Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Reverend Leo R. Ward papers

Collection Overview

Date Span:
Creator: Ward, Reverend Leo R. (-1893)
Extent: 6.00 linear inches.
Collection Number: MSC0720
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Writer, Catholic priest, and professor of philosophy at Notre Dame University. This collection consists of two manuscripts of Ward's published novels, Holding Up the Hills and Concerning Mary Ann. Iowa Author Manuscript.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were given to the University of Iowa Libraries by Leo R. Ward in 1951.

Preferred Citation: Papers of Reverend Leo R. Ward, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Reverend Leo R. Ward was born in 1893 in Melrose, Iowa. He earned an A.B. degree from the University of Notre Dame and a Ph.D. from the Catholic University in Washington, D.C. Later he studied at Oxford and Louvain. He was a priest, an author, and a professor of Philosophy at Notre Dame University.

Manuscripts of two of Ward's novels, Holding Up the Hills, which appeared in 1941 and Concerning Mary Ann, published in 1950.

Browse by Series:
There is no information currently for this Collection Guide.

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
English & American Literature
Writers Archive at Iowa
Novelists, Story Writers, & Poets