Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Hervey White Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1913-1931
Creator: White, Hervey (1866-1944)
Extent: 1.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0724
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Novelist (Quicksand, 1900, and others), founder of the artist's colonies Byrdcliffe and Maverick, and editor of The Plowshare and The Wild Hawk. Drafts and typescripts of 24 stories and chapters from an unpublished autobiography.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: This collection was given to the University of Iowa Libraries in 1969 -- 70 by John J. Pasciutti.

Preferred Citation: Hervey White Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Hervey White was born in New London, Iowa, in 1866. The son of William Andrew and Martha Chandler White, Hervey attended the State University of Kansas and later transferred to Harvard. He received an A.B. degree in 1894. After graduation, Hervey became affiliated with Jane Addams in social service work at the Hull House in Chicago.

His first book, Difference, was printed in 1899. Perhaps his most famous work was Quicksand. This book was called one of the six great American novels. In 1900, Bolton Brown, Ralph Whitehead, and White went to Woodstock, New York, and founded the Byrdcliffe Colony, where many noted artists and authors made their summer homes. Four years later, he established the Maverick Colony. This colony gave opportunities to both actors and musicians. The Maverick Press, founded by White, printed a number of his books and also works of other authors. He also served as editor for Wild Hawk and Plowshare, periodicals printed by his press.

Hervey White died in 1944, at the age of 78.

The papers of Hervey White consist of five linear feet of literary manuscripts dating from 1913-1931. They contain both holograph and typescript draft of many of his works.
At the time he donated the materials to the University of Iowa, John Pasciutti mentioned that there were letters of Hervey White in the Upton Sinclair collection at Indiana's Lilly Library. We have been unable to ascertain this, but researchers interested in following up on this may find some correspondence there. http://www.indiana.edu/~liblilly/

Some of White's manuscripts are located at the Woodstock Library

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Amours of Peterkin
    Typescript with corrections
  • Autobiography
    Typescript (2 folders)
  • Autobiography
    Typescript carbon (2 folders)
  • Baffled
    Typescript (2 folders)
  • The Coroner Sits
    Holograph draft (2 folders)
  • The Coroner Sits
    Typescript
  • The Deserter
    Holograph draft
  • Disappointment
    Holograph
  • Good Night
    Holograph
  • The Happy Husband
    Holograph draft
  • The Hills of Pride
    Holograph draft
  • The Hills of Pride
    Typescript with corrections
  • The House in the Road
    Typescript
  • Box 2:
  • Insults - Marriages
    A Radio Play in One Act. Holograph draft
  • John Smith and Pokahontas
    Holograph draft
  • Loose Ends
    Typescript
  • Lost River
    Book length manuscript, carbon typescript
  • The Magic Ship
    Holograph draft
  • Market 303, A Mystery Store
    Typescript
  • Peter Piper
    Typescript
  • A Pioneer
    Typescript with corrections
  • Plain Folks
    Holograph draft
  • The Prodigal Father
    Typescript with corrections
  • The Runt
    Typescript
  • Secret Signals
    Holograph drafts
  • Sonnet
    Holograph
  • A Southern Mill Hand
    Holograph draft
  • Swamp Island
    Holograph draft (2 folders)
  • Swamp Island
    Holograph draftTypescript with corrections
  • Sympathy
    Holograph
  • Turpentine Kwartett
    Holograph draft
  • Weak Sister
    Holograph draft (in exercise book)
  • Without Regard
    Holograph draft

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
English & American Literature
Writers Archive at Iowa
Novelists, Story Writers, & Poets