Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the (Katherine) Eleanor Saltzman Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1933-1945
Creator: Saltzman, (Katherine) Eleanor (1904-1946)
Extent: 8.00 linear inches.
Collection Number: MSC0689
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Iowa regional writer. This collection consists of manuscripts for Ever Tomorrow and Stuart's Hill, and her unpublished novel, Carpthorne; manuscripts and tear sheets of her short stories and poems; as well as correspondence, notes, and clippings. Iowa Author Mss.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition:

Preferred Citation: (Katherine) Eleanor Saltzman Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Katherine Eleanor Saltzman was born October 19, 1904, at Mount Ayr, Iowa. She attended high school there, then Drake University where she received her B.A. degree in 1928. She received a Master of Arts degree in 1929 from the University of Iowa. She stayed on at the University of Iowa, first as editorial assistant of the Classical Journal, then as assistant in public relations for the Iowa Child Welfare Research Station.

Crippled at the age of nine by infantile paralysis, she spent much time in the Saltzman Hotel in Benton Harbor, Michigan, which was operated by her cousin Dr. William Saltzman. She died there in 1946 at the age of 41.

Saltzman was a compulsive writer, as she discusses in one of the essays in this collection, "I'm an Incurable." She wrote advice on parenting, beginning with her days with the Child Welfare Program. She wrote novels, two of which were published, Ever Tomorrow in 1936 and Stuart's Hill in 1946. These were well-received and won modest praise as regional novels, written in a form called "softened realism." "Grave" and "honest" are words used by several critics to describe Saltzman's work. A third novel, Carpthorne, was in production, but because of the war and Saltzman's early death, it was never published. She wrote many short stories and poems, and a good many of them were published in such journals as The Saturday Review, The Household Magazine, and Wallace's Farmer.

This collection includes drafts and correspondence concerning Saltzman's novels Ever Tomorrow and Stuart's Hill and a manuscript of her unpublished novel, Carpthorne. Also included are manuscripts of poetry, short stories, and essays. One critic has said that the chapters of her novels could stand alone as short stories, and indeed some of the manuscripts, which appear in journals as short stories as well as chapters in her books, are treated as short stories here, separate from the manuscripts for the novels. There are some tear sheets for published materials for which we have no manuscript. Each folder contains a manuscript unless otherwise noted. Where we have the manuscript and the published version, the name of the piece is followed by the citation. In those cases in which we have the published version only, this is noted by a short statement following the citation. Where there is correspondence relating to a piece of writing, it is included in the folder with the manuscript or tear sheet.
There is a single letter of Saltzman's in the Kelm papers

Papers of Karlton and William Kelm

Browse by Series:
Series 1: MISCELLANEOUS
Series 2: PERSONAL FILES
Series 3: WRITINGS

  • Series 1: MISCELLANEOUS
  • Series 2: PERSONAL FILES
  • Box 1:
  • Biographical materials
  • Clippings
  • Correspondence
  • Series 3: WRITINGS
  • Sub-Series: Novels, Short Stories, and Essays
  • Box 1:
  • "Acquiring Money Sense"
  • "An Affair of State"
  • "An American Pauses in February." Household Magazine, February 1942, p. 9. Publication copy only. In oversized folder
  • "And Jack-o-Lanterns, Too"
  • "Are You Thankful, Tommy?"
  • "As of Fire." Prairie Schooner, pp. 172 -- 176 - 1939 Fall
  • "At Our House"
  • "At the Turn of Years"
  • "The Baby Learns Toileting"
  • "A Baby's Routine" See also oversized box for published version, Michigan Farmer, p. 10 - 1942 January 10
  • "Bass for Lohengrin"
  • "Birthday Party"
  • "Boy in the Ravine." Yankee, pp. 13 -- 15 - 1941 June
  • "Can Parents Learn?" Review of Reviews, pp. 26 -- 28. Publication copy only - 1937 January
  • "A Case of Cheating." The Nation's Schools, Vol.20:No.5, pp. 23 -- 24. With Carlson, Harold S., who is the primary author. Publication copy only - 1937 November
  • Carpthorne
  • Earliest draft. Uncorrected carbon copy.
    4 folders
  • Earliest draft. Corrected carbon copy.
    2 folders
  • Revised pages
  • Latest draft, retyped with corrections.
    2 folders
  • Correspondence
  • "Charles Helps Plow Corn"
  • "A Child in a New Year." Michigan Farmer, p. 8 - 1939 December 23
  • "Child Incorrigible." Character in Everyday Life, pp. 9 --15. Publication copy only - 1938 January
  • "Children in the Kitchen"
  • "Chronicle"
  • "Colloquy with Carolyn." Frontier and Midland, Vol.17:no.1 (Autumn), pp. 23 -- 32
  • "The Conscripted"
  • "Contemporary American Short Story"
  • "A Corner of His Own." Wallace's Farmer and Iowa Homestead, p. 23 - 1940 April 20
  • "Conferences and Headlines." The Social Frontier, pp. 124 --125. Publication copy only - 1938 January
  • "Credo For the Teacher of a Young Child." American Childhood, p. 55. Publication copy only - 1938 October
  • "Daddy Doesn't Drink Milk"
  • "The Dark Lover"
  • "Dear Somebody"
  • "Does Radio Harm Our Children?" The Rotarian, pp. 11 -- 12, 59 -- 60. Incomplete. Publication copy only - 1938 November
  • "Early Training For Baby." Wallace's Farmer and Iowa Homestead, p. 29. Publication copy only - 1940 January 31
  • "East Branch and Beyond." Bulletin of the State University of Iowa, Child Welfare Pamphlets Narrative Supplements, Story C. Publication copy only - 1935 July 13
  • "Elder Brother." The Midland, pp. 131 -- 136 - 1932 September-October
  • Ever Tomorrow
  • Printer's typescript -- with corrections and revisions [3 folders]
  • Correspondence - 1933-1938
  • "False Health Notions." Hygeia, pp. 32 -- 34, 59. Incomplete. Written with George A. Walker, who is listed as primary author. Publication copy only - 1942 January
  • "Family Council"
  • "Farmer's Son"
  • "Father of the Girl"
  • "The Fathers Have Eaten." Bulletin of the State University of Iowa, Child Welfare Pamphlets Narrative Supplements, Story A. Publication copy only - 1935 June 29
  • "A Few Cents Coming In"
  • "First Night, Last Night." Reprinted in Mott, Frank Luther, ed., Good Stories, Macmillan, pp. 57 -- 64 - 1936
  • "The First of March"
  • "Five Sixteen"
  • "For Chris, For Christmas"
  • "For Dad From Junior"
  • "A Garden Apiece." Michigan Farmer, p. 10 - 1940 April 27
  • "Half a Life"
  • "Hands"
  • "Happy Birthday." The Moderator, pp. 16 -- 18. Publication copy only - Undated
  • "Hillside in the Sun"
  • "Hired Hand." Bulletin of the State University of Iowa, Child Welfare Pamphlets Narrative Supplements, Story D. Publication copy only - 1935 July 20
  • "His Own School"
  • "Home is the Catalpa." Prairie Schooner, pp. 71 -- 76. Publication copy only - 1943 Summer
  • "How Musical Are We?"
  • "I See You, Helene"
  • "I Wonder." Bulletin of the State University of Iowa Child Welfare Pamphlets Narrative Supplements, Story B. Publication copy only - 1935 July 6
  • "I'm An Incorrigible." The Writer, Vol.49:No.8, pp. 248 -- 250. Publication copy only - August
  • "I'm Hungry, Mother." The Country Guide and Nor'west Farmer, p. 35 - 1940 January
  • "In Memoriam." American Prefaces, Vol.4:No.4, pp. 58 -- 59. Publication copy only. In oversized folder - 1939 January
  • "In Plays They Operate"
  • "In the Heart of a Child." National Parent-Teacher, pp. 35 -- 36. This is comprised of two short stories by Saltzman, "In Faith Petitioning" and "The Orange Butterfly Pocket" - 1941 June
  • Incomplete fragment with drawing
  • "Inscription for a Portrait"
  • "The Iowa of Yesterday." Radio talk
  • Box 2:
  • "Johnny Says 'No'"
  • "Junior's Grandfather Died"
  • "The Kiss." The Cornhill Magazine, pp. 212 -- 220. Proof copy and publication copy - 1939 February
  • Learning to Be Good Parents. Boston: Manthorne & Burack, Inc., Publication copy only - 1937
  • "Let's Take a Vacation"
  • "Letter to My Husband"
  • "Leonard the Lion"
  • "Little Philip Duckling"
  • "Little Pink Fox Lost"
  • "Lillie"
  • "I Made First Team"
  • "Man Alone"
  • "Man of the House." The Frontier and Midland, pp. 14 -- 16. Publication copy only - 1933 November
  • "The Man Who Lost August 24"
  • Many Mansions. Edited by Saltzman?
  • "Middle Harvest." Household Magazine, pp. 7, 54 -- 55, 57. Publication copy only. In oversized folder - 1936 April
  • "Money Sense"
  • "Mother Catherine's Children"
  • "Mother, Say Please"
  • "The Mourners." Bulletin of the State University of Iowa, Child Welfare Pamphlets Narrative Supplement, Story E, Publication copy only - 1935 July 27
  • "A Needle Some Goods"
  • "Now That School is Out"
  • "Of Course I Treat My Child as a Person." The American Home, pp. 26, 51 -- 54. Publication copy only. In oversized folder - 1938 July
  • "One Morning Early." American Prefaces, Vol. 1:No.8, pp. 115 -- 117. Publication copy only. In oversized folder - 1936 May
  • "Or Leave a Kiss"
  • "The Parable of the Possessions"
  • "Parents Incorporated." Hygeia, pp. 396 -- 399, 466 -- 467. Publication copy only - 1939 May
  • "Parents Must Pull Together"
  • "Pastoral." American Prefaces, Vol. 3:No. 1, pp. 12 -- 14 - 1937 October
  • "Path Alone to the River"
  • "People Are Kind"
  • "Peter Beyond the Pine Tree"
  • Plots for stories
  • "The Popular Periodical." Parent Education, Vol.III:No.6, pp. 18 -- 19, 50. Publication copy only - 1937 May
  • "Preface to Courage." Baby Talk, pp. 7, 22 -- 24 - 1941 June
  • "Professors and Other People." This was given as an address to the Phi Beta Kappa Society, Alpha Chapter of Iowa. There are some other items from this event in this folder. - 1936 May 20
  • "A Quarter to Mow the Lawn"
  • "The Rainstorm"
  • "The Realism of Euripides"
  • "The Remembered"
  • "Resolution for a Parent"
  • "Santa Claus Night"
  • "School is Hard Work"
  • "School Promotion for Junior"
  • "Shall We Buy Some School Clothes?"
  • "Some Hens Are Mothers"
  • "Somebody to Play With." Wallace's Farmer and Iowa Homestead, . 16 - 1939 November 18
  • "Somep'm For Mame." Hawk Wings, Vol. VII:No.1, pp. 5 -- 10 - 1929 November
  • "Something for Betty's Christmas"
  • "Sonata in D Minor"
  • "The Spinster Aunt"
  • "Stranger Within the Gates." Bulletin of the State University of Iowa. Child Welfare Pamphlets Narrative Supplement, Story H - 1937 January 2
  • Stuart's Hill
  • 1st draft -- with revisions
  • 2nd draft -- with revisions
  • 2nd draft -- carbon
  • 3rd draft -- with revisions
  • 3rd draft -- carbon
  • 4th draft -- with revisions
  • 5th draft -- carbon
  • Correspondence - 1937-1945
  • Newspapers clippings - 1945
  • Notes
  • "Theme With Variations." American Prefaces, Vol.2:No.1, pp. 10 -- 11. Publication copy only. In oversized folder - 1936 October
  • "Three Moments." National Parent-Teacher, pp. 14 -- 17. This is comprised of three short short stories, "The Baby," "Four Matches," and "A Child Afraid." Publication copy only - 1940 April
  • "Time For Music Lessons." Wallace's Farmer and Iowa Homestead, p. 22. Publication copy only - 1940 May 18
  • Time to Help With the Chores." The Country Guide, Publication copy only - 1942 August
  • "To Love, Honor, and Cherish"
  • "The Too-Big House"
  • "Tragedy in Circles"
  • "Tree of Life." Prairie Schooner, Vol.IV:No.3, pp. 147 -- 152. Publication copy only - 1930 Summer
  • Untitled. 4 folders
  • "Veiled Sky." Prairie Schooner, Vol.XII:No.1, pp. 30 -- 35. Publication copy only - 1938 Spring
  • "We Lived on a Farm"
  • "Wedding Night"
  • "The Well is Dry"
  • "What is Your Community Doing For Its Children?" Hygeia, pp. 238 -- 240, 284. Publication copy only - 1939 March
  • "Where Did I Come From?"
  • "While Mother Works in the Garden"
  • "Willett Cumming's' Girl"
  • "Within These Bonds." Household Magazine, pp. 6, 13. Publication copy only. In oversized folder - 1939 October
  • "The Youngest Starts to School"
  • "Your 'Teener Goes Out." Wallaces' Farmer and Homestead, p. 18 - 1940 January 27
  • Sub-Series: Poetry
  • Box 2:
  • Poetry A--N
  • "Ahaserus"
  • "Alien"
  • "The Aliens"
  • "As the Night, Beloved"
  • "Beginning"
  • "Bridegroom in Cana"
  • "Christmas Eve, 1942"
  • "Churchyard at Sunset"
  • "Comfort for an Impecunious Lover'
  • "Commencement"
  • 'Coral Dawn"
  • "A Criminal in Born"
  • "Creed for Courage"
  • "Death of Martha." Prairie Schooner, Vol.XIV:No.3, pp. 177 -- 178 - 1940 Fall
  • "Draftee"
  • "Epicure in August"
  • "Evensong"
  • "Farm to Market Road." Household Magazine, Vol.40:No.4 - 1940 April
  • "The Fence"
  • "First Flood." National Parent-Teacher, p. 31. Publication copy only - 1944 April
  • "For a Child Named William"
  • "For a Child Newborn"
  • "Free Man's Song"
  • "Frieze for the Years"
  • "Golgotha"
  • "Harvester"
  • "The Hero"
  • "Hour for a Tryst"
  • "I Shall Live On." The Saturday Review of Literature,Vol.XXXVII:No.46. Publication copy only - 1945 November 17
  • "Itinerary"
  • "Inventory at Dawn." Publication copy only. In oversized folder
  • "Let No Man Say"
  • "Lines for an Aryan"
  • "Little Girl Growing"
  • "Log House"
  • "Lover"
  • "Measure"
  • "Mist"
  • "No Greater Love"
  • "Nostalgia for Harvest." The Lantern, Vol.14:No.6 - 1940 November-December
  • "Notes for Another Life"
  • Poetry O--Z
  • "To A Physiotherapist"
  • "Office Hours"
  • "One September Night"
  • "Or Where You Are"
  • "Overflow." Household Magazine. Publication copy only - 1943 February
  • "Passion Arranged For Strings"
  • "Peasant Harvest"
  • "Pilgrimage"
  • "The Pine Tree"
  • "Pledge"
  • "Prairie Memorial." Household Magazine, p. 17. Also in oversized folder - 1940 March
  • "Prayer for a House"
  • "Quest"
  • "Question"
  • "Release"
  • "Requiem." The Saturday Review of Literature. Vol. XXIX:No.14 , p. 28 - 1946 April 6
  • "Second Wife"
  • "Snow"
  • "So Deep Our Love'
  • "So Like You Is He"
  • "Song of Brave Women"
  • "Song of Woman"
  • "Song Without Words"
  • "Step Softly, Love"
  • "Tenant Farmer"
  • "Thanksgiving"
  • "Theme for a Pastoral"
  • "There is No Fear"
  • "Thirty-Eighth Birthday"
  • "This Love We Hold." Household Magazine - 1942 March
  • "To A Neighbor Planet"
  • "To Edyth, Gratefully"
  • "To My Brother"
  • "To Stephen Vincent Benet"
  • "To William Edward Saltzman III"
  • "Tribute"
  • "Two Degrees Below"
  • "Ultimate"
  • "Under the Mexican Hanging"
  • "Untitled". 2 poems
  • "Virgin"
  • "Vital Material"
  • "WPA Project"
  • "Wealth"