Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Mary E. Winchell papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1950-1952
Creator: Winchell, Mary E. (-1878)
Extent: 2.00 linear inches.
Collection Number: MSC0729
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Manuscript for Home on the Bering Sea with correspondence and clippings. Iowa Author Mss.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition:

Preferred Citation: Mary E. Winchell Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Mary E. Winchell was born in 1878 in College Springs, Iowa. She was educated at Amity College, University of Southern California and became a teacher and matron in an orphanage in Alaska. In 1928 she was appointed superintendent of Catherine Blaine Home in Seattle, a boarding home and community center for Japanese.

In 1951 her book Home By the Bering Sea was published, which was based on her experiences in Alaska. In 1954, she published Where the Wind Blows Free, also about her days in Alaska.

C. Pummer and J.

Typescript, drafts and correspondence concerning Home By the Bering Sea.
Where the Wind Blows Free: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS, Iowa Authors Collection

Home By the Bering Sea: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS, Iowa Authors Collection

Browse by Series:
There is no information currently for this Collection Guide.

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
English & American Literature
Writers Archive at Iowa
Prose Writers
Writers Archive at Iowa
Prose Writers