Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Martin Yoseloff Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1940-1990
Creator: Yoseloff, Martin (1919-1997)
Extent: 2.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0734
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Editor and novelist. Manuscripts for nine books, including No Greener Meadows (1946), his first novel.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: Martin Yoseloff began donating his papers to the University of Iowa Libraries in 1946.

Preferred Citation: Martin Yoseloff Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Martin Yoseloff was born on July 26, 1919 in Sioux City, Iowa. His family moved to Spirit Lake, then Mason City, Iowa. After attending Mason City High School, Yoseloff attended the University of Iowa, where he majored in journalism. At the University of Iowa, he wrote feature articles for the Daily Iowan while pursuing graduate studies. He received his B.A. in 1941.

He went on to serve on the editorial staffs of several New York publishing houses before his army service, 1943 -1946. His first book, No Greener Meadows, a recollection of an Iowa childhood, was published in 1946 and was written while he was in the transportation corps. He worked again at publishing houses in New York from 1947-1949. After this he devoted his life to writing and teaching. He died on March 27, 1997 in New York City.

His writing is often about lonely people trying to find meaning and fulfillment in their lives.

The papers of Matin Yoseloff consist of two linear feet of literary manuscripts arranged in alphabetical order.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • The Family Members
    Printer's copy, typescript with revisions (2 folders)
  • The Girl in the Spike Heeled Shoes
    Printer's copy, typescript with revisions (2 folders)
  • Lily and the Sergeant
    Printer's copy, typescript with revisions (2 folders)
  • The Magic Margin
    Printer's copy, typescript with revisions (2 folders)
  • No Greener Meadows
    Printer's copy, typescript with revisions
  • Remember Me to Marcie
    Printer's copy, typescript with revisions (3 folders)
  • A Time to Be Young
    Printer's copy, typescript with revisions (2 folders)
  • A Time to Be Young
    Galley proofs
  • Box 2:
  • What Are Little Girls Made Of?
    Printer's copy, typescript with revisions (3 folders)
  • The Wednesday Game
    Printer's typescript with corrections and revisions (2 folders)
  • Newspaper clippings and miscellaneous materials