
  • Philippines
  • Point Four Letter to Stassen - 1953 November 4
  • Political Science - 1953 May
  • Political Speeches, Miscellaneous - 1950
  • Populism (Class Notes, Prof. Prescott)
  • Portugal
  • REA, LeMars - 1953 August 24
  • Reciprocal Trade Agreements Act -- Extension of - 1954 June 9
  • Red China
  • Releases-Campaign - 1954
  • Releases-Cost of Farm Program
  • Releases-Elections Subcommittee
  • Releases-General
  • Releases-Price Spreads
  • Releases-Speeches
  • Rotary Club, Manning, Iowa - 1952 September 5
  • Rules Change - 1953 January 6
  • Sanford Center Dedication, Sioux City, Iowa - 1951 June 17
  • Schuman Plan (1 of 5 folders)
  • Box 11:
  •  Subject Files, cont.
  • Schuman Plan (4 of 5 folders)
  • Selective Service -- College Deferment Plan
  • Senate Approval of Resolutions for Investigations - 1953 January 30
  • Senate Democratic Publicity Bureau
  • Soil Conservation Bill, Senate - 1954 August 17
  • Southeast Asia
  • Soviet Cultural Offensive
  • Soviet Strategy of Terror
  • Soviet Union
  • Soy Beans
  • Spain
  • Spain in US Politics
  • Special Subcommittee on Security Affairs
  • Steel Scrap - 1953 December 2
  • Stevenson, Adlai
  • Stevenson Endorsement - 1952 October 14
  • Subversive Organizations
  • Sulzberger Series
  • Switzer Nomination
  • Switzer vs. Gillette - 1949-1950
  • Taxes
  • Tax Revision Amendment
  • Televising Congress (2 folders)
  • Tibet
  • Tidelands -- Offshore Oil - 1953 April 23
  • Titoism
  • Truman Library
  • Tunisia
  • Turkey
  • Twenty Questions: Four Radio Talks - 1953 December
  • UN Charter, 1953 -- 1954, Des Moines
  • UN Charter Revision Speech - 1954 April 24
  • Union of South Africa
  • US Aid to NATO
  • US Anti-Democratic Movements
  • Venezuela
  • War in Korea
  • Water for India
  • Women's National Democratic Club - 1951 February 26
  • World Communism Release - 1953 October 30
  • World Peace Award - 1954 May 1
  • Box 12:
  • Audio Visual
  • Photographs (2 folders) 
  • Poster, Gillette for US Senate, (2 copies) - 1948
  • Tapes (Reel to reel and cassette)
  • Box 13:
  • Research Materials
  • Note Cards 
  • Research Notes (4 folders)

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Stelck, Del
Gillette, Guy M. (Guy Mark), 1879-1973

Corporate Names:
United States. Congress. Senate

Dates:
20th century

Occupations:
Legislators

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa

Genre/Form of Materials:
Photographs
Sound recordings
Archives
Sources
Correspondence