Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Thomas Yoseloff Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1946 and Undated
Creator: Yoseloff, Thomas (1913-2007)
Extent: 2.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0735
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Journalist and publisher. Managing editor of The Daily Iowan as a student, later wrote for newspapers including the New York Times and the Omaha World Herald. Collection consists of drafts for A Fellow of Infinite Jest (1946), a biography of Laurence Sterne, and his own autobiography, The Time of My Life.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs: Box 3.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: Thomas Yoseloff donated these papers to the University of Iowa Libraries beginning in 1946.

Preferred Citation: Thomas Yoseloff Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Thomas Yoseloff was born on September 8, 1913, in Sioux City, Iowa, and traveled gradually eastward, reaching Spirit Lake, Iowa, at the age of seven, Mason City, Iowa, at the age of twelve, and becoming a Bachelor of Arts in Journalism at the University of Iowa at the age of twenty. In Iowa City he was managing editor of The Daily Iowan while he pursued his graduate studies. He did not finish, however, and in April 1935 he resumed his eastward migration before receiving his advanced degree, leaving with a brace of undergraduate prizes in journalism and debating.

He wrote articles for various newspapers, including the New York Times and the Omaha World Herald, and gathered news for two small Florida dailies, the Fort Lauderdale Daily News and the Daytona Sun Beach Record. Returning to New York, he began a career in book publishing, and became president of the publishing firm of Bernard Ackerman, Inc. He is the co-author of a children's version of The Merry Adventures of Til Eulenspiegel, and he edited a symposium entitled Seven Poets in Search of an Answer. He also published an autobiographical work, The Time of My Life.

In 1954 he acquired The Golden Cockerel Press. He was also founder of Associated University Presses.

Thomas Yoseloff died on December 24, 2007.

This collection consists of various drafts of two manuscripts, A Fellow of Infinite Jest and The Time of My Life. In 2008, an addendum more than doubled the size of this collection. This addendum consists of notebooks of columns and articles written by Yoseloff, mostly for the Daily Iowan, but there are some from unidentified newspapers. Also included are issues of The Pulse (the Mason City High School newspaper); some editions of The Masonian (Mason City High yearbook); two issues of Campus Crax, from Mason City Junior College; other writings by Yoseloff, and miscellaneous other items, including a series of photographs from the Society for Prevention of Cruelty to Speakers at the University of Iowa.
Special Collections at Bucknell University has the Thomas Yoseloff Golden Cockerel Press Collection.

See the vertical file for The Society for Prevention of Cruelty to Speakers at University Clubs and Organizations

See the vertical file in the Frederick W. Kent Collection of Photographs for The Society for Prevention of Cruelty to Speakers

Browse by Series:
Series 1: ORIGINAL COLLECTION
Series 2: 2008 ADDENDUM SERIES I: WRITINGS
Series 3: 2008 ADDENDUM SERIES II: SUBJECT FILES

  • Series 1: ORIGINAL COLLECTION
  • Sub-Series: A Fellow of Infinite Jest (published in 1945)
  • Box 1:
  • Correspondence - 1946
  • Original draft
    (2 folders)
  • Printer's copy. Typescript with revisions
    (2 folders)
  • Sub-Series: The Time of My Life (published in 1979)
  • Box 1:
  • Typescript with corrections and revisions
  • First galley proof
    In Oversized Box 1
  • Complete blues and camera copy
    In packet on Oversized shelf
  • Series 2: 2008 ADDENDUM SERIES I: WRITINGS
  • Sub-Series: Newspaper articles and columns (These are articles clipped from the newspaper and arranged in scrapbooks presumably assembled by Mr. Yoseloff. They are roughly chronological with some overlap in dates.)
  • Box 1:
  • Daily Iowan: October 14-March 12 - 1932-1933
  • Daily Iowan: May 30-July 6 - 1933
  • Daily Iowan: July-August - 1933
  • Daily Iowan: August 18-September 22 - 1933
  • Daily Iowan: September 23-December 26 - 1933
  • Daily Iowan: November 28-February 15 - 1933-1934
  • Daily Iowan: March 13-November 23 - 1933-1934
  • Daily Iowan: May 1-June 30 - 1934?
  • Daily Iowan: July 1-August 17 - 1934
  • Daily Iowan: August 18-October 31 - 1934
  • Daily Iowan: November-January - 1934-1935
  • Daily Iowan: February 1-April 13 - 1935
  • Daily Iowan: no year
  • Fort Lauderdale Daily News: March-June - 1934
  • Box 2:
  • Unidentified newspapers: September 20-February 28 - 1933-1934
  • Unidentified newspapers: June-December 18 - 1933-1934
  • Unidentified newspapers: May-May - 1934-1935
  • Unidentified newspapers - 1933-1935
  • Sub-Series: Typescript articles, both about Grant Wood
  • Box 2:
  • "Art is Born in Overalls" and "The Metamorphosis of a Radical"
  • Sub-Series: Letter
  • Box 2:
  • Letter to the dramatic editor of the New York Times
  • Sub-Series: Novels?
  • Box 2:
  • A Confidential Story
  • The Day the World Ended. Tentative plan for a book
  • Sub-Series: Reviews
  • Box 2:
  • Book of the Air Club Reviews
  • Miscellaneous reviews
  • Series 3: 2008 ADDENDUM SERIES II: SUBJECT FILES
  • Box 3:
  • Campus Crax
  • Diplomas and certificates
  • Frivol (The University of Iowa) Vol. XVI: No.3 (November); Vol. XVI:No.6 (February); and Vol. XVI:No.7 (March) - 1934, 1935
  • Iowa Prairie Chronicles in Pictures
    Map with images in Map Case 1, drawer 15
  • Life Magazine
    Contains some photographs from the Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Speakers. In Oversized Box 1
  • The Masonian - 1929, 1930, 1931
  • Mementos and memorabilia
  • Miscellaneous newspapers
    In Oversized Box 1
  • Phi Beta Kappa
  • Photographs
  • Plaque. Membership plaque for the University of Iowa Presidents' Club
  • The Pulse (Mason City High School newspaper) Volumes VI, VIII, IX
  • Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Speakers
    (see also the photographs for photos of speakers)