Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Gladys Denny Shultz papers

Collection Overview

Date Span:
Creator: Shultz, Gladys Denny
Extent: .25 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0692
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Editor with Better Homes and Gardens and The Ladies' Home Journal and author of biographies. Typescript of her Jenny Lind (1962).

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition:

Preferred Citation: Mss. Papers of Gladys Denny Shultz, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Gladys Denny Shultz was graduated from Drake University in 1918 and received her first writing experience on the staff of the Des Moines (Ia.) Register where she worked while her husband served in World War I, took his law degree, and established his law practice. Following the birth of her daughter and son, and the death of her husband in 1931, Mrs. Shultz continued her career as a free-lance writer of articles and fiction.

Because of her own interests as a home-maker and mother, Mrs. Shultz specialized in articles on child care and training and was made head of Better Homes and Gardens department of child care soon after the magazine's inception.

From the jacket of Widows Wise and Otherwise published by J. B. Lippincott Company in 1949.

She also wrote under the name of Anne Gardner, mainly stories for newspaper serialization.

This collection consists of the manuscript for her fiction/biography, Jenny Lind.

Browse by Series:
There is no information currently for this Collection Guide.