Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Nancy Veglahn Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1964-1976
Creator: Veglahn, Nancy (1937-)
Extent: 3.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0713
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Author of numerous books for young adults, many on science subjects. Collection includes manuscripts and correspondence about, among other titles, Follow the Golden Goose (1971) and Coils, Magnets and Rings (1976).

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: Nancy Veglahn donated these manuscripts to the University of Iowa Libraries as they were finished, beginning in 1971.

Preferred Citation: Nancy Veglahn Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Nancy Crary Veglahn was born in Sioux City, Iowa, on July 17,1937. Her father, Ralph Crary, was an attorney and District Court judge and her mother, Margaret Crary, was an author. She attended the Sioux City public schools and received her Bachelor of Arts degree at Morningside College in 1959. She did graduate work in English at South Dakota State University, where she received her Master of Arts degree. Nancy was married to Don Veglahn on August 24, 1958 and they have two children.

Veglahn has held a variety of professional-level positions at various institutions of higher learning. She was an instructor of English at South Dakota State University, where she also held a job as a Graduate Teaching Assistant. She was also the Secretary to the Associate Dean at Yale Divinity School from 1959 --1962. In addition to these professional jobs, she has also had a major writing career. She has published a number of books including The Tiger's Tail, The Spider of Brooklyn Heights, South Dakota, Peter Cartwright: Pioneer Circuit Rider, Follow the Golden Goose, The Buffalo King, The Dance of the Planets, and many others.

The papers of Nancy Crary Veglahn consist of three linear feet of literary manuscripts dating from 1964-1976. They represent her working papers for various books, including The Tiger's Tail, Follow the Golden Goose and The Dance of the Planets. Arranged chronologically by title these papers are open for research.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Sub-Series: The Buffalo King
  • Box 1:
  • Notes and correspondence - 1970-1971
  • Typescript with corrections and revisions
  • Typescript with corrections and revisions
    2 folders
  • Galley proofs
  • Page proofs
  • Sub-Series: Coils, Magnets, and Rings
  • Box 1:
  • Typescript with corrections. Early title: What's New Faraday?
  • Page proofs
  • Sub-Series: Dance of the Planets
  • Box 1:
  • Outline and notes
  • Original first draft typescript
  • Typescript with corrections and revisions
  • Printer's typescript with corrections
  • Galley proofs
  • Sub-Series: Follow the Golden Goose
  • Box 1:
  • Notes and correspondence - 1968-1969
  • Typescript
  • Typescript
  • Typescript carbon
  • Typescript incomplete
  • Sub-Series: Getting to Know the Missouri River
  • Box 1:
  • Notes
  • Typescript
  • Sub-Series: Mysterious Rays
  • Box 1:
  • Notes and outlines
  • Various typescript drafts with corrections and revisions
  • Sub-Series: Peter Cartwright, Pioneer Circuit Rider
  • Box 1:
  • Notes and correspondence - 1966
  • Typescript with corrections and revisions
  • Sub-Series: South Dakota
  • Box 1:
  • Correspondence - 1967-1968
  • Typescript with corrections
  • Sub-Series: The Spider of Brooklyn Heights
  • Box 1:
  • Notes, outlines, and correspondence - 1967
  • Typescript with corrections
  • Sub-Series: Swimmers, Take Your Marks!
  • Box 2:
  • Outline and typescript
  • Typescript with corrections
  • Typescript photocopy
  • Sub-Series: The Tiger's Tail
  • Box 2:
  • Notes and correspondence - 1964
  • Typescript carbon of original draft
  • Sub-Series: Vandals of Treason House
  • Box 2:
  • Notes
  • Typescript with corrections
  • Final typescript with editorial corrections
  • Sub-Series: The Wide Missouri
  • Box 2:
  • Typescript