Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Hubert E. Hoeltje papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1957
Creator: Hoeltje, Hubert E. (1894-1968)
Extent: 2.00 linear inches.
Collection Number: MSC0740
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Notes and Research for Writing Writing the Scarlet Letter. Iowa Author Mss.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were given to the University of Iowa Libraries by Hubert Hoeltje.

Preferred Citation: Hubert E. Hoeltje Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Hubert H. Hoeltje, a native of Iowa, was born in 1894 and studied at the State University of Iowa, where he earned his bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees. He later became an English professor who focused on 19th-century American Literature, specifically on New England authors. He died in 1968.

C. Pummer and J.

Correspondence and manuscripts concerning Hoeltje's "The Writing of The Scarlet Letter.

Browse by Series:
There is no information currently for this Collection Guide.

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
English & American Literature
Writers Archive at Iowa
Prose Writers