Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Herbert J. Wehman Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1969-1973
Creator: Wehman, Herbert (1888-1979)
Extent: 3.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0721
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Scientist. Manuscripts with handwritten emendations for his unpublished work, Universal Science.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: Bequest of Herbert Wehman, 1979.

Preferred Citation: Herbert J. Wehman Papers The University of Iowa, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Herbert John Wehman was born July 2, 1888 in Burlington, Iowa to parents Frederick and Anna Wehman. As an undergraduate, he attended the University of Iowa, then referred to as the State University of Iowa, where he received a Bachelor of Arts degree in Chemistry in 1911. Wehman continued his education at Iowa, receiving an Education Certificate in 1918 (Note: there is reason to believe that Wehman at some point attended the University of Pennsylvania in Philadelphia, as is evidenced in his obituary, though this claim has not been confirmed). In 1920, he received a Master's of Science in Zoology and Paleontology, also from the University of Iowa, during which time he served as a Graduate Fellow in the Department of Zoology. Notably, Wehman acted as the Chairman of the Committee on Quarters for Iowa's renowned Barbados-Antigua Expedition of 1918, led by Professor of Zoology, Charles C. Nutting. Following the expedition, Wehman briefly served as Assistant Curator of the University Museum of Natural History between 1919 and 1920. Not much is known of Wehman's life following 1920, though he is believed to have left the University after completion of his master's degree to serve as Assistant Professor at Stanford University in Palo Alto, California. He returned to his hometown of Burlington, Iowa some years later, where he lived the remainder of his life. Wehman wrote "Universal Science," an eighteen volume manuscript, which despite much effort, never found publication during his lifetime. Herbert J. Wehman died May 1, 1979. He is buried at Aspen Grove Cemetery.

The papers of Herbert J. Wehman consist of 3 linear feet of undated manuscript material believed to have been written between the years 1969 and 1973. Seventeen ribbon copies of typescripts with hand written emendations make up the bulk of the collection. A photocopy of Wehman's obituary as it ran on May 2, 1979 in Burlington Iowa's newspaper, The Hawk Eye, is also included.
A System of Universal Science. Burlington, Iowa: c 1969-73, v. 1-7 (Main Library Q175.W5 v. 1-7)

Papers of Charles C. Nutting (RG99.0194)

Interdisciplinary Programs, Museum of Natural History (RG06.0041.001)

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Sub-Series: Universal Science. Vol. I, Part 1: Dimensions
  • Box 1:
  • Vol. II, Part 2: Substance, Part 3: Living Systems
  • Vol. III, Part 4: Psychic Systems, Part 5: Social Systems
  • Vol. IV, Appendix: Symbolism (1)
  • Vol. V, Appendix: Symbolism (2)
  • Sub-Series: Universal Science: Descriptive. Vol. I, Part 1: Dimensions
  • Box 1:
  • Vol. II, Part 2: Substance
  • Vol. III, Part 3: Living Systems
  • Vol. IV, Part 4: Psychic Systems
  • Vol. V, Part 5: Social Systems (1)
  • Box 2:
  • Vol. VI, Part 5: Social Systems (2)
  • Sub-Series: Universal Science: Symbolic. Vol. I, Part 1: Dimensions (1)
  • Box 2:
  • Vol. II, Part 1: Dimensions (2)
  • Vol. III, Part 2: Substance
  • Vol. IV, Part 3: Living Systems (1)
  • Vol. V, Part 3: Living Systems (2)
  • Vol. VI, Part 4: Psychic Systems, Part 5: Social Systems
  • Sub-Series: Obituary
  • Box 2:
  • The Hawk Eye, Burlington, Iowa, May 2 - 1979

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.