Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Warren Van Dine Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1923-1970
Creator: Van Dine, Warren (1902-1983)
Extent: 1.00 linear foot.
Collection Number: MSC0711
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Consists of audio recordings, biographical information, correspondence, and materials relating to Mr. Van Dine's editorial positions with Much Ado and Upward. Also included in this collection are several manuscripts and typescripts of poems, essays, and short stories as well as Mr. Van Dine's memories of his time spent as an undergraduate at the State University of Iowa in the 1920s. Photographs, speeches.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in Box 1; Audio material in Box 1.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were given to the University of Iowa Libraries by Warren L. Van Dine in 1963.

Preferred Citation: Warren Van Dine Papers, The University of Iowa, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Warren Lovel Van Dine was born on November 25, 1902 in Fountain Green Township, Illinois. He was born on his grandfather's farm in the same bedroom that his mother, Flora Ellen Salisbury, was born. Warren Van Dine grew up in Burnside, Illinois in the house built by his father, Herbert R. Van Dine. After graduating from the State University of Iowa (the University of Iowa) in 1924 with a B.A. from the Liberal Arts College, Van Dine devoted himself to the Mormon church and to the Sons of the American Revolution. He also worked as an editor for two poetry journals; Much Ado in the early 1930's and Upward in the late 1930's. Unchanging Gold, a book of poems by Van Dine, was published in 1938. Van Dine authored several short stories and newspaper articles. He also wrote extensively about unusual weather in Hancock County, Illinois and about Hancock County history. For a large part of his life Van Dine was a member of the Revolutionary Graves Registry Committee and compiled lists of grave markers in county cemeteries for use by historians and genealogists. Van Dine remained a proud alumnus of the University of Iowa and appeared to be enamored with the state. He attended Alumni Weekend in Iowa City every year from 1959 and considered Iowa his home. He took great pride in representing Iowa in the 1925 publication of Poets of the Future with his sonnet, Pioneers. Van Dine lived and wrote in Burnside, Illinois and Hamilton, Illinois until his death on September 25, 1983.

The papers of Warren L. Van Dine consist of audio recordings, bigraphical information, correspondence, and materials relating to Mr. Van Dine's editorial positions with Much Ado and Upward. Also included in this collection are several manuscripts and typescripts of poems, essays, and short stories as well as Mr. Van Dine's memories of his time spent as a student at the State University of Iowa in the 1920s. The files of correspondence are arranged chronologically except for the Much Ado submission manuscripts, which are arranged alphabetically.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Sub-Series: Audio Recordings
  • Box 1:
  • "Unchanging Gold"
  • Interview with Jerry Nutt, Jr. about the University of Iowa - 1970 June 5
  • Warren Van Dine on Pilot Grove history
  • Karen Nelson recites Van Dine
  • Sub-Series: Correspondence - 1919-1962
  • Box 1:
  • Folder 1-To Warren Van Dine From
  • Josephine Simmons - 1919 January 27
  • Bickel - 1923 November 7
  • John T. Frederick - 1923 November 10
  • Mrs. C. B. Chandler - 1924 28 January
  • Edward J. H. O'Brien - 1924 August 27, 1924 November 8, 1924 November 26
    November 8 with newspaper clipping dated 1941, November 26 is a telegram
  • J. T. F. (John T. Frederick) (The Midland) - 1924 September
  • Henry T. Schmittkind (The Stratford Company) - 1925 September 14
  • Thomas Dunn, Jr - 1926 May
  • C. B. Nelson (The Midland) - 1927 January 7
  • Charlton G. Laird - 1929 May 19
  • Henry T. Schmittkind (The Stratford Company) - 1931 August 31
  • Leonard Lea (Vision) - 1931 November 6
  • Loren W. Van Dorn - 1931 December 20
  • Henry T. Schmittkind (The Stratford Company) - 1932 January 19
  • Henry Harrison (Poetry World and Contemporary Vision) - 1932 July 28
  • Mary Hull Martin - 1932 August 7
  • Joe Maynard Reynolds (Much Ado) - 1932 September 10
  • Jack Conroy (The Rebel Poet) - 1932 September 20
  • Clarence L Haynie (Southern Literary Review) - 1932 October 12
  • Edgar A Guest (Detroit Free Press) - 1932 October 17
  • Paul Frederick Corey - 1932 October 23
  • George F. Milton (The Chatanooga News) - 1932 October 27
  • Lucia Trent - 1932 October 29
  • Lucia Trent - 1932 November 26
  • Lucia Trent - 1932 December 16
  • Kenneth W. Porter - 1932 December 21
  • Edwin Ford Piper - 1932 December 22
  • Walter Coates - 1932 December 26
  • Ralph Cheyney (George Henry Kay) - 1933 January 14
  • Ralph Cheyney (George Henry Kay) - 1933 March 28
  • Loren Eiseley (The Prairie Schooner) - 1933 February 18
  • Richard Merton Petty (Southern Literary Review) - 1933 April 5
  • Ada ? - 1933 April 25
  • Frances Davidson (Nebraska Writers' Guild) - 1933 May 9
  • Hap Perrill (Much Ado) - 1933 May 17
  • Inez Sheldon Tyler - 1933 June 27
  • Mr. and Mrs. John B. Long, (birth announcement) - 1933 29 August
  • Marie Tello Phillips (Bookfellows Library Guild) - 1933 October 24
  • Olive Scott Stainsby (The Melting Pot)
  • George F. Milton (The Chattanooga News) - 1933 December 7
  • Folder 2-To Warren Van Dine From
  • Leonard Lea (Herald Publishing House) - 1935 January 22
  • Leonard Lea (Herald Publishing House) - 1935 January 28
  • Roberta Lewis - 1938 June 23
  • R. W. McLellan - 1938 July 9
  • Eva L. Swain - 1938 July 12
  • Mr. and Mrs. Ellis Cox - 1938 July 15
  • Ernest Noble Brown (Kansas City Quill Club) - 1938 July
  • Susan M. Davidson - 1938 Susan M. Davidson
  • Margery Graham, (originally sent to James A. Decker) - 1938 September 2
  • Josephine Simmons - 1938 September 25
  • F. M. Smith - 1938 October 21
  • F. M. Smith - 1938 November 4
  • Elbert A. Smith - 1939 July 3
  • M.A.S. - 1939 August 3
  • Irby Mundy - 1940 April 1
  • I. A. Smith - 1940 May 23
  • Agnes A. Fisher - 1943 March 15
  • Albert Salisbury - 1945 November 12
  • G. D. Jones - 1948 January 9
  • The Hagmeier's - 1950 December 14
  • Paul Findley - 1960 April 17
  • Anne Einselen - 1962 March 7
  • Fred Lape - Undated
  • Virginia Marzolf, Monday
  • Virginia Marzolf - Undated
  • Mabelle Nagel - Undated
  • Folder 3-From Warren Van Dine to
  • Mrs. Ralph Cheyney (Lucia Trent) - 1932 November 1
  • Editor, The Saints' Herald - 1962 January 21, 1962 March 20
    4 pages, 2 pages
  • Editor, Hancock County Journal - 1962 March 1962
    9 pages
  • Editor, Nauvoo Independent - 1962 April 23
    4 pages
  • Mary Kelly Mullane - 1962 June 14
    3 pages
  • State University of Iowa Special Collections - 1962 June 18
    with rough drafts
  • Sub-Series: Kinnikinnick, Much Ado, and Upward materials
  • Box 1:
  • Kinnikinnick, collection of poems including works by Warren Van Dine, Charlton Grant Laird, Paul Frederick Corey, and Edwin Ford Piper; undated though circa 1922--1924
  • Much Ado - biographical notes
  • Josephine Craven Chandler - 1932 October 24
  • Elizabeth Greene Streator - 1932 October 28
  • Maud E. Uschold - 1932 October 29
  • Eloise Cooper Mackey - 1932 November 9, 1932 December 14
  • Virginia Semler - 1932 December 17
  • Lucia Trent - 1932 December 21
  • Ralph Cheyney - 1932 December 27
  • Margaret Lathrop Law - 1933 January 5
  • Helen Rosemary Cole - 1932 January 19
  • Adelaide Love - 1933 January 21
  • Thomas Vaughan - 1933 February 4
  • Catharine E. Berry - 41750
  • J. Graydon Jeffries - Undated
  • Mary Owen Lewis - Undated
  • Much Ado - copyright permissions
  • George Jarrboe - 1932 (?) October 21
  • Fred Lape - 1932 October 24
  • Ted Olson - 1932 October 24
  • Margaret Forst - 1932 October 27
  • H. Raynesford Mulder - 1932 November 14
  • John Edward Calhoun - 1932 December 15
  • Harold Vinal - 1932 December 31
  • Richard Zeyde - 1932 (?) December 31
  • Stanton A. Coblentz - 1933 January 4
  • Caroline Giltinan - 1933 February 3
  • Daniel Whitehead Hicky - 1933 February 7
  • Stanton A. Coblentz - 1933 April 7
  • S.D. Mayer - 1933 April 7
  • Inez Taylor - 1933 April 7
  • Cardinal LeGros - 1933 April 8
  • George Steele Seymour - 1933 (?) April 10
  • Marie Tello Phillips - 1933 (?) April 10
  • J. Corson Miller - 1933 April 14
  • Benjamin Musser - 1933 April 25
  • Harold Vinal - 1933 April 26
  • William A. Martin - 1933 April 27
  • Carl John Bostelman - 1933 April 28
  • Irl Morse - 1933 April 28
  • Constance Deming Lewis - 1933 April 30
  • Frances Davis Adams - 1933 May 2
  • Mary Carolyn Davies - 1933 May 3
  • Fitzgerald Flournoy - 1933 May 7
  • James Neill Northe - 1933 September 5
  • M.L. Marshall - 1933 September 6
  • Much Ado - general correspondence (2 items)
  • Much Ado - essay describing W. Van Dine's work with Much Ado
  • Much Ado - submission manuscripts
  • Baker, Anna R.; "Fire On The Hearth"
  • Chandler, Josephine Craven; "Eagle at Galena"
  • Cheyney, Ralph; "The Shoal Planted By The Gods"
  • Cole, Helen Rosemary; "Dark Road House"
  • Finney, Harry A.; "Passing"
  • Fletcher, W. H. and G. E. McMinimy; "Synapothanumenes (Inseparable In Death)"
  • Law, Margaret Lathrop; "Venetian Glass"
  • Le Gros, Cardinal; "This Hunger"
  • Lewis, Constance Deming; "Nirvana"
  • Lewis, Mary Owen; "Ruins of Chateau de Beaufort"
  • Semler, Virginia; "The Vacant Chair"
  • Simmons, Josephine; "Old Johann Seelinger"
  • Trent, Lucia; " When West Meets East"
  • Uschold, Maude E.; "Hills"
  • Much Adoand Upward miscellany
  • Upward - copyright permissions
  • Publisher, The Atlantic Monthly - 1938 May 2
  • Louise Brockway - 1938 May 4
  • The Editors, Ladies' Home Journal - 1938 May 4
  • Brick Johns - 1938 May 10
  • The Editors, Harper's Magazine - 1938 May 10
  • ? Stuart, (written to James A. Decker) - 1938 May 12
  • Edward Weismiller - 1938 May 12
  • Myrtle Vorst Sheppard - 1938 May 14
  • Robert Nathan - 1938 July 21
  • Louise Brockway - 1938 July 27
  • Harlan Logan - 1938 July 27
  • Ted Malone - 1938 July 27
  • Marion Hoyle - 1938 July 30
  • Strickland Gillilan - 1938 August 7
  • Marjorie Allen Seiffert - 1938 August 12
  • Archibald Rutledge - 1938 August 16
  • Josephine Jacobsen - 1938 August 17
  • The Editors, The Saturday Evening Post - 1938 August 19
  • Edward F. Healy - 1938 August 19
  • Ted Malone - 1938 October 21
  • Publisher, The Atlantic Monthly - 1938 October 24
  • The Editors, Ladies' Home Journal - 1938 October 27
  • Paula S. Vogelsang - 1938 October 28
  • Sara Henderson Hay - 1938 October 29
  • David McCord - 1939 January 10
  • Grace Noll Crowell - 1938 January 12
  • The Editors, Ladies' Home Journal - 1939 January 12
  • Publisher, The Atlantic Monthly - 1939 January 12
  • Ted Malone - 1939 February 9
  • Carmen Judson - 1939 February 13
    misdated as 1938
  • Upward: A Quarterly Magazine of Worth-While Verse
  • Autumn - 1938
  • Summer - 1938
  • Winter - 1938-1939
  • Upward-general correspondence
    5 items
  • Sub-Series: Photographs
    with Essay by Warren Van Dine
  • Box 1:
  • Flora Ellen Salisbury, mother of Warren Lovel Van Dine, ca. 1900
  • Warren L. Van Dine - 1903
  • Warren L. Van Dine, Carthage, IL High School, class of 1920
  • Warren L. Van Dine - 1922
    2 copies
  • Warren L. Van Dine, Nauvoo, IL - 1938
  • Warren L. Van Dine - 1953
    3 copies
  • Warren L. Van Dine - 1959
    3 copies
  • Warren L. Van Dine, Nauvoo, IL - 1961
  • Sub-Series: Subject Files
  • Box 1:
  • Biographical and genealogical information by W. Van Dine, includes obituary from Hancock Co. Journal-Pilot
  • Map of Nauvoo, IL with written explanation by Warren Van Dine
  • Miscellaneous
  • Newspaper clippings - 1937-1984
  • Reunion, Carthage High School Class of 1920, press releases, letters, and class member information
  • Sub-Series: Writings
  • Box 2:
  • "About Joseph Smith, Candidate for President in 1844" by Warren Van Dine; typescript, additional information
  • "The Gift of God." The Literary Digest 112. 2 : 26. - 1932
  • "The Organ." The Saints' Herald 82. 5
  • "At the Grave of Joseph Smith." Illinois Quest 1. 5: 20. - 1938
  • "Pioneers." Illinois Quest 1. 5: 40. - 1938
  • "A Woman," by Warren Van Dine; manuscript with corrections
  • "My Memories of Some of the Literati at Iowa in the 1920's (The Great and the Near Great)" by Warren Van Dine; typescripts, rough drafts, and additional information
  • News release issued by Warren Van Dine
  • Title pages
  • Branch, Douglas E.
  • Carver, George
  • Childs, Marquis
  • Corey, Paul Frederick
  • Frederick, John T. and Esther Paulus
  • Laird, Charlton Grant
  • Mott, Frank Luther
  • Muilenburg, Walter J.
  • Piper, Edwin Ford
  • Van den Bark, Melvin
  • Miscellaneous
  • Poems
  • "Daguerreotype"
  • "The First Day in the White House"
  • "Soldiers of Fortune"
  • "The House"
  • "Someday"
  • "Clouds of Evening"
  • "The Poet"
  • "Ships"
  • "Babylon"
  • "The Sea"
  • "The Tabernacle"
  • "The Four Carpenters"
  • "Some Corner of a Foreign Field"
  • "Vinitius Dreams of Lygia (Quo Vadis)"
  • "Napoleon at Lodi"
  • "Wolfe at Quebec"
  • "The Perfect Picture"
  • "New Orleans"
  • "The Old Capitol Building (The State University of Iowa)"
  • "Night in Illnois"
  • "Pioneers"
  • "At the Grave of Joseph Smith"
  • Reviews, essays, and letters authored by Warren Van Dine with written explanation by Van Dine
  • Handwritten explanations by Warren Van Dine
  • Review of Hugh Walpole's "The Fortress" by Warren Van Dine, ca. 1930
  • "Review of Novel" by Warren Van Dine, ca. 1930
  • "Paragraphs" by Warren Van Dine for for freshman English class - 1921
  • Letter to Plain Talk concerning the death of G. D. Eaton - 1930 July 14
  • "Obituary of the Class of 1919," by Warren Van Dine - 1919
  • "Life," essay by Warren Van Dine - 1917-1918
  • Biographical data compiled by Warren Van Dine - 1952
  • Letters to (2) The Quincy Herald-Whig - 1931 December 2,7
  • Essay concerning the life and career of Archibald MacLeish by Warren Van Dine - 1944
  • Essay concerning narrative poetry by Warren Van Dine - 1945
  • Review of Louis Bromfield's "A Good Woman," - 1933
  • "A Great Religious Masterpiece," by Warren Van Dine concerning John Bunyan's "The Pilgrim's Progress," - 1944
  • Essay, "The Marriage of Joseph Smith," by Warren Van Dine - 1956
  • Miscellaneous reviews and editorials
  • Box 3:
  • Self- authored obituary - 1973
  • Short stories
  • "The Artist" (with manuscript and corrections)
  • "The Poet"
  • "The Prophet"
  • "Short and Simple Annals"
  • Speeches
  • WCAZ Carthage, IL broadcast transcript - 1968 January 27
  • Memorial Day ceremony, Moss Ridge Cemetery - 1970 May 30
  • Prayer, Smith Family Reunion, Nauvoo, IL - 1972 August
  • Address to the Reorganized Church of Latter Day Saints, Nauvoo, IL - Undated
  • Translation of Virgil's "The Story of the Aenaeid" by Warren Van Dine - 1919-1920
    Includes additional information from Van Dine dated September 1, 1929 and January 1, 1949.

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Van Dine, Warren L., 1902-1983

Corporate Names:
University of Iowa

Topics:
Alumni and alumnae
Authors, American

Occupations:
Authors

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa
United States -- Illinois

Genre/Form of Materials:
Sound recordings
Archives
Memoirs
Manuscripts (Document genre)
Typescripts
Correspondence