Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Francis O. Wilcox Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1929-1985
Creator: Wilcox, Francis O. (1908-1985)
Extent: 3.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0727
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Educator, United States government official (Senate Foreign Relations Committee chief of staff, 1947-1955; Assistant Secretary of State, 1955-1961). Correspondence, subject files, lecture notes, speeches, and preliminary drafts of articles.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were given to the University of Iowa Libraries by Virginia S. Wilcox in 1989.

Preferred Citation: Francis O. Wilcox Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Francis Orlando Wilcox was born in Columbus Junction, Iowa, on April 9, 1908. He attended the University of Iowa, receiving an A.B. in 1930, his A.M. in 1931, and his Ph.D. in 1933. He also earned the degree of Doctor es Sciences Politiques from the University of Geneva, in 1935. From 1935 to 1941 he taught political science at various universities, including the Universities of Iowa, Louisville, Michigan, and Chicago. In 1947, Wilcox became the Senate Foreign Relations Committee's first chief of staff, a position he held until 1955. He guided the committee's consideration of such major foreign policy initiatives as the Marshall Plan and the creation of NATO. From 1955 to 1961 he served as assistant secretary of state and had a primary responsibility for U.S. participation in the United Nations. He was also the author of many books and articles on international affairs. Francis O. Wilcox died on February 20, 1985. He was survived by his widow, Virginia, and their son and daughter.

The papers of Francis O. Wilcox consist of manuscripts documenting his career as an educator, government official, and author. The collection is arranged alphabetically and is made up of subject files, lecture notes, correspondence, speeches and other materials on international relations. Correspondents include Dick Clark, Milton Eisenhower, Henry Cabot Lodge, and Dean Rusk.
Wilcox, Francis O. Francis O. Wilcox, Chief of Staff, Senate Foreign Relations Committee, 1947-1955: oral history interviews, February 1 to June 13, 1984. Washington, D.C.: Senate Historical Office, [1985?]

SPECIAL COLLECTIONS Iowa Authors Collection

U.S. Senate Oral History Project: Francis Wilcox

http://www.senate.gov/artandhistory/history/oral_history/Francis_O_Wilcox.htm

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Abysinia, undated
  • American Foreign Policy. Taught by F.O. Wilcox - 1941
  • American Foreign Policy. Taught by F.O. Wilcox, undated
    2 folders
  • American Government. Taught by F.O. Wilcox - 1935
  • American Government. Taught by F.O. Wilcox - 1937-1939
  • American Government. Taught by F.O. Wilcox - 1938
  • American Government. Taught by F.O. Wilcox - 1939-1940
  • American Politics -- International Relations. Taught by F.O. Wilcox - 1939-1941
  • American Society of International Law - 1938-1984
  • Arms Control - 1983
  • "Arthur Vandenberg" by F.O. Wilcox - 1974
  • The Atlantic Community - 1963
    Handbook of selected basic speech materials
  • Atlantic Council - 1975-1976
  • Atlantic Council - 1978
  • Atlantic Council - 1981-1984
  • Fundraising - 1974-1978
  • Fundraising Correspondence - 1977-1978
  • Books Reviewed by F.O. Wilcox - 1973-1984
  • Brussels Council - 1975-1976
  • Center for Strategic and International Studies (CSIS) - 1983
  • Center for Strategic and International Studies (CSIS) - 1984
    3 folders
  • Box 2:
  • Center for Strategic and International Studies (CSIS) - 1984
  • Center for Strategic and International Studies (CSIS) - 1985
  • Class Notes - 1936-1937
    Courses taught by F.O. Wilcox
  • Commission on the Organization of the Government for the Conduct of Foreign Policy: June-September - 1973-1974
    2 folders
  • Commission on the Organization of the Government for the Conduct of Foreign Policy - 1974
    5 folders
  • Conference on United States and United Nations - 1973-1974
    including a letter from Dick Clark
  • Conference on United States Congressional - Executive Relations and the Taiwan Relations Act, in Taipei, Taiwan. January 9-14 - 1983-1984
  • Congressional Materials on War Powers - 1983
  • Congressional Presentations of F.O. Wilcox - 1970-1977
  • Congressional Survey Report, March - 1975
  • The Constitution and the Conduct of Foreign Policy - 1975
    Manuscript copy with an introduction by F.O. Wilcox
  • Box 3:
  • Constitutional Law. Taught by F. O. Wilcox - 1936-1939
  • Constitutional Law. Taught by F. O. Wilcox - 1938
    2 folders
  • "Cooperation vs Confrontation: Congress and Foreign Policy Since Vietnam" by F.O. Wilcox, undated
    2 folders
  • Correspondence - 1929-1942
    Including letters from W. Jessup
  • Correspondence - 1943-1959
    Including a letter from Virgil Hancher
  • Correspondence - 1970-1979
    Including letters from J.S.F. Botha, Henry Cabot Lodge, McGeorge Bundy, Henry Kissinger, Nelson Rockefeller, and Cyrus Vance
  • Correspondence - 1980
  • Correspondence - 1981
    Including a letter from Milton S. Eisenhower
  • Correspondence - 1982
    Including letters from Dean Rusk, Henry Cabot Lodge, Milton S. Eisenhower, and Gerald R. Ford
  • Correspondence - 1983
  • Correspondence: January-August - 1984
  • Correspondence: September-December - 1984
    Including a letter from Milton S. Eisenhower
  • Correspondence - 1985
  • Correspondence: University of Iowa - 1976-1984
    Including a letter from James O. Freedman
  • Course Papers by F.O. Wilcox - 1930-1933
  • Course Outlines. Taught by F.O. Wilcox - 1938-1940
  • "Deep Attack Concepts and the Defense of Central Europe" by Boyd D. Sutton, et. Al. - 1983?
  • "Dutch Democracy" by F.O. Wilcox, undated
  • East-West Conference - 1966
  • Economics. Course notes by F.O. Wilcox - 1935
  • Eisenhower Seminar - 1984
    Including a letter from Milton S. Eisenhower
  • "Emerging Technologies and Deep Attack Concepts" by Fred Haynes - 1984
  • Eulogy for Pitman B. Potter, by F.O. Wilcox - 1981
  • "Factors Influencing American Foreign Policy" by F.O. Wilcox, undated
  • Box 4:
  • Ford Foundation. Congressional trip to the United Nations - 1973-1975
    Including a letter from Dick Clark
  • Ford Foundation. Congressional trip to the United Nations - 1974-1976
    Including letters from Dean Rusk, Dick Clark, and George Bush
  • The Future of the U.N.: A strategy for Like-Minded Nations. Report, undated
  • History of Political Thought. Course notes by F.O. Wilcox - 1936
  • "How the United Nations Charter Has Developed," Staff Study No. 2 - 1954
  • International Law. Taught by F.O. Wilcox - 1938
  • International Law. Taught by F.O. Wilcox, undated
  • International Law. Taught by F.O. Wilcox. Exams - 1938-1940
  • International Relations. Taught by F.O. Wilcox - 1937
  • International Relations. Taught by F.O. Wilcox - 1937-1938
  • International Relations. Taught by F.O. Wilcox - 1937-1939
  • International Relations. Taught by F.O. Wilcox - 1941
  • John F. Kennedy College of Arts and Sciences. Dedication address by F.O. Wilcox - 1969
    Including a letter form Edward M. Kennedy
  • "League of Nations." Articles by F.O. Wilcox, undated
  • Meridian House - 1969
  • Modern European Governments. Taught by F.O. Wilcox - 1937-1939
  • Modern Governments. Taught by F. O. Wilcox - 1941
    2 folders
  • Modern History. Taught by F.O. Wilcox - 1936
  • Murphy Commission - 1975
    Including a letter from William J. Casey
  • Museum of Science and Technology, Teheran, Iran - 1976
  • Navy: Correspondence and Papers - 1944
  • Navy: Lecture notes, undated
  • Our Foreign Policy - Legacy of the New Deal. Lecture by F.O. Wilcox - 1969
  • Box 5:
  • Neutrality. Miscellaneous papers and notes
  • Neutrality. Miscellaneous papers and notes, undated - 1940-1944
  • Newspaper clippings and obituary - 1955, 1985
  • Personal Papers of F.O. Wilcox: Clippings - 1942-1950
  • Personal Papers of F.O. Wilcox: Miscellaneous Papers - 1942-1970
  • Personal Papers of F.O. Wilcox: Printed Material - 1949-1978
  • Political Science. Taught by F.O. Wilcox - 1935-1940
  • Political Thought. Taught by F.O. Wilcox, undated
  • "Proposals Relating to Representation and Voting" by M.M. Montague - 1954
  • Repeal of the Gulf of Tonkin Resolution. Press Release - 1970
  • Retirement of F.O. Wilcox from Johns' Hopkins University - 1972-1973
    Including a letter from William D. Rogers
  • Review of the United Nations Charter. Committee Report - 1970
  • School of Advanced International Studies: Correspondence - 1956-1983
    Including letters from W. Averell Harriman and Henry Cabot Lodge
  • School of Advanced International Studies: Miscellaneous Papers - 1979-1984
  • Senator Sam Nuhn and Defense Spending - 1984-1985
  • Social Sciences. Taught by F.O. Wilcox - 1936-1942
  • Social Sciences. Taught by F.O. Wilcox - 1938-1941
  • Social Sciences. Taught by F.O. Wilcox - 1938-1942
  • Social Sciences. Taught by F.O. Wilcox - 1940-1942
    2 folders
  • Social Sciences. Taught by F.O. Wilcox - 1941
  • Social Sciences. Taught by F.O. Wilcox, undated
  • Social Sciences. Taught by F.O. Wilcox. Religion - 1939
  • Speeches and Speech Notes by F. O. Wilcox - 1935-1941
  • Speeches and Speech Notes by F. O. Wilcox - 1950-1959
  • Box 6:
  • Speeches and Speech Notes by F. O. Wilcox - 1950-1959
  • Speeches and Speech Notes by F. O. Wilcox - 1960-1969
    2 folders
  • Speeches and Speech Notes by F. O. Wilcox - 1970-1979
    5 folders
  • Speeches and Speech Notes by F. O. Wilcox - 1980-1989
  • Speeches and Speech Notes by F. O. Wilcox, undated
    4 folders
  • Box 7:
  • Stanley Foundation - 1974
  • Stettinius and Byrnes. Transcript of panel discussion, undated
  • The Technical Cooperation Programs of the United Nations System
  • The Iris Coffin Show. Audio tape - 1962
  • Report of the Advisory Committee on International Organizations - 1963
  • United Nations. Miscellaneous Papers - 1975-1976
    Including a letter from Arthur J. Goldberg
  • United Nations. Miscellaneous Papers, undated
  • "United Nations and Some Alternatives to World Order." Statement of F.O. Wilcox before the Subcommittee on International Organizations and Movements of the House Foreign Affairs Committee - 1970
  • United Nations Committee: American Legion - 1977-1978
  • United Nations Committee: American Legion - 1976
  • "United Nations in Crisis." 11th Annual Conference of National Organizations - 1961
  • Washington Institute of Foreign Affairs - 1979-1983
  • Washington Institute of Foreign Affairs - 1984-1985
  • World Politics. Course notes by F.O. Wilcox - 1931-1932
  • Writings of F.O. Wilcox - 1930-1949
  • Writings of F.O. Wilcox - 1950-1959
  • Writings of F.O. Wilcox - 1960-1969
  • Writings of F.O. Wilcox - 1970-1973
  • Writings of F.O. Wilcox - 1973-1976
  • Writings of F.O. Wilcox - 1977-1978
  • Writings of F.O. Wilcox - 1978-1979
  • Writings of F.O. Wilcox - 1980-1989