Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Grace Noll Smith papers

Collection Overview

Date Span:
Creator: Smith, Grace Noll (1878-1974)
Extent: 2.00 linear inches.
Collection Number: MSC0700
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Poet and editor of the Iowa Magazine of Verse. Manuscript with revisions of one book of poetry. Iowa Author Mss.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were given to the University of Iowa Libraries by Grace Noll Smith in 1950

Preferred Citation: Grace Noll Smith Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Grace Noll Smith was born in 1878 in Grundy Center, Iowa. After graduating from Grinnell College in 1902, she worked as a teacher and librarian. In 1933 she started writing poetry. She was the editor of the Iowa Magazine of Verse and president of the Iowa Poetry Association. Smith died in 1974 in Des Moines, Iowa.

Typescript of Grace Noll Smith's book of poetry The Apple is Eaten.
Published copies of Smith's books can be found in the following locations:

The Apple is Eaten: MAIN Library, call number PS3537.M35 A6; also

SPECIAL COLLECTIONS Iowa Authors Collection

Seed and Soil Together: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS Iowa Authors Collection 95-1396; also SPECIAL COLLECTIONS Iowa Authors Collection

Browse by Series:
There is no information currently for this Collection Guide.

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
English & American Literature
Writers Archive at Iowa
Novelists, Story Writers, & Poets