Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Hartzell Spence Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1941-1962
Creator: Spence, Hartzell (1908-2001)
Extent: 13.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0701
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Born in Clarion, Iowa, Spence graduated from the University of Iowa in 1930. From 1930 to 1941 he was the United Press bureau manager in Des Moines, and saw service during WW II in the Army Air Forces where he was the founder and first editor of Yank, the Army weekly newspaper. After the war, he worked as a free-lance writer, particularly noted for his reporting on religion. He also published several novels, wrote a comic strip (David Crane) and scripts for the weekly radio program, One Foot in Heaven, broadcast on the ABC network, 1944-1945. This collection consists of drafts for numerous articles and stories, including those for The Story of Religion in America, published in Look, 1957-1960.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in Box 2.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were given to the University of Iowa Libraries by Mr. Spence over the course of the years 1946-1965.

Preferred Citation: Hartzell Spence Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Born February 15, 1908, in Clarion, Iowa, the son of a minister, Hartzell Spence graduated magna cum laude from the University of Iowa in 1930. From 1930 to 1941 he was the United Press bureau manager in Des Moines, and saw service during WW II in the Army Air Force where he was the founder and first editor of Yank, the Army weekly newspaper. He was removed as editor after fifteen months because of creative differences. After the war, he worked as a free-lance writer, particularly noted for his reporting on religion. He published several novels and wrote a comic strip (David Crane). His first published novel was One Foot in Heaven, which became a best-seller and went through three printings. It was made into a motion picture starring Frederic March and Martha Scott in 1941. He wrote a sequel, Get Thee Behind Me, which was also very popular. He wrote the scripts for the weekly radio program, "One Foot in Heaven," broadcast on the ABC network, 1944-1945.
 
By 1947, Spence was a gentleman farmer at his home, Gaston Hall, a thirty-room, 700 acre estate in Virginia. Spence turned his experiences with the old showplace into a book titled Happily Ever After.
 
Hartzell Spence died May 9, 2001.

This collection consists of correspondence, drafts and manuscripts of articles, essays, and novels, as well as tear sheets for some of the articles.
Spence has correspondence in two other collections at the University of Iowa: Elizabether Clarkson Zwart (located in the Women's Archives) and John Carey MsC0389

Browse by Series:
Series 1: BIOGRAPHICAL
Series 2: PHOTOGRAPHS
Series 3: NICHOL’S SPEECHES
Series 4: WRITINGS

  • Series 1: BIOGRAPHICAL
  • Box 1:
  • Biographical information and eulogy, obituary
  • Series 2: PHOTOGRAPHS
  • Box 1:
  • Hartzell Spence - 1947
    one 8 1/2 x 11 and one 3 1/2 x 5
  • Original manuscript collection - 1949
  • Series 3: NICHOL’S SPEECHES
  • Box 1:
  • One folder
  • Series 4: WRITINGS
  • Box 1:
  • "The Quakers"
  • Carbon typescript, with notes on sources
    19 pages
  • Source material
  • Author’s source material
  • Correspondence
  • Author’s notes research notes
  • "Christian Scientist"
  • Typewritten articles
    3 versions
  • Carbon typescript with notes on sources
    21 pages
  • Author’s manuscripts
    3 drafts
  • Correspondence
  • "Episcopal Church"
  • Printed material, author’s source material
  • "Seventh Day Adventist"
  • Pamphlets and reports, folder 2
  • Pamphlets, publications of the 7th Day Adventist’s folder
  • Correspondence - 1958
  • Author's research notes, typed and handwritten
  • Manuscript
  • These are my people
  • "Israel and Zionism A Conservative Approach"
  • "The Position of the Jews," Look, Vol. 19: No. 24. November 29 - 1955
  • "Judaism"
  • Correspondence
  • Carbon typescript with notes on sources
    20 pages
  • Drafts
  • Brochures, pamphlets, newsletter
  • American Judaism
  • Box 2:
  • Author’s research notes, handwritten
  • Author’s source material
  • Newspaper clippings - 1941-1963
  • "Episcopalian"
  • Episcopal Church-news, annual report - 1957
  • Correspondence "The Episcopalian"
    23 items
  • Carbon typescript, with notes on sources - 1988
  • The story of religion in America
  • Yearbook and Church directory of the Russian Orthodox Greek Catholic of North America, Metropolitan council, New York, New York
  • The Great Prince… St. Vladimir. His life and work
  • Saint Nicholas Cathedral of the Russian Orthodox Church in North America, Plaintiff vs. John Kedroff, et al., defendants, decisions
  • 1959 Directory of the Greek Orthodox Communities and Names and addresses of the reverend priests in North and South America and Canada.
  • Supreme Court of the United States, October Term, No. 44 1951
  • "Orthodox Church"
  • Author’s source material
  • Author’s manuscript
  • Correspondence
  • Author’s research handwritten notes
  • Typewritten notes, research material
  • "The Methodist"
  • "The Catholics"
  • Carbon typescript
    27 pages
  • Correspondence
  • Source material
  • Author’s notes
  • "Roman Catholics" - 1957
    Reprinted from November 12
  • Baptists
  • Carbon typescript with bibliography
    23 pages
  • Correspondence
  • Author’s notes
  • The Story of Religion in America
  • Revisions 1-4
  • Fifth revision
  • "The Baptist"
  • The Urban church and evangelism
  • Racial integration in the church
  • The Anti-Defamation League (ADL) Bulletin
  • Hunger and Fulfillment by Dr. Jitsuo Morikawa, preached at the Easter Sunrise Service at Hollywood Bowl, April 21 - 1957
  • Annual Southern Baptist Convention, Chicago, Illinois, May 28-31 - 1957
  • Southern Baptist convention, Houston, Texas. Book of reports, May 20-23 - 1958
  • Brochures/articles/tracts
  • Home Missions, Vol. 29: No. 7, summer camps mean world recruit, July - 1958
  • Highlights from the 67th Annual Report of the Sunday School Board of the Southern Baptist Convention
  • Press release Baptist news service
  • Formal Opening, dedication and homecoming, June 30-July 7 - 1957
  • The adult teacher southern Baptist Sunday school series, May - 1958
  • Box 3:
  • "Disciples of Christ"
  • Correspondence
  • Author’s notes
  • Two typescript drafts
  • Carbon typescripts with notes on sources
    19 pages
  • Source Materials
  • "Congregationalism"
  • Correspondence
  • Three typescript drafts
  • Thermo fax of manuscripts
  • Author’s notes
  • Source material
  • Carbon typescripts with notes on sources
    19 pages
  • "Lutherans"
  • Carbon typescripts
    18 pages
  • Handbooks and tracts
  • Correspondence
  • Drafts
  • Author’s notes
  • Used resources
  • Proof
  • 2 typescript drafts
  • "America’s Busiest Protestant"
  • Carbon typescript
    26 pages
  • "Methodism"
  • Two typescript drafts
  • Author’s notes
  • Correspondence
  • First copy
  • Tracts/brochures
  • Together, October - 1956
  • Personal Needs - 1956-1957
  • Methodism Assesses its Ministry to the City, by William W. Reid, April - 1958
  • "The Methodists" reprinted from Look, September 17 - 1957
    4 copies
  • "Mormons"
  • Carbon typescript
    23 pages
  • Tracts/brochures
  • Correspondence
  • Author's notes, Mr. Spence's visit to Salt Lake City
  • "America’s Strangest Church"
  • "America’s strangest church: Mormon"
  • Mr. Spence’s visit to Salt Lake City
  • "Some Famous Mormons"
    Missing as of April 13, 2005
  • Box 4:
  • "Presbyterians"
  • Presbyterian source material
  • Author’s corrected typescripts
    2 drafts
  • Correspondence
  • Miscellaneous
  • Author’s notes
  • Carbon typescript
    23 pages with 3 page bibliography
  • "The Best in the House"
    Published in Esquire, 1958 November, included
  • Source material
  • Typescripts
  • Correspondence
  • Notes
  • "The Bent and the Blunted Free Lance"
    Published in Saturday Review, 1962 November 10, included
  • Miscellaneous
  • Social Progress
  • "Start Where You Are," March - 1958
  • "Monday through Friday," April - 1958
  • "United Presbyterians Speak," July - 1958
  • "Residential Desegregation," September - 1958
  • "Mr. President… A manual for Officers of Chapters of United Presbyterian Men"
  • The Servant Lord and his servant people
  • Guide for the stewardship committee in the local church
  • Plan book
  • The Big Top Simon and Schuster, with Fred Branda - 1953
  • Working Revise Text
  • Circus Days
  • Correspondence
  • Index for The Big Top
  • Corrected page proof
  • Box 5:
  • Pictures
  • Grand Entry 4th Revision
  • Five chapters and third draft, chapters 6-22
  • Synopsis of Navy of “The Big Top
  • Research notes
  • Miscellaneous pages with revisions
  • Work Material and pages discarded between first and second chapters
  • Brainstorm in the Clergy
  • Draft
  • Notes
  • Correspondence
  • Source material
  • Proposal for a novel
  • Source material
  • Correspondence
  • Outline for the novel
  • The Hawk and the Lark
    2nd revision
  • Navy Diver
  • Box 6:
  • "The Lady Warrior"
  • Carbon copy from Edith Haggard
  • Original First Revise Suggested Title "Hawk and the Lark"
  • Bride and the Conqueror
    Author's proposal for the novel The Nail
  • Author’s proof
    3 copies
  • Typewritten draft
  • The Nail
  • First draft
  • Miscellaneous drafts
  • "British Methodism is Different"
    Published in Together, 1959, included
  • Manuscript
  • "Canterbury : A Shrine of Freedom"
    Published in Reader's Digest, December 1958, included
  • Drafts
  • Correspondence and synopsis
  • Source Material
  • Notes
  • "Christmas in the Parsonage"
    Published in Ladies Home Journal, December 1951, included
  • Drafts
  • Notes
  • Correspondence
  • Manuscripts
  • Box 7:
  • "The Clergy and What They Do"
  • Original typescript with extensive corrections entitled "Ministers and What They Do"
  • Tentative chapter outline of the book
  • Two carbon typescripts
    170 pages each
  • General correspondence
    1 folder
  • "The Colossal Mayor of Kansas City"
    Published in Saturday Evening Post, January 28, 1956, included
  • Drafts
  • Notes
  • Correspondence
  • Source Material
  • "Connecticut Tames its Teen-Agers"
    Published in Saturday Evening Post, October 4, 1952, included
  • Drafts
  • Notes
  • Correspondence
  • Source Material
  • "David Crane," a comic strip
  • Correspondence
  • Miscellaneous pages
  • Notes and Source
  • Story lines
  • Dialogues, A-D
    4 folders
  • Index to manuscripts and Correspondence, Alfred C. Fuller
  • 1959-1960
  • Author’s notes of the Alfred C. Fuller manuscript
  • Xerox typescript with inserts of the Alfred C. Fuller manuscript, 239 pages
  • Fuller manuscript, corrected
    Approximately 83 pages
  • Box 8:
  • Alfred C. Fuller
  • Rough draft Xerox copy, Alfred C. Fuller manuscript
  • Final draft, carbon
  • Author’s research notes
  • Revised manuscript, rough draft
  • For Every Tear a Victory: A Biography of Ferdinand E. Marcos, McGraw - 1954
  • Correspondence
  • Source
  • Notes, three folders
  • Typescript pages 1-94
  • pages 95-176
  • pages 177-303
  • Typescript, version two, pages 1-101
  • pages 102-199
  • pages 200-317
  • Get Thee Behind Me, McGraw - 1949
  • First draft with a suggested changes Uncataloged manuscript
  • Second draft
  • Box 9:
  • Third final draft, publisher’s copy
  • Page proof
  • Sheet of instructions to authors
    Uncataloged manuscript
  • "God’s Sergeant"
    Published in Redbook, October 1954, included
  • Correspondence, notes, miscellaneous
  • Typescripts
  • "High Voltage on the Campus"
    Published in Guideposts, May 1954; Clear Horizons, Winter 1954-1955, included
  • Correspondence
  • Notes
  • Source material
  • Typescripts
  • Synopses
  • Happily Ever After, McGraw - 1949
  • Some of Fausett's original illustrations from "Happily Ever After"
  • First draft with revisions
  • Second draft with revisions
  • Third draft with revisions
  • Printer’s copy with revisions
  • Master copy
  • A copy of letter from Hartzell Spence to Miss Wormer concerning manuscripts, October 19 - 1949
  • Work Sheets
  • General suggestions for the book
    4 pages
  • “The Approach”
    5 typewritten pages
  • General philosophy stated
    1 page
  • Hand drawings
    15 pages
  • Prints used in the novel
    10 pages
  • Proof sheets for the title dedicating page
    3 sets
  • Chapter 1
  • Press proof
  • Box 10:
  • Happily Ever After, continued
  • Page proof, with revisions, probably final
  • Page proof, with revisions Second version
  • Page proof, with revisions First version
  • "'Himself', The Inquisitive Earl"
    Published in 9 foreign editions of Reader's Digest, January-May 1954, included
  • Correspondence and Source material
  • Notes
  • Typescripts
  • "How Methodism Grew Up"
    Published in Together, (November?) 1959, included
  • "The Man Who Tipped the Croupiers"
    Published in Bluebook, November 1952; Ellery Queen's Mystery Magazine, October 1954, under the title "The Big Tipper," included
  • "The Late Rector of Warleggan"
    Published in Christian Herald, May 1955, included
  • "Live or Die, I Must Ride!"
    Published in Pacific Spectator, August 1958, included
  • "The Lutherans' Big TV Hit"
  • Correspondence and typescripts
  • Source
  • Notes
  • "Modern Shepherd of the Hills"
    Published in Saturday Evening Post, November 8, 1952, included
  • Notes
  • Correspondence
  • Typescripts
  • "The Mental Patients Best Friends"
    Published in Saturday Evening Post, June 19, 1954, included
  • Typescripts
  • Correspondence
  • Source
  • Notes
  • Correspondence
  • Mrs. W.H. Spence
  • Viola Irene Cooper
  • Miscellaneous
  • Contracts
  • Vain Shadow
  • Our Foot in Heaven
  • Miscellaneous
  • Without Introduction, typescript, five chapters
  • "The Most Unforgettable Character I’ve Met"
    Published in American and seven foreign editions of Reader's Digest, April-June 1955, included
  • Correspondence
  • Source
  • Typescripts
  • Notes
  • Box 11:
  • "My Son Was Caught Using Narcotics"
    Published in Saturday Evening Post, December 27, 1952
  • Source
  • Notes
  • Typescripts
  • Correspondence
  • "The Mystery of the Private Chapel"
  • Source
  • Notes
  • Correspondence
  • Typescripts
  • "The Omelet and I"
    Published in Park East, May 1952, included
  • Typescripts
  • Notes and Source
  • "The Ohmart Story"
    Script for Creative Frontiers
  • Synopsis
  • Typescripts
  • Correspondence
  • Notes
  • Source
  • "A New Dimension for the Classroom"
    Published in Steelways, August 1955, included
  • Typescripts
  • Notes
  • Correspondence
  • Source
  • One Foot in Heaven
  • First and second drafts
    Not organized
  • First organized draft
  • Short biographical sketch
  • Typed copies of letter from author’s mother
  • Sample of checking on historical facts for One Foot in Heaven
  • Radio City Music Hall program - 1941
  • Sermon by Rev. Spence
  • First galleys and corrections
  • Insert galley where marked
  • Box 12:
  • "Parsons-Come-Lately"
    Published in Saturday Evening Post, August 29, 1959, included
  • Source
  • Notes
  • Correspondence
  • Typescripts
  • "Studio One" presentation, June 1 - 1948
  • Copyright notices - 1945-1946
  • "One Foot in Heaven," radio scripts, February-November - 1945
  • One Foot in Heaven
    Script One
  • One Foot in Heaven
    Pneumonia
  • Marriage Ceremony
  • Football
  • Bells
  • One Foot in Heaven “Script One,” February 5 - 1945
  • One Foot in Heaven
    Printer’s copy
  • Fourth Draft Remaining Changes Made on Galleys
  • Second Galleys
  • Box 13:
  • Portrait in Oil
  • Bibliography
  • Outline
  • Correspondence
  • Notes
  • First Typescript
  • Second Typescript
  • Third Typescript
  • Third typescript
  • Third typescript
  • Third typescript
  • Fourth typescript
  • Fourth typescript, Xeroxed chapters 1-5
  • Fourth typescript, Xeroxed chapters 6-10
  • Fourth typescript, Xeroxed chapters 11-18
  • Fifth typescript, Forward chapters 4
  • Fifth typescript, chapters 5-9
  • Fifth typescript, chapters 10-14
  • Fifth typescript, chapters 15-18
  • Source material
  • The Private Corporation as an Institution… Three, transcript
    File with Portrait in Oil
  • Big Business Dons a New Look, transcript, 12 pages
    File with Portrait in Oil
  • Gallery proofs index
  • Gallery proofs
  • Box 14:
  • Radio City, in Dial - 1942
  • First and second Drafts
    Uncataloged manuscript
  • A Summary of Radio City
  • Church of the Brethren
  • Marcus Whitman novelette
  • "The Man of the Lutheran Hour"
    Published in Saturday Evening Post, June 19 1948
  • Transcribed notes from original, typewritten
  • Miscellaneous
  • Religious General
  • Sleep Study
  • Christadelphia
  • Pentecostal Assemblies of God
  • Bahai
  • Mennonites
  • Unitarian
  • Miscellaneous
  • The Story of Religion in America
    Published articles
  • "Should Your Child Enter the Clergy?"
    Published in Look, March 31, 1959, included
  • Source
  • Typescripts
  • Correspondence
  • "She Sells Glamour Secondhand"
    Published in Saturday Evening Post, September 29, 1956? included
  • Notes
  • Correspondence
  • Typescripts
  • "The Terrible, Tempered Angel of Arkansas"
    Published in Saturday Evening Post, February 17, 1951
  • "The Man of the Lutheran Hour"
    Published in Saturday Evening Post, June 19 1948
  • Letters to and from publisher, author and other
  • Original notes in longhand
  • Final draft, carbon
  • One draft, revised, with suggested title, "Radio’s Billy Sunday"
  • Working draft revised, of what became accepted version
  • One draft, revised, labeled "Maier"
  • Miscellaneous background material
  • Box 15:
  • "Education’s New Boy Wonder"
    Published in Colliers, January 13, 1951
  • Five revised versions, one with "Education’s New Fair Haired Boy"
  • Third revised version
  • First finished version
  • Original notes in longhand
  • Transcribed notes from originals, typewritten
  • Correspondence between Author and Publisher
  • Miscellaneous background material
  • Reprint of published article from Colliers, January 13 - 1951
    4 copies
  • "America ’s Bluest Blue Law Town"
    Published in Colliers, August 26, 1950
  • First revised draft
  • Second revised draft
  • Final draft, carbon
  • Original notes in longhand
  • Transcribed notes from originals, typewritten
  • Correspondence between author and publisher
  • Miscellaneous background material
  • Letters of criticism written to author after article was published
  • "The Day the Town Trembled"
    Published in Argosy, August 1951
  • Early draft, corrected and revised
  • Second revised draft, with suggested title, "The Coward"
  • Final draft carbon, with suggested title, "The Man Who Didn't Fit"
  • Letter from Argosy magazine
  • "Look What the Church is Doing Now!"
    Published in Saturday Evening Post, February 5, 1949, included
  • Galley Proof with title penciled on it,“Look What the Church is Doing Now!”
    Missing as of April 13, 2005
  • Original notes in longhand
  • Rough corrected partial drafts with title, The Independent Shepherd of Mortgage Hill
  • Third revised draft and copy, incomplete
  • Another draft revised, incomplete, with copy also incomplete
  • Last revised draft and copy marked rough draft
  • Letters to and from the author and 2 letters from author’s mother
  • Background Material
  • Transcribed notes from originals, typewritten
  • "How to Make Money Out of Nothing"
    Published in Saturday Evening Post, April 1, 1950
  • Two rough partial drafts of only a few pages each
  • Revised draft with suggested title, “The man who hates his own success”
  • Second revised draft with several suggested titles
  • Final draft carbon entitled, “He has plenty of nothing”
    Publisher’s acceptance letter attached
  • Original notes in longhand
  • Notes transcribed, typewritten
  • Letters of author, publisher and others
  • Miscellaneous background material
  • "Can He Unite the Protestants?"
    Published in Saturday Evening Post, December 4, 1948
  • One draft revised, with four suggested titles
  • With nine suggested titles
  • With title, Protestants Look toward union
  • One draft carbon marked first revision
  • Marked second revision
  • Original notes in longhand
  • Transcribed notes, typewritten
  • Letters from publisher, author
  • Miscellaneous background material including three letters from author’s mother
  • "They’re Training a New Kind of Parson"
    Published in Saturday Evening Post, November 26, 1949
  • One draft, revised
  • One draft, greatly revised
  • One draft carbon with title, “Practical Parson: model 1949”
  • Final revised draft, with letter from publisher and part of one from author
  • Original notes in longhand
  • Transcribed notes from originals, typewritten
  • Letters from publisher and author and others
  • Miscellaneous background material including letters from author’s mother
  • "Pulpit Psychiatrist"
    Published in Saturday Evening Post, April 26, 1947
  • Publisher’s copy carbon, with a few revisions
  • Miscellaneous background material
  • Letters of author, publisher and others
  • Two rough drafts revised, one incomplete, with several suggested titles
  • Final draft
  • Saturday Evening Post of April 26, 1947, containing the published story
  • Original notes in longhand
  • Notes, transcribed, typewritten
  • "Nonstop Preacher"
    Published in Saturday Evening Post, November 29, 1947
  • One draft, revised and without title
  • Four pages of one draft revised with suggested title “Fighting Dan, the Muscular Christian”
  • One draft revised with title, “The World’s Most Muscular Christian”
  • Copy of another draft with title, “The World’s Most Muscular Christian”
  • Original notes in longhand
  • Transcribed notes from originals, typewritten
  • Miscellaneous reference material
  • "The Sons of the Dead"
    Published in Christian Herald, August 1951
  • Original draft revised
  • Carbon of final draft
  • Original notes in longhand
  • Transcribed notes from originals, typewritten
  • Two letters from Gustav-Adolf Gedat and one from the Christian Herald
  • "The Parable of the Talents, Inc."
    Published in Good Housekeeping, July 1950
  • Original draft revised
  • Carbon of final draft
  • Original notes in longhand
  • Transcribed notes from originals, typewritten
  • Roster of church members and various announcements in connection with Talents, Inc.
  • Article describing Talents, Inc.
    Published in the New York Post "Home News" of Tuesday, September 27, 1949
  • Steinhaus, Dr. Arthur H. with Hartzell Spence
  • "Boxing, Legalized Murder"
    Published in Look, January 3, 1950
  • One draft, revised and corrected with suggested title, “Is Boxing a Sport or Murder?”
  • One draft corrected by joint author, Dr. Steinhaus, with accompanying letter
  • One draft, with suggested title, “Battered Brains” attached to copy revised by Dr. Steinhaus
  • One draft corrected and revised, marked “rev”
  • Original notes in longhand
  • Transcribed notes from originals, typewritten
  • Letters of Dr. Steinhaus and Curtis Brown, Ltd. To Hartzell Spence
  • Reprint of article “Boxing in High School” by Arthur H. Steinhaus
  • Part of the published article as it appeared in “Look” January 3, 1950
  • Box 16:
  • Mining Directory of Minnesota, 1953. by Henry H. Wade and Mildred R. Alm, Vol. 56: No. 21, May 1 - 1953
  • "We Don't Call Them Criminals"
  • Typescripts
  • Correspondence
  • Notes
  • Source
  • "They Put Christianity to Work"
    Published in Saturday Evening Post, November 26, 1949, included
  • Notes
  • Correspondence
  • Typescripts
  • "They Love to Save Your Life"
    Published in Saturday Evening Post, September 17, 1955, included
  • Miscellaneous pages
  • Notes
  • Correspondence
  • Source
  • Typescripts
  • "Stubborn Taconite Turns to Iron"
    Published in Nation's Business, August 1954; Reader's Digest, September 1954, included
  • Typescripts
  • Correspondence
  • Notes
  • Source
  • "The Truth about the Bible"
  • Notes
  • Source
  • Correspondence
  • Typescripts
  • Synopses
  • "Vest-pocket Circus"
    Published in Saturday Evening Post, January 31, 1953, included
  • Typescripts
  • Correspondence
  • Notes
  • Source
  • "What do Methodist Really Believe?"
    Published in Together, July 1961, included
  • Typescripts
  • Correspondence
  • Notes
  • Box 17:
  • Folder of Church Council Bulletins and Letters
  • New York Life
  • Completed copy
  • Chapters 1-8
  • Chapters 9-15
  • Unused material from NYLIC History
  • NYLIC History, chapter 15
  • Inter-company correspondence
  • Research notes
  • Proposals for NYLIC History
  • Source material for NYLIC History
  • New York Life, final draft
  • Chapters 1-9
  • Chapters 10-15
  • “Vain Shadow,” McGraw 1948
  • Final draft
  • Copy of letter from author
  • First, second and third drafts, combined
  • Galley proof
  • Box 18:
  • Worksheets on historical background which represents four years of research by author
  • Schoolwork
  • Correspondence with Reidsville, N.C. fifth graders - 1972-1978
    6 folders
  • Correspondence, Mr. Brande and his class - 1972-1980
  • Correspondence with Reidsville, North Carolina seventh graders - 1965
  • Correspondence, Reidsville, North Carolina rural school children - 1978-1980
  • Correspondence with Essex, Connecticut fifth graders - 1978
  • Correspondence with Gilmer Brande - 1974, 1978
  • The King of the Golden River
  • A Kingless Court
  • Miscellaneous
  • A Strange Tale
  • The Daily Dozer, Vol. 2: No. 1-6
  • Box 19: Laying Loose on Shelf
  • Yank magazine. Dummy and mock-up, special edition, Yank clippings and pictures - 1955