Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the George M. Sheets papers

Collection Overview

Date Span:
Creator: Sheets, George M. (1887-1974)
Extent: 2.00 linear inches.
Collection Number: MSC0694
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Iowa writer and businessman.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition:

Preferred Citation: George M. Sheets Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

George Sheets was born in 1887 in Belle Plaine, Iowa. He received his B.A. at the University of Wisconsin and his M.A. at Yale in 1910. In 1935 he moved to Iowa City. For seventeen years he was a city editor for the Davenport Democrat. He then worked for the H.W. Ramsey landscaping company and later as a sales manager for the Iowa-Illinois Gas and Electric Company. He was active in the Sons of the American Revolution (SAR), serving as their president in 1967. Over the years he authored a number of books, including several biographies and histories of specialized subjects. From 1957 -- 1959 he served as collector of historical documents at the University of Iowa. He died in 1974.

Copies of the typescripts of several writings and books by George M. Sheets.
The Story of the Advertiser's Club of Davenport: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS, Iowa Authors Collection

The Go-Getter's Tablet of Stone: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS, Iowa Authors Collection

The Thinker, Who Turned Work Into Play: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS, Iowa Authors Collection

A History of Iowa S.A.R:. MAIN Library, call number E202.3.I6 S5; also SPECIAL COLLECTIONS, Iowa Authors Collection

Browse by Series:
There is no information currently for this Collection Guide.

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Sheets, George Marsh, 1887-1974

Topics:
Authors, American

Occupations:
Authors

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa

Genre/Form of Materials:
Archives
Manuscripts for publication
Typescripts

Browse:
English & American Literature
Writers Archive at Iowa
Prose Writers