Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the J. Clyde Ryan Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: Undated
Creator: Ryan, J. Clyde (1889-)
Extent: 2.00 folders.
Collection Number: MSC0687
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Papers of J. Clyde Ryan. Manuscript for A Skeptic Dude in Arizona. 2 folders. Iowa Author Mss.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were given to the University of Iowa Libraries by Mr. Ryan in 1953.

Preferred Citation: J. Clyde Ryan Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

J. Clyde Ryan was born in 1899 in Muscatine, Iowa. He attended city schools in Muscatine and worked before and after school to augment his family's income. He entered Muscatine High Shcool which he attended for three years. He then attended Oberlin Academy and Oberlin College. Thereafter he attended Cornell College, from which he graduated in 1915. He married in 1916 and he and Mrs. Ryan spent the following year in Turkey doing war relief work. After the war he worked at Ball Brothers Company in Muncie, Indiana, and later was vice-president of Ray-O-Vac Company in Madison, Wisconsin. He retired to Tucson, Arizona, in 1958. In 1952 he published A Skeptic Dude in Arizona and in 1968 he published I'm Glad I Lived Then.

J. Clyde Ryan's original manuscript of A Skeptic Dude in Arizona.
Copies of Ryan's books can be found at the following locations:

I'm Glad I Lived Then: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS Iowa Authors Collection

Custer Fell First: The Adventures of John C. Lockwood (Edited and compiled by J. C. Ryan.): MAIN Library, call number F595 .L56 1966

A Skeptic Dude in Arizona: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS Iowa Authors Collection

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • A Skeptic Dude in Arizona Typescript
    Two folders

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
English & American Literature
Writers Archive at Iowa
Prose Writers