Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Nick Thimmesch Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1956-1985
Creator: Thimmesch, Nick (1927-1985)
Extent: 39.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0709
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Journalist with Time and Newsday, where he began a column nationally syndicated in 1969. Author of several books. Correspondence, research, interviews, audio tapes, photographs, speeches, reporter's notebooks, and preliminary drafts of his works.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in Boxes 19, 28; Audio material in Boxes 1-3, 8, 16, 17, 24.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition:

The papers of Nick Thimmesch were donated to the University of Iowa Libraries in 1986 by his son, Nicholas Thimmesch, II.

Preferred Citation: Nick Thimmesch Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Nicholas Thimmesch was born on November 13, 1927, in Dubuque, Iowa. He attended public and parochial schools before graduating from Dubuque Senior High School in 1944. Thimmesch served with the Merchant Marines from 1945 -- 1947 before returning to Iowa to attend Loras College and the University of Iowa. He received his B.A. in journalism from the University of Iowa in 1950. He married Wynora Susan Plum on April 17, 1953. They had three sons and two daughters. Nick Thimmesch died on July 11, 1985, in Chevy Chase, Maryland.

Thimmesch began his career as a reporter for the Davenport Times, leaving there to join the Des Moines Register in 1952. In 1955, he became a member of the staff of Time magazine, later becoming chief of its New York bureau. He became associated with Newsday as its Washington bureau chief where he began to write a column. In 1969, his column became nationally syndicated through the Los Angeles Times Syndicate. From 1976 to1978, he was a contributing editor for New York magazine. In 1981, Thimmesch became resident journalist at the American Enterprise Institute of Public Policy Research. While continuing to write his column, he worked on Communication for a Free Society, an Institute project, through which he moderated more than twenty public seminars on news media issues. Thimmesch was also the author of several books including The Condition of Republicanism and Robert Kennedy at 40.

These records cover the years 1956-1985 and are arranged alphabetically. The collection contains materials on many subjects that Thimmesch researched during his career as a political reporter, columnist, and writer of personality profiles. Special features of interest include manuscripts of The Condition of Republicanism and Robert F. Kennedy at 40, and typescripts of articles that appeared in Argosy, McCalls, Time, New York, Saturday Evening Post, and Sports Illustrated. A collection of columns written for the Los Angeles Times Syndicate is also included.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • ABSCAM
    Notes, undated.
  • Abourezk, Jim
    Notes and interviews, undated.
  • Abortion. Correspondence - 1971-1972
  • Absurdities column. Notes - 1984
  • Abu-Dhabi
    Notes, undated.
  • Agnew, Spiro
  • Typescript with corrections and notes - 1968
  • Interviews, reporter's notebooks, and notes - 1973-1975
    2 folders
  • Agriculture. Articles and correspondence - 1976-1977
  • Alaska trip. Correspondence, interviews, itinerary, notes, and typescript - 1981
  • Aliteracy: People Who Can Read But Won't, edited by Nick Thimmesch - 1984
  • Algeria
    Notes, undated.
  • Amalril, Andre
    Notes and interviews, undated.
  • Ambassadorial appointments. Notes - 1977 - 1978
  • American Arab Affairs Council. "Media and the Middle East." Typescript and correspondence - 1982
  • American-Arab Affairs Council at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee. Correspondence and notes - 1985
  • American Civil Liberties Union. Correspondence and notes - 1972
  • American Enterprise Institute
  • Budget. Correspondence, notes, and proposed budget - 1984 - 1985
  • Conference programs - 1981 - 1982
  • Conferences. Correspondence and notes - 1981 - 1982.
  • Expenses - 1982 - 1985.
  • General. Correspondence and notes - 1975 - 1985
  • "Inside the Institute," - 1982 - 1985
  • Interns - 1983 - 1985
  • Projects - 1981 - 1984
  • American-German Parliamentary Meeting. Itinerary, notes, and correspondence, April - 1980
  • American Indians
    Notes, undated.
  • American People's Yearbook
  • "Boxing in 1959." Typescript of article, and correspondence - 1959
  • "Professional and Amateur Boxing in 1956." Drafts, notes, correspondence - 1956
  • Amtrak. Notes and correspondence - 1979
  • Anderson, John. Notes, correspondence - 1980
  • Anti-defamation League of B'nai B'rith. Correspondence and notes - 1975
  • Any Time, Every Time. Time, the Weekly Newsmagazine Promotional brochure, October. Includes a photo of Nick Thimmesch. - 1961
  • Appointment calendars
  • 1971
  • 1972
  • July 1980 - July 1981
  • 1982
  • Arab Ambassadors. Typescript and notes
  • Arab Americans. Notes and correspondence - 1984
  • Arab Associations
    Notes, undated.
  • Arab upsurge. Notes - 1977
  • "Arabs in Washington, D.C." Correspondence, typescript with additions and corrections, notes, and galley proofs - 1977-1978
    2 folders
  • Argosy
  • "Elmer B. Staats: The Sheriff of the Bureaucracy." Correspondence, typescript, interview, and notes - 1979
  • "Heed Not the Pollsters: the Tax Revolt Goes On." Typescript - 1979
  • "High Cost of the Federal Regulatory Master." Typescript - 1979
  • Hubert Humphrey article. Typescript - 1979
  • "IRS and Daly." Correspondence, typescript, and notes - 1979
  • "Senate Budget Boss Ed Muskie: A Liberal Who Cracks Down on Spending." Interview, typescript, and notes - 1979
  • "Tennessee's Howard Baker: A GOP Leader Tries for the Presidency." Typescript and interview - 1979
  • Three Mile Island article. Typescript and notes, undated.
  • "Washington Inside. Happy Requiem for a Bureaucracy." Typescript and notes - 1979
  • Atlantic City. Notes and reporter's notebooks, undated.
  • Audio tapes
  • Barry Goldwater. Interview, undated.
  • Jimmy Hoffa. Interview, undated.
  • Box 2:
  • Audio tapes (cont.)
  • Hood. Interview, undated.
  • "Hornstein's Boy." Interview, undated.
  • Ken Kehribach. Interview - 1960
  • Mayor's Panel, undated.
  • Miscellaneous, undated.
  • Nixon, Richard. Interview - 1979
  • Topic "A" Washington: January-May - 1962
  • Box 3:
  • Audio tapes (cont.)
  • Topic "A" Washington (cont.)
  • June - August - 1962
  • Masters - 1962
    Undated.
  • Box 4:
  • Autobiography. Typescript - 1955
  • "Autodem in 1961: A Rage for Economy." Typescript - 1961
  • Automotive Industry. Notes, undated.
  • Automotive Industry - Detroit. Correspondence and notes - 1984
  • B-1 Bomber. Notes, undated.
  • Bahrain. Articles, notes, and correspondence - 1974
  • Bailey, John. Articles - 1963
  • Baker, Howard. Interview - 1980
  • Baldwin, James. Articles - 1963
  • Baroni, Father Geno. Notes, undated.
  • "Barry Goldwater At Ease." Typescript and notes - 1976
  • Begin, Menachem. Notes - 1981-1982
  • Berlin, Irving. Articles and notes -  1982 - 1983.
  • Bert Lance affair. Notes - 1977
  • Blacks. Articles and notes - 1968
  • Blumenthal, Michael. Notes, undated.
  • "Bob and Elizabeth Dole: America's Power Couple." Typescript and notes - 1985
  • Book proposal on Henry Kissinger. Correspondence and outline - 1973
  • Boschwitz, Rudy. Correspondence and notes - 1978
  • Boston Bussing Flap. Reporter's notebook - 1974
  • Bourne, Dr. Peter. Correspondence and notes - 1978-1979
  • Brademas, John. Correspondence and notes - 1977
  • Braden, Thomas. Correspondence and notes - 1975
  • Brezinski, Zbignew. Notes - 1977
  • Brooke, Ed. Articles and typescript with additions and corrections - 1966 - 1967
  • Brown, James. Articles - 1965
  • Buchwald, Art. Insert for a galley proof, undated.
  • Buckley, William. Article - 1965
  • Business expenses - 1967
  • CBS Morning News. Scripts, February - September - 1974
    Undated.
  • CBS Project. Correspondence and notes - 1975
  • CBS Radio Network - Spectrum Commentaries. Scripts, January - November - 1974
  • Cable News Network (CNN)
  • General. Agreement, correspondence, notes, and expense accounts - 1981
  • Commentary research. Notes, January - April  - 1981
  • Commentary scripts - 1981
    Undated.
  • Cable Television. Notes, undated.
  • Cairo, Egypt. Correspondence, reporter's notebooks, and notes - 1974
  • Canadian Broadcasting Company - Radio Commentary. Scripts - 1973-1984
  • Capsule. Research, undated.
  • Car and Driver. "The Gasoline Shortage." Typescript and correspondence, - 1973
  • Carter, Hugh. Notes and interview - 1978
  • Carter, Jimmy
  • Democratic convention. Notes and interview - 1976
  • Domestic policies. Notes, undated.
  • Family. Notes, undated.
  • Carter/Mondale campaign. Notes - 1980
  • Catholics and Vietnam. Notes and interviews, undated.
  • Central Intelligence Agency (CIA). Notes, undated.
  • Certificates.
  • Chemical warfare. Notes, undated.
  • Chicago Tribune. "Pro-Life Movement: Where Is It Now." Correspondence and typescript - 1974
  • Church, Frank. Notes and interview - 1975-1976
  • "Chrysler." Typescript, undated.
  • Cigarettes. Notes, undated.
  • Clay, Cassius. Articles and notes - 1963 - 1965
  • Cleland, Max. Correspondence and notes - 1977
  • Colorado. Reporter's notebooks, undated
  • "Colorado and Denver Politics and Mr. Bill White."
  • Correspondence, typescript, and notes - 1969
  • Colson, Charles
  • Correspondence - 1972
  • Interview - 1973
  • Colvin Agency. Correspondence - 1980
  • Commentary for Public Radio - Berlin. Notes, correspondence, reporter's notebook, and scripts - 1975
  • Commentary for Westinghouse Broadcast. Script - 1975
  • The Condition of Republicanism
  • Correspondence - 1968
  • Typescript with corrections and revisions, undated
    3 folders
  • Typescript of index, with revisions, undated.
  • Box 5:
  • The Condition of Republicanism (cont.)
  • Typescript. Photocopy, undated
    2 folders
  • Galley proofs
    4 folders
  • Dust jackets.
  • Frontis material and notes.
  • Book promotion. Correspondence and quotes. Including a letter from Barry Goldwater. - 1968
  • Conference on Security and Cooperation in Europe. Notes, press pass, and correspondence - 1973
  • Connally, John. Article - 1977
  • Conservative campus newspapers. Notes, undated.
  • Conservative Digest. "Straight from Washington." Correspondence, notes, and typescript - 1976-1978
  • Correspondence
  •  Including letters from Frank Eyerly and Carl Gartner. - 1955 - 1962
  • Including letters from: Barry Goldwater, Richard Nixon and Virgil Hancher - 1963
  • Including letters from: Richard Nixon, Fred Schwengel, Eugene McCarthy and Nelson Rockefeller. - 1964
  • Including letters from: Eugene McCarthy, William Buckley, Harold Hughes and Richard Nixon. - 1965 - 1966
  • Including letters from Barry Goldwater and Richard Nixon. - 1967
  • Including letters from: George Bush, Edmund Muskie and Howard Baker. - 1968
  • Including letters from Barry Goldwater and William Buckley. January-April - 1969
  • May - August. Including letters from: Hubert Humphrey, George Bush, Henry Kissinger and Spiro Agnew. - 1969
  • Box 6:
  • Correspondence (cont.)
  • September - December. Including letters from Hubert Humphrey. - 1969
  • January - April. Including letters from: Ben Bradlee, Fred Schwengel, Donald Rumsfeld, George McGovern, John Ehrlichman, George Bush. - 1970
  • May - August. Including letters from: Potter Stewart, George Bush, Edward Kennedy, Henry Kissinger, Donald Rumsfeld and Hubert Humphrey. - 1970
  • September - December. Including letters from: Alexander Haig, Donald Rumsfeld, Nelson Rockefeller, Fred Schwengel and Gerald Ford. - 1970
  • January - May. Including letters from: Alexander Haig, Hubert Humphrey, Spiro Agnew, George Romney, William F. Buckley, Dean Rusk, Walter Mondale and Richard Nixon. - 1971
  • June - September. Including letters from: Hubert Humphrey, Robert Dole, Alexander Haig, George Bush, Richard Nixon, Bill Moyers and EugeneMcCarthy. - 1971
  • October - December. Including letters from George Wallace and Tom Tauke - 1971
  • January - July. Including letters from: Abe Fortas, Alexander Haig, Casper Weinberger, George Wallace and Tom Tauke. - 1972
  • August - December. Including letters from: George McGovern, William F. Buckley, Theodore H. White, Art Buchwald, Robert D. Ray, Hubert Humphrey, Edmund Muskie, Alexander Haig, Nelson Rockefeller and William Ruckleshaus. - 1972
  • January - April. Including letters from: Spiro Agnew, Edward Kennedy and Richard Nixon. - 1973
  • May - August. Including letters from: Edmund Muskie, Donald Rumsfeld, Barry Goldwater and George Bush. - 1973
  • September - October  - 1973
  • November - December. Including a letter from Sargent Shriver. - 1973
  • January - March. Including letters from Nelson Rockefeller and William Saxbe. - 1974
  • April - June. Including a letter from Hubert Humphrey.  - 1974
  • Box 7:
  • Correspondence (cont.)
  • July - October. Including letters from Casper Weinberger and Lloyd Bentsen. - 1974
  • November - December. Including a letter from William Simon. - 1974
  • January - March - 1975
  • April - July. Including letters from: Hubert Humphrey, WilliamBuckley, Donald Rumsfeld and William Simon. - 1975
  • August - December - 1975
  • Including letters from Barry Goldwater and Jimmy Carter. - 1976 - 1980
  • 1981 - 1985
  • Undated. Including letters from Spiro Agnew and George Gallup.
  • Business - 1969 - 1971
  • Los Angeles Times Syndicate - 1970 - 1977, 1983 - 1985
    Undated.
  • Newsday. Including a letter from Bill Moyers. - 1968 - 1976
  • Re: Newsweek article "The Abortion Culture," - 1973
  • Speech arrangements - 1973 - 1985
  • Speech reviews - 1973 - 1985
  • Sterling Lord - 1967 - 1977
    Undated.
  • Cosell, Howard. Interviews, notes, typescript, undated.
  • Credit Union National Association Conference. Correspondence, programs, and notes - 1984
  • Crime. Articles, notes - 1958 - 1959
  • Cyprus. Notes, undated.
  • Dead Federal Programs. Notes, undated.
  • Dean, John. Notes, undated.
  • Defense. Notes and correspondence - 1970
  • DeLorean, John. Notes, undated.
  • Democratic National Convention. Articles, drafts, and notes - 1984
  • Detroit
  • General. Typescript, notes, and correspondence - 1961
  • Correspondence, notes - 1984
  • Detroit
  • "Detroit's Irresistable Brother." Typescript, undated.
  • "Year of the Pizzaz." Typescript, undated.
  • Box 8:
  • Disabled veterans. Correspondence and notes - 1970
  • District of Columbia - Crime. Notes, undated.
  • Dole, Robert. Interview, undated.
  • Drinan, Fr. Robert F. Notes - 1981
  • Drug Abuse. Notes - 1982
  • Drugs. Articles - 1970 - 1971
  • Dubinsky, Dave. Article - 1966
  • Dubs, Adolph. Notes, undated.
  • DuPont Context (articles in company magazine)
  • "N.R.C.'s Harold Denton." Notes, draft, and correspondence, undated.
  • "New Federalism: An Enormous Challenge." Typescript and correspondence - 1981
  • "Nuclear Power's Future: Problem Solving Ahead, But Don't Fry the Chicken." Draft, notes - 1979
  • "Self-Help Re-emphasized: Siezing the Initiative at the Community Level." Correspondence and typescript - 1984
  • "Taking on Today's Community Problems: Necessary, Traditional Volunteerism." Correspondence, notes, interviews, and typescript, undated.
  • "Washington View: How Quickly Can Reform Be Accomplished?" Correspondence, typescript, and notes - 1979
  • "What Can Business Expect From the New Administration." Notes, interviews, correspondence, and typescript - 1981
  • Durenberger, Dave. Interview, and notes - 1981
  • Earnings - 1967
  • East Mediterranean Mess. Typescript and correspondence - 1976
  • East-West Trade Council - Cuba Trip. Correspondence, itinerary, and notes - 1977 - 1978.
  • Eastern Bloc Tour. Correspondence, drafts of articles, press pass, and notes - 1972
    3 folders
  • Eastern European Articles - 1972
  • Editorial Query Sheets - 1963 - 1966
    Undated.
  • Education. Correspondence - 1974 - 1978.
  • Egypt. Correspondence, itinerary, and articles - 1974
  • Ehrlichman, John. Notes, undated.
  • Election '84 Youth Inaugural Conference - 1984 - 1985.
  • Energy and the Environment. Notes - 1981
  • Ethnic Neighborhoods. Notes, undated.
  • European Ecology. Notes, undated.
  • European trip
  • Correspondence - 1970
  • Expense account materials - 1976 - 1977
  • Notes, correspondence, and articles - 1976 - 1978
  • Euthanasia. Notes, undated.
  • Expense account materials - 1969 - 1971
  • Family Health Magazine. Cosmetic safety article. Typescript, notes, interview, and correspondence - 1970 - 1971
  • Farmer, James. Article - 1965
  • Federal budget. Notes - 1985
  • Federal City Club - 1962 - 1972
  • Film proposal - The Iron Mentor. Correspondence, proposal, and notes - 1975
  • Finch, Robert. Correspondence, undated.
  • Findley, Paul. Notes and interviews, undated.
  • Fonda, Jane. Notes, undated.
  • For the Power: Rockefeller's Quest for the Presidency (proposed book). Typescript.
    2 folders
  • Ford, Henry II. Correspondence, notes, and interviews -  1963, 1977 - 1980
  • Fortas, Abe. Hearings. Reporter's notebooks - 1968
  • Foundations. Notes and correspondence - 1968 - 1969
  • France. Notes and correspondence - 1974
  • Garmet, Leonard. Notes, interviews, correspondence, and typescript - 1969
  • Gay Life. Notes and interviews, undated.
  • Glickman, Max. Correspondence, notes, audio tape - 1985
  • Box 9:
  • Goals book. Typescript, undated
    2 folders
  • Goldberg, Rabbi Michael. Correspondence, typescript, notes - 1983
  • Goldwater, Barry. Notes - 1968
  • Good Morning America. "Face-Off," - 1976
  • "The Good Society as Implied in Gibbon's `Decline and Fall of the Roman Empire.'" Essay - 1949
  • Graham, Billy. Notes, undated.
  • Graham, Katherine and the Washington Post - Proposed book. Incomplete typescripts, notes, and correspondence - 1975-1977
  • Greece. Correspondence, notes, and itinerary - 1976
  • Greenfield flap. Correspondence, notes - 1969
  • Griffiths, Martha. Notes, undated.
  • HARYOU-Act. Typescripts - 1965
  • Haig, Alexander. Notes, undated.
  • Haldeman, H.R. Notes and correspondence, undated.
  • Harlem. Typescript - 1964
  • Hess, Rudolph. Correspondence, interviews, and notes - 1980
  • Hinckley, John. Notes, undated.
  • Hoffa, James. Typescripts - 1963-1965
  • Hollings, Ernest. Presidential campaign - 1984
  • Holocaust. Correspondence and notes - 1983 - 1985.
  • Holy Trinity Parish. Notes and correspondence - 1960
  • How Americans Spend Their Money. "Autoworker Ed Wagner: A Stalwart Against the Hard Sell." Typescript, corrections, correspondence, and notes - 1960
  • Hughes, Harold. Interviews and notes - 1973
  • Human Events. American Enterprise Institute. Correspondence, typescript - 1978
  • Humphrey, Hubert
  • Notes - 968, 1971, 1976, 1978.
  • Typescripts of articles - 1963 - 1965, 1978.
  • Humphrey, Muriel. Incomplete typescripts, notes, and research materials - 1978
  • Hungary. Notes, itinerary, and correspondence - 1972
  • Ikard, Frank. Notes, correspondence, and typescripts, undated.
  • Illegal Aliens. Correspondence and notes - 1978-1979
  • Inflation. Notes, undated.
  • Inquiry: "Lebanese Major Saad Haddad: The Israeli's Renagade Surrogate." Correspondence, typescript, and notes - 1980
  • Insurance - 1983 - 1985
  • Intelligencier. Moshe Dayan. Typescript, and notes - 1977
  • Invitations -  1969 - 1980
  • Invitations to the White House - 1974 - 1979
  • Iowa Caucus. Notes - 1984
  • Iran. Notes, itinerary, and article - 1974
  • Iraq. Notes - 1982
  • Israel. Correspondence and notes - 1977
  • Israel and Lebanon trip. Itinerary, correspondence, interviews, and notes - 1979
  • Israel sketches - 1979 - 1980
  • Israeli involvement in Central America. Interviews and notes - 1984
  • Jack Winter film deal. Middle Eastern documentary - 1976
  • Jackson, Henry. Notes - 1972
  • Jackson, Jesse. Presidential campaign. Notes - 1984
  • ames, Daniel "Chappie"
  • Articles. Typescripts - 1975 - 1981
  • Correspondence - 1975 - 1980
  • National Endowment for the Humanities - 1978 - 1981
  • Notes and interviews - 1975 - 1979
  • Putnam's contract - 1978
  • Box 10:
  • Japan. Correspondence, itinerary, and notes - 1977
  • Japan trip. Correspondence, interviews, and notes - 1983
  • Javits, Jacob. Notes, interviews, and articles - 1962 - 1967, 1984
  • Jenkins, Walter. Typescript - 1964
  • Jerusalem Post flap - 1982
  • Jewish War Veterans Convention. Correspondence and articles - 1977, 1980
  • John Hancock Panel Discussion. Correspondence, questions, and notes - 1984
  • Johnson, John. Typescript and correspondence - 1973
  • Johnson, Lyndon
  • Honolulu conference, July - 1968
  • Reporter's notebooks - 1968
  • Typescripts, notes, and correspondence - 1963 - 1969.
  • Jordon, Hamilton. Typescript - 1976
  • Kelly, Clarence. Interview, notes, and correspondence - 1976
    2 folders
  • Kennedy, Edward M. Notes and interviews - 1978
  • Kennedy, John F. Typescripts and notes for articles - 1962-1964
  • Kennedy, Robert F. Typescripts of various articles - 1964-1966
  • King, Martin Luther. Typescript - 1963
  • Kirk, Claude. Typescript - 1967
  • Kirkpatrick, Jean. Notes and typescript of interview - 1984
  • Kissinger, Henry
  • General. Miscellaneous interviews, notes, and typescripts - 1972
    Undated.
  • Briefings and trips. Notes, undated
  • Halperin incident. Typescript - 1973
  • Wiretapping. Articles, commentaries, and notes - 1971 - 1974
  • Kleindienst, Richard Gordon. Articles - 1972 - 1973
  • Klutznick, Phillip. Typescripts, notes, and correspondence - 1982 - 1984
    3 folders
  • Knights of Pythias. Typescript, undated
  • Koch, Ed. Notes and correspondence - 1983
  • Korea. Background notes, undated
  • Koreagate. Notes, correspondence, and typescripts - 1977 - 1978
  • Kraemer, Fritz. Notes, interview, typescript, and correspondence. Including a letter from Alexander Haig. - 1971-1978
  • Kuwait. Notes, correspondence, itinerary, and article - 1974
  • "Laird in the White House." Typescript and correspondence - 1973
  • Laird, Melvin. Notes and typescript - 1974
  • "Last Synagogue in Baghdad." Drafts and notes - 1983
  • League of Women Voters - 1984 Presidential Debate, October 21 - 1984
  • Lebanese atrocities. Notes, undated
  • Libertarian Party. Notes, undated
  • Libya. Notes, undated
  • Lincoln Review, volume 1, number 1 (1979). "General Daniel "Chappie" James Jr.: Profile of a Patriot."
  • Lindsay, John. Reporter's notebooks - 1967
  • Liquor scandals. Typescripts and notes - 1963
  • Los Angeles Times Syndicate
  • "Hamilton Jordon: The Man Carter Counts on Most." Correspondence, typescript, and notes - 1979
  • "The Nick Thimmesch Column." Mimeos and originals, March - 1970-1971
    3 folders
  • Box 11:
  • Los Angeles Times Syndicate
  • "The Nick Thimmesch Column." Mimeos and originals, April, September - 1971-1974
    25 folders
  • Box 12:
  • Los Angeles Times Syndicate
  • "The Nick Thimmesch Column." Mimeos and originals, October, June - 1974-1977
  • Box 13:
  • Los Angeles Times Syndicate
  • "The Nick Thimmesch Column." Mimeos and originals, July, October - 1977-1979
    28 folders
  • Box 14:
  • Los Angeles Times Syndicate
  • "The Nick Thimmesch Column." Mimeos and originals, November, December  - 1979-1982
    30 folders
  • Box 15:
  • Los Angeles Times Syndicate
  • "The Nick Thimmesch Column." Mimeos and originals, January, June - 1983-1985
    20 folders
  • Box 16:
  • Los Angeles Times Syndicate
  • Status and invoices - 1971 - 1972
  • Luce, Clare Booth. Notes, correspondence, and typescripts - 1981 - 1983
    ncluding a letter from Harold Prince.
  • Luxembourg
  • Correspondence, notes, itineraries - 1960-1978
  • Article. Typescript, notes, research materials, and correspondence - 1970-1971
  • Trip. Correspondence and notes - 1984
  • "Lynn Townsend." Rough draft of article, notes, and correspondence - 1968
  • McCalls
  • "The Bravery of Sarah Brady." Correspondence, notes, typescript,and galley proof - 1981
  • Correspondence - 1980 - 1982
  • David Eisenhower article. Typescript, notes, and interview - 1975
  • "Elizabeth Taylor: At the Two-Year Mark with Warner." Typescript and notes - 1978
  • "The Enduring Clare Booth Luce." Correspondence, audio tape, typescript, research notes, and interview - 1980 - 1981
  • "How Anguished Were the Agnews." Typescript and correspondence, - 1973 - 1974
  • "Hubert and Muriel Humphrey: Look at the Fun We've Had." Typescript, notes, and interviews - 1977
  • "Lady Bird's Life Today." Correspondence, typescripts, galley proofs, and notes - 1976 - 1980
    2 folders
  • "Life of Pat Nixon Today." Typescripts, correspondence, and notes - 1978 - 1979
    2 folders
  • "Mamie at 80." Correspondence, interviews, notes, and typescript - 1975 - 1976
  • "Rebozo on Nixon." Correspondence, typescript, interviews, notes, and galley proof - 1974
  • "Spiro Agnew: Life with Father." Correspondence, typescript, notes, and galley proofs - 1972 - 1973
  • McCarthy, Eugene. Typescripts, notes, and interviews - 1967 - 1968
  • McGovern, George. Notes, interview - 1972
  • Mail fraud. Correspondence, interviews, and notes - 1980
  • Malcolm X. Articles - 1965
  • Manuscript, unidentified. Chapter Two.
  • Media speech. Research - 1983
  • Medical Students in Europe. Notes, undated
  • Meet the Press. Questions - 1972-1984
  • Memo to Senator Javits - 1967
  • Menken, H.L. Notes, correspondence, and typescript - 1980 - 1981
  • Metro Sunday News Service. "On Bob Strauss: Democratic Party Chairman." Typescript, interviews, and notes, undated.
  • Middle East
  • General. Notes and taped interviews - 1977
  • Ambassadors. Notes, undated.
  • Box 17:
  • Minority crime and the juvenile justice system conference of 1985, pamphlets and correspondence
  • Miscellaneous book reviews - 1972-1973
  • Miscellaneous notes, undated.
  • Mitchell, John. Typescript and notes, undated
  • "Mobilization to End War in Vietnam." Notes - 1968
  • Moluccan independence. Notes, interviews, - 1978
  • Moore, Jonathan. Interview - 1980
  • Motley, Langhorne. Notes - 1983
  • Moyers, Bill. Notes - 1980
  • "Moyers in the CBS Pulpit." Column - 1982
  • Moynihan, Daniel Patrick. Typescript and notes - 1977
  • Muskie, Edmund. Notes and interviews - 1972
  • Mutual Radio-"Reporter's Roundup,"  - 1975 - 1976
  • Nadar, Ralph. Notes and interviews - 1977
  • National Association of Arab Americans. 8th Annual Convention. Notes, agenda, and press pass - 1980
  • National Education Association
  • General. Notes, undated.
  • Labor Union. Typescript, interviews, and notes - 1979-1983
  • Portrait of an Ideological Union. Manuscript, correspondence, interviews, notes, and audio tapes - 1980-1984
    4 folders
  • National Journal
  • Convention articles. Typescripts and notes - 1984
  • "Covering Conventions: Mencken, the Sage of Baltimore, Did it Best." Correspondence and typescripts - 1984
  • Richard Nixon article. Typescript, - 1984
  • National Nuclear Media Trip. Correspondence, itinerary, and notes - 1978
  • National Public Radio. Correspondence, scripts, and notes - 1975-1978
  • National Town Meeting - 1978 - 1981
  • National Women's Coalition. Notes and interviews, undated.
  • "Nelson A. Rockefeller: A Portrait in Stubbornness." Article and notes, undated.
  • "The Never, Never Land of Alaskan Oil Exports." Typescript, notes, and interviews, undated.
  • Network News. Notes, undated.
  • "The New, New Nixon." Typescript and galley proofs - 1967
  • "The New Tax Bill: A Welcome Lift for the National Spirit." Column - 1982
  • New York (magazine)
  • Correspondence as Editor - 1977-1978
  • Expenses - 1977-1978
  • "The Golden Day of Barry Goldwater." Typescript, notes, and interviews - 1973
  • "The Henry Kissinger Nobody Knows." Typescript and galley proof, undated.
  • "Heroin Traffic." Typescript and notes - 1970
  • "How Kissinger Fooled Us All." Typescript, galley proof, and page proofs - 1973
  • "Israel's Number One Dove-Arie `Lova' Eliav." Typescript - 1978
  • Kissinger article. Typescript and notes - 1974
  • "Midge" Constanza article. Interviews and notes - 1977
  • Miscellaneous articles. Correspondence, notes, and typescripts - 1977-1978
  • "New Yorkers in the Carter Administration." Typescript and notes - 1977
  • "Peace Is At Hand." Typescript - 1973
  • "Rockefeller and His Republicanism of New York." Notes and typescript - 1972
  • "The Senior Mr. Kennedy." Typescript, interviews, and notes - 1972
  • Thimmesch on Richard Viguerie. Correspondence, incomplete typescript, interviews, and notes - 1975
  • Turkey and the Narcotics Trade. Typescript - 1970
  • Washington Hangouts. Typescript and correspondence - 1977
  • "Why Sadat Goes to Jerusalem: A Necessary Trip." Typescript - 1977
  • New York Times
  • "Can Dubuque Star Make It?" Correspondence, typescript, and notes - 1984
  • "Harold Hughes: Populist Mystic in Plainclothes." Correspondence, typescript, and notes - 1973
  • Op - Ed on Galena. Correspondence and typescript - 1981
  • Box 18:
  • New York Times Magazine
  • Equal Rights Amendment. Notes, correspondence, typescript, and galley proofs - 1973
  • "The Fords." Interviews, typescript, correspondence, and notes - 1976
  • "It Didn't Start with Watergate." Book review. Typescript, notes, undated.
  • Spiro Agnew article. Typescript, correspondence, galley proofs, and page proofs - 1975
  • Newsday
  • Expenses - 1969 - 1970
  • "Eye on the Presidency":
  • Originals - 1967 - 1968
  • Mimeos - 1969 - 1971
  • "Howard H. Baker: The Senate G.O.P. Leader with an Instinct for the Center." Typescript - 1977
  • "News Talk." Scripts - 1979
  • "The Next Step in the Middle East." Typescript - 1979
  • Nicaragua. Notes, undated.
  • Nickerson, Eugene Hoffman. Articles - 1966
  • Nixon, Richard M.
  • Biography. Notes and articles - 1967
  • Blacks. Notes, undated
  • Brothers. Notes, undated.
  • Catholics. Notes, undated.
  • Crime. Correspondence - 1969
  • Draft. Notes, undated
  • Environment. Correspondence - 1970
  • Inauguration. Printed materials - 1969
  • Interviews - 1971, 1978
  • Law firm. Notes, undated.
  • Lincoln Memorial. Notes, undated
  • Mayors/Cities. Notes, undated.
  • Miscellaneous notes - 1967
    Undated. 2 folders
  • Politics. Notes, undated.
  • Pre-campaign. Articles and notes - 1964-1966
  • Sports. Correspondence, notes, interviews, and photo of Richard Nixon and David Eisenhower - 1969
  • Staff. Correspondence - 1969
  • Box 19:
  • Nixon, Richard M. (cont.)
  • Values. Correspondence, notes, and typescript - 1971
  • Vietnam. Notes - 1969
  • Volunteerism. Notes, undated.
  • Youth. Interview - 1969
  • North Central Airlines. Correspondence and articles - 1959 - 1960
  • Obituary
  • "Oil Bonanza Puts United Arab Emirates (U.A.E.) on Map." Article - 1974
  • Oil companies. Notes and Spectrum broadcast - 1974
  • "Old Ed." Undated.
  • Oman. Notes, undated.
  • O'Neill, Thomas P. "Tip." Typescript, interviews and notes - 1978
  • Panama. Correspondence - 1971
  • Parsky, Gerald. Notes, correspondence, and typescript - 1974
  • "Pat Nixon: The Great Survivor." Typescript, - 1979
  • Patterson, Floyd. Series of articles, undated
  • Peace Corps. Notes - 1977
  • "Peace Is At Hand." Notes, typescript, and correspondence - 1973
  • Peled, Matti. Notes and correspondence - 1983
  • Penthouse
  • Article about Jay Rockefeller. Notes, correspondence, typescript, and galley proof - 1976
  • Correspondence - 1978 - 1979
  • "Hooray for Illegal Aliens: At Least They Work." Typescript - 1978
  • People's Express. Notes, undated.
  • Percy, Valerie. Notes, undated.
  • "The Persian Gulf: The Boom, the Potential and the Problems." Typescript - 1974
  • Photographs. Including photos of George Bush, Jimmy Carter, Gerald R. Ford, Bob Hope, John Lindsay, Anwar Sadat, Spiro Agnew, Harry S Truman
    3 folders
  • Pike, Zebulon Montgomery. Typescript, undated.
  • Poland. Notes, undated.
  • Potomac
  • Alexander Haig article. Correspondence, notes, and typescript - 1973
  • "Exit Henry Kissinger." Correspondence, typescript, and notes - 1976
  • "Loyalty." Essay - 1976
  • "The Oil Country's Diplomats." Typescript - 1976
  • Povich, Shirley. Articles - 1963
  • Powell, Jody. Interviews and notes - 1978-1980
  • Prayer Breakfasts and Reactions. Notes - 1984
  • Presidential campaign
  • General. Notes - 1980
  • Michigan. Notes - 1984
  • "The President's Ordeal." Correspondence, notes, and typescript - 1973
  • "Press Vengeance in Arizona." Correspondence and typescript - 1978
  • Primaries. Notes - 1968
  • Prisoners of War. Notes - 1972 - 1973.
  • Proxmire, William. Notes, undated.
  • Public Opinion. Lebanon War article. Typescript, galley proof, and notes - 1982
  • Public Policy Conference. "The Telecommunications Age: We Are Already In It." Correspondence and introductions - 1982
  • Qatar. Notes, undated.
  • Quill, Michael. Articles - 1966
  • Racing. Typescript and notes - 1961
  • Ram News. "The Years 1962 - 80." Written for the Dubuque Senior High School Class of 1981. Typescript and notes - 1981
  • Reader's Digest. "Our Shocking Illiteracy in Foreign Languages." Notes, correspondence, interviews, and typescript - 1979-1980
  • Reagan/Bush campaign. Notes - 1980
  • Reagan, Ronald
  • General. Notes -  1966 - 1967
  • Economic plan. Notes - 1981
  • State of the Union. Notes - 1983
  • Rebozo, Charles "Bebe." Correspondence, notes, typescript - 1973
  • Reed, Vincent. Notes, undated.
  • "Report on Puerto Rico." Typescript, undated.
  • Reporter's notebooks - 1967 - 1968
  • Box 20:
  • Reporter's notebooks - 1967 - 1977
    18 folders
  • Box 21:
  • Reporter's notebooks, undated
    17 folders
  • Box 22:
  • Reporter's notebooks, undated
    9 folders
  • Republican information - 1966
  • Republican nomination race. Notes - 1968
  • Research for TV commentaries, undated.
  • Resume - 1965?
  • Retirement fund - 1982 - 1985
  • "Richard Helms, the Establishment's Splendid Son." Notes and typescript - 1977
  • "Richard Nixon's Friends." Correspondence, incomplete manuscript, and notes - 1969 - 1970
  • Right to Life. Correspondence and speeches - 1983 - 1984
  • Riots in Washington. Notes, undated
  • Robb, Charles S. Interview notes, undated.
  • Robert F. Kennedy at 40
  • Correspondence - 1964 - 1968
  • Research notes.
  • Author's notes and outline.
  • Book outline and introduction.
  • Notes, story outline, and chapter outline.
  • Typescript with corrections and revisions
    4 folders
  • Typescript draft. Author's copy with corrections and revisions
    2 folders
  • Typescript draft. Publisher's copy with editor's additions and corrections.
    2 folders
  • Page revisions, chapters 6 - 10. 
  • Box 23:
  • Robert F. Kennedy at 40 (cont.)
  • Typescript, chapters 1 - 5.
  • Galley proofs.
  • Page proofs.
  • Additions, illustration lines and mock-ups, and layout designs
  • Photos and proofs.
  • Robert F. Kennedy Journalism Awards - 1982 - 1984
    Undated.
  • Rockefeller, Happy. Notes and correspondence - 1979 - 1980
  • Rockefeller, Jay. Notes and correspondence - 1981
  • Rockefeller, Nelson A. Notes, articles, and correspondence - 1963 - 1970
  • Rockefeller, Winthrop. Notes, undated.
  • Rockefeller - Nixon effort. Notes - 1968
  • Romney, George. Notes and articles - 1963- 1966
  • Rowan, Carl. Notes - 1975
  • Ruckelshaus, William:
  • General. Notes and correspondence - 1984
  • "In Ruckelshaus We Trust." Notes and articles - 1983
  • Rusk, Dean. Article - 1965
  • Russian trip. Correspondence, notes, and itinerary - 1972
  • Saceur's interview with Nick Thimmesch - 1976
  • St. John's University - National Advisory Council. Agenda. Notes - 1984
  • Saturday Evening Post:
  • Betty Ford profile. Typescript - 1979
  • Busing article. Correspondence, typescript, and notes - 1975
  • Connally endorsement editorial. Typescript and notes - 1978
  • Dr. Corey Ser Vaas press release. Notes and photos - 1984
  • "Federal Monster." Correspondence, typescript, notes - 1975 - 1977
  • George Bush article. Typescript - 1981
  • "General Motors at 75." Notes, interviews, correspondence, and typescript - 1983
  • Jimmy the Greek article. Correspondence, notes, interviews, and typescript - 1973
  • "Karen Silkwood Without Tears." Correspondence, typescript, photo proofs, notes, and interviews - 1979 - 1984
    2 folders
  • "National Cowboy Hall of Fame: A Salute to the West." Correspondence, typescript, and notes - 1980
  • "The 1984 Campaign: War Among Women." Typescript - 1984
  • Nixon article. Typescript - 1979
  • "No Smoking Can Mean Good Business." Notes, drafts, and typescript - 1983
  • "The Ordeal and Triumph of Roberta Roper." Correspondence and typescript - 1984
  • "The Political Payola of Ambassadorship. The Carter Record Isn't So Hot." Typescript - 1979
  • "Riddle of Cancer and Diet." Correspondence, interviews, notes, and typescript, undated.
  • "Ross Perot: Patriotism Will Get Us Out of Our Economic Distress." Notes, correspondence, draft, typescript - 1982 - 1983.
  • Terrorism article. Notes, typescript, undated.
  • William Simon article. Typescript - 1976
  • Saturday Review. "The Credit Way of Life." Correspondence, typescript, notes - 1979 - 1980.
  • Box 24:
  • Saudi Arabia
  • General. Notes, correspondence, articles, and photos - 1974, 1976
    2 folders
  • Trip. Research notes - 1980
  • Scaasi, Arnold. Articles - 1962
  • Schlesinger, Arthur Jr. Articles and correspondence - 1967
  • Schlesinger, James. Notes, interview, and typescripts - 1974
  • School desegregation. Notes - 1969
  • Segal, Rob. Tape - 1984
  • "Senate Budget Boss Ed Muskie: A Liberal Who Cracks Down on Spending." Article - 1979
  • Senator Javits' Trip to Saudi Arabia. Notes and partial drafts - 1977
  • Shriver, Sargent. Articles - 1963-1966
  • Signature
  • "Robert Strauss: America's Chief Horse Trader." Typescript - 1978
  • "United Arab Emirates: Boomtime in the Desert." Correspondence, notes, and typescript - 1977
  • Silkwood, Karen. Correspondence and notes - 1979 - 1981.
  • Simon, William E. Interview and notes - 1974 - 1976
  • Somoza, Anastasio. Correspondence and typescript -  1979 - 1980
  • South Africa. Notes, correspondence, and itinerary - 1982
  • Soviet Naval Presence in the Indian Ocean. Notes - 1974
  • Soviet Union trip. Correspondence and notes -  1974 - 1975
  • Spectrum
  • Contract with CBS - 1972 - 1974
  • Correspondence about broadcasts - 1972 - 1974
    Undated.
  • Scripts - 1972 - 1974
  • Speeches
  • American Association of Petroleum Landmen. Correspondence, program, and notes - 1979
  • "American Catholics and Politics." Catholic Women's Club. Correspondence and notes - 1984-1985
  • American Enterprise Institute. Notes and correspondence - 1982
  • American Iron and Steel. Notes - 1983
  • "American Media: Saints or Sinners?" Correspondence and notes - 1984 - 1985
  • American Nuclear Society. Agenda and notes - 1980
  • American Society of Access Professionals. Notes and correspondence - 1983
  • American University Conference on American Journalism. Correspondence and notes - 1978
  • Bolin Symposium. Correspondence and notes - 1981
  • Business-Government Relations Council Meeting. Typescript of speech - 1982
  • "The Campaign So Far: Why are the Big Media So Bewildered?" Notes - 1984
  • "The Carter Honeymoon and After." Typescript of speech - 1977
  • Chicago Business and Professional Advertising Association. Typescript of speech and notes - 1982
  • Citizen's Choice Conference on Media and International Affairs. Notes - 1983
  • College and University Newspaper Editor's Program. Outline and correspondence - 1980
  • "Computerthink." Notes and correspondence - 1984
  • Denver Executive's Club. Correspondence, program, and notes - 1980
  • Edison Electrical Institute. Correspondence, program, and notes - 1979 - 1980
  • "The Election's Over: Now What?" Notes - 1984
  • "For the New Right Only." Correspondence and notes - 1981
  • Fort Union Military Academy. Correspondence and notes - 1979
  • Georgetown Right to Life Committee. Agenda and notes - 1981
  • Guardians of Jewish Homes for the Aging. Correspondence and notes - 1981
  • Harvard University. Summer-In-Washington Group. Correspondence and notes - 1984
  • Inland Daily Press Association. Correspondence, program, and speech notes - 1980
  • "John Paul II and the Secular Press." Correspondence and notes - 1980
  • Kansas City Rotary. Notes - 1983
  • Kerr-McGee. Notes - 1980
  • Leadership Savannah. Correspondence and notes - 1979
  • Loras College. Notes - 1979
  • Matrix-Kansas City. Correspondence - 1976
  • "Media and Foreign Policy." Notes and correspondence - 1985
  • Michigan Citizens for Life Convention. Correspondence - 1976
  • Miscellaneous. Notes -  1974, 1982 - 1983
    Undated.
  • Missouri Citizens for Life. Correspondence and notes - 1977
  • National Conference on Control of Hazardous Material Spills. Notes - 1976
  • National Jewish Hospital/National Asthma Center Dinner Honoring Milton Glickman. Text and audio tape - 1985
  • Nuclear Energy - Edison Electrical Institute. Notes and drafts - 1980
  • "Organized Labor in the '80's" 5th Annual PAC Committee Convention. Program and speech - 1981
  • Pfizer, Inc. Notes - 1983
  • "Political Outlook - '84." Notes - 1984
  • Propeller Club. Agenda and notes - 1971
  • "Republican Party As Seen Through the Eyes of a Reporter."
  • Republican State Central Committee of Iowa. Correspondence and notes - 1975
  • Right to Life. Correspondence and outlines - 1976
  • Rocky Mountain Electrical League. Correspondence and notes - 1978
  • Rotary Club - Harrisonburg, VA. Correspondence and notes - 1975
  • South Dakota Automobile Dealer's Association. Contract and notes - 1978
  • Spill Control Association. Notes and correspondence - 1982
  • Transformation of America Conference, Public Relations Society of America. Speech - 1983
  • University Club. Notes - 1987
  • Weyerhauser Company. Notes and correspondence - 1977, 1979
  • "What's Going on in Washington-or Is It?" Correspondence and notes - 1981
  • "What's Washington Up To Now." Correspondence and notes - 1975
  • Box 25:
  • Sports Illustrated
  • Athletes and Air Travel. Notes - 1956
  • "Blacks in College Basketball." Notes - 1956
  • Boxing Pension Plan. Notes - 1956
  • "Calvin Jones As I Remember Him." Typescript - 1956
  • "David Homer McCuskey and his U.S. Freestyle Olympic Wrestling Team." Typescript and notes - 1956
  • Detroit Tiger articles - 1956 - 1959
  • "Detroit's Irresistable Brother." Correspondence, typescript and notes - 1961
  • "Dressing Room Scenes." Typescript - 1957
  • Dubuque Baseball. Typescript, correspondence and notes - 1956
  • Ezzard Charles article. Notes, interviews and typescript - 1956
  • "The Happy Houseboaters." Notes, interviews and typescript - 1957 - 1959
  • "Harold Bradley, Cleveland Browns Messenger Boy." Typescript - 1956
  • "J. Norman Lewis on Pension Plans and Ballplayers." Typescript - 1956
  • Jack Fleck articles - 1955 - 1956
  • "Manager's Quotable Quotes." Typescript and notes, undated
  • Miscellaneous notes, undated.
  • Miscellaneous story attempts - unpublished - 1956
  • Miscellaneous story ideas - 1956
  • Notre Dame report. Correspondence, typescript and notes - 1956
  • "Report on Bucky O'Connor and the College Olympic Squad." Typescript and notes - 1956
  • Sal Maglie article. Typescript and notes, undated.
  • Studebaker-Packard articles - 1959
  • Unfinished articles - 1956 - 1957
  • "Year of the Pizzaz." Correspondence, typescripts and notes - 1961
  • Stein, Dr. Herbert. Interview - 1979
  • The Strange Saga of Rudolph Hess. Typescript -  1980 - 1981
  • Strauss, Robert. Notes - 1978
  • "Stronger Than the Sun - Weak Anti-Nuke Filmfare from Britain." Typescript and notes - 1980
  • Subscriber list - 1969
  • Taiwan. Research notes - 1977
  • Tax reform. Notes - 1969
  • Taylor, Elizabeth and John Warner. Notes and interviews, undated.
  • Texas Agricultural Aviation Magazine. "Will `Buffer Zones' Thwart the Great War on Grasshoppers." Correspondence, typescript and notes - 1980
  • Texas Monthly. Thimmesch/Rostow interview. Correspondence, interviews and notes - 1975
  • Thomas, Helen. Notes and typescript, undated
  • "Those Newspaper Presidential Endorsements: Do They Count?" Notes and typescript - 1984
  • Tidewater project. Interviews - 1983
  • Time
  • "Chevrolet's John DeLorean: The Lively Man and the Monolith." Typescript, undated.
  • Columns. February - December  - 1957
    4 folders
  • Henry Ford and Family. Typescript - 1959
  • Fortieth anniversary - 1963
  • "The Hopped-up Compacts." Typescript - 1960
  • "In the Mail, the Safety-Rim Wheel." Typescript - 1957
  • "Mayor John Lindsay. Campaign and Early Time in Office." Articles - 1965 - 1966
    2 folders
  • Mayorial Elections in New York City. Typescripts - 1965
  • Miscellaneous articles. April - 1962 -1963
    2 folders
  • Box 26:
  • Time
  • Miscellaneous articles, May  - 1963 - 1967
  • Miscellaneous articles on Richard Nixon. Story suggestions, typescripts, and notes -  1964 - 1967
  • "The Political Obituary of Richard M. Nixon: Howard K. Smith Speaks His Mind." Typescript - 1962
  • "Studebaker's Demise." Typescript, undated.
  • Time Out Conference. Correspondence, notes, expenses and introductions - 1981-1982
  • "To Err is Human, Even on 60 Minutes." Notes and typescript - 1980
  • "Topic A." Program introductions, interviews, correspondence and notes - 1966
  • Trade. Notes - 1981
  • Trip to Israel and Europe. Correspondence and notes - 1973
  • Trip to the Orient. Itinerary and notes - 1977
  • Tuition aid. Notes, undated.
  • nited Arab Emirates. Notes, undated.
  • Unpublished novel. Miscellaneous incomplete typescripts of chapters and notes, undated
  • "United States Travel Service: A Tardy Try to Mine the Mother Tourist Lode." Typescript, correspondence and notes - 1972
  • US-USSR trade. Notes, undated.
  • Vice-Presidential candidates. Notes - 1984
  • Vietnam
  • General. Notes and interviews, undated
  • Military. Notes, undated.
  • Prisoners of War. Notes, undated.
  • WRC-TV Commentaries. Correspondence and notes -  1977
  • WTTG Commentaries. Scripts - 1974
  • Wall Street Reactions to Reagan Economic Plan. Notes - 1981
  • Wagner, Robert. Articles - 1965
  • Warner, John. Notes, undated
  • Warner, John and Elizabeth Taylor. Miscellaneous articles. Typescripts, galley proofs and notes - 1976
  • Washington, D.C. riots. Articles - 1968
  • Washington Journalism Review. "H.L. Mencken's House Restored: A Pilgrimage Worth Making." Correspondence, typescript and notes - 1984
  • "Washington Journalism Then and Now: Perspectives from the Most Senior and Junior Practitioners." Correspondence and notes - 1984
  • Washington Media Workshop. Correspondence, notes, introductions and remarks - 1985
  • Washington Post. "The Sage In Harlem." Book review. Typescript - 1984
  • Washington Post Book World. Review of a Gang of Pecksniffs. Typescript, undated
  • Washington Report
  • "Big Noise Over PACs From Common Cause." Notes and typescript - 1981
  • "By line." Galley proofs, correspondence, and notes, March - May - 1983
  • Columns - 1980
  • Miscellaneous galley proofs, undated.
  • Washington Sex Scandals. Notes and articles - 1976
  • "The Way It Is In the West - For You." Article - 1967
  • Weekend. "On Bob Haldeman." Galley proof and typescript, undated.
  • "What's Wrong with Conservatives Using Government Power?" Column - 1982
  • "What Prison Life Is Like For John Ehrlichman." Typescripts, research and correspondence - 1976 - 1977
  • Box 27:
  • Wilkins, Roy. Articles, correspondence, notes and interviews - 1963
  • Williams, Edward Bennett. Articles - 1964
  • Workings of the American Media. Seminar. Notes and correspondence - 1979 - 1981
  • "The World of Tip O'Neill." Typescript - 1978
  • Yamasaki, Minoru. Miscellaneous articles - 1962 - 1963
  • "Youth Fretting Season." Column - 1970
  • Ziegler, Ron. Correspondence and notes - 1974
  • 1993 Addendum
  • Box 28:
  • "Detroit's Old Love: Racing"
  • Background material, including research, articles and clippings - 1950 - 1961
  • Notes and research - 1957 - 1961
  • Correspondence - 1961
  • Photographs.
  • Draft of article.