Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Richard Sherman Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span:
Creator: Sherman, Richard
Extent: 2.00 linear inches.
Collection Number: MSC0696
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Iowa novelist. His collection consists of the manuscript for The Bright Promise. Iowa Author manuscript.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were given to the University of Iowa Libraries by Richard Sherman in 1947. Guide posted to Internet: August 2004.

Preferred Citation: Richard Sherman Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Born in Bancroft, Iowa, Richard Sherman went to Harvard, where he was editorial chairman of the Crimson and also served on the board of the Advocate. In 1935, he left Vanity Fair to become a full-time writer rather than a half-time editor. His stories appeared in many magazines, including the Atlantic Monthly, Story, Saturday Evening Post and the New Yorker. He also published the novelsTo Mary with Love, The Unready Heart, and The Bright Promise.

Browse by Series:
There is no information currently for this Collection Guide.

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
English & American Literature
Writers Archive at Iowa
Novelists, Story Writers, & Poets