Guide to the George Stimpson Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: Undated
Creator: Stimpson, George (1896-1952)
Extent: 2.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0704
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Journalist, writer, and President of the National Press Club. Manuscripts for four of his informational books. Iowa Author

Administrative Information

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: Gift of George Stimpson and of Gladys Stimpson Bader.

Preferred Citation: George Stimpson Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Biographical Note

George Stimpson was born in Jones County, Iowa, near Anamosa on November 3, 1896. He attended school at Valparaiso University, from which he graduated in 1921. In 1922 he worked on the Valparaiso Messenger before moving to Washington, where he became a correspondent for several newspapers, including the Cedar Rapids Gazette and the Houston, Texas, Chronicle. He worked for a while at the Washington Herald.

He was the author of a syndicated column Information Roundup, and became an expert on Shakespeare and the Bible, as well as American history and politics. He was also an associate editor of the weekly magazine Pathfinder. He was elected president of the National Press Club in 1935.

He wrote ten informational books. He intended to write a trilogy of books about America comprised of A Book About American History, A Book About American Politics, and A Book About American Government. He was working on this last book in September 1952 when he died at the age of fifty-five.


Content Description

This collection consists of manuscripts for four of his books.

Related Materials

Who's Who in America, 1946-1947

Detailed Description of the Collection

Browse by Series:


Subjects

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Stimpson, George W., 1896-

Topics:
Authors, American

Occupations:
Authors
Journalists

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa

Genre/Form of Materials:
Archives
Copy (Production stage)
Manuscripts (Document genre)
Typescripts

Browse:
English & American Literature
Writers Archive at Iowa
Prose Writers