Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Lewis Worthington Smith papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1942-1946
Creator: Smith, Lewis Worthington (1866-1947)
Extent: 3.00 items.
Collection Number: MSC0702
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Writer, professor and Dean of Drake University. Manuscripts for two of his works, The Art of Life and Crises. Iowa Author Mss.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These manuscripts were givento the University of Iowa in 1946 by Mr. Smith.

Preferred Citation: Papers of Lewis Worthington Smith, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Lewis Worthington Smith was born in Malta, Illinois on November 22 , 1866. He studied at Beloit Academy and at Fairfield College in Nebraska, where he took his Ph.D. He did graduate work at the University of Nebraska at Lincoln and Cotner College in Bethany, Nebraska. After teaching for some time in Nebraska, he taught for four year at Tabor College. He joined the faculty of Drake University where he became head of the English Department in 1902. He was appointed a dean of Drake University in 1936. He retired in 1940.

He published over two dozen books and numerous articles, poems, and plays during his career. His textbook The Mechanism of English Style brought him royalties for twenty years. His play The Art of Life was a staple of midwestern touring troupes for many years.

Lewis Smith died in Des Moines in December 1947.

This collection consists of manuscripts for two of his works, "The Art of Life" and Crises.

Browse by Series:
There is no information currently for this Collection Guide.