Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Katharine Eggleston Roberts Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1940-1950
Creator: Roberts, Katharine Eggleston (1895-1968)
Extent: 1.75 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0683
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Printer's copies and related materials for four of Roberts' novels: And the Bravest of These, Center of the Web, Private Report, and Wind From The River.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were given to the University of Iowa Libraries in 1951 by Ms. Roberts; an addition was given to the libraries by Mrs. Frank McClurg in 1969.

Preferred Citation: Katharine Eggleston Roberts Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Katharine Roberts was born in Fort Madison on July 22, 1895, the daughter of Dr. Francis and Ann Cowles Roberts. She grew up in Fort Madison. In World War I she was a foreign correspondent for the Western Newspaper Union. During World War II, she was a free lance writer overseas.

She drew upon her war experience to write two novels about the European underground, Center of the Web and Private Report. After the war, she wrote a non-fiction book about the struggles of the Belgian peoples to rebuild entitled And the Bravest of These. For these books, she was awarded the Cross of the Knight of the Order of the Crown by Prince Charles, Regent of Belgium. She was also given a button by commandants of the underground movement.

Prior to writing her books, Ms. Roberts wrote short stoires and articles for major American magazines. She also had a play produced on Broadway in 1932, called Divorce Me, Dear. She also engaged in speaking, in person and in radio broadcasts.

She died in New York on March 4, 1968.

This collection contains manuscripts for And the Bravest of These, Center of the Web, and Private Report. It also contains the manuscript for an unpublished nover, Wind From the River.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • And the Bravest of These
    Original draft, revised. Carbon of unrevised publisher's copy. Galley proof.
  • Center of the Web
    One draft revised with earlier suggested titles, "The House on Harmony Street" or "They Come Again". Carbon of publisher's copy with the title "Center of The Web," which is title of published book.
  • Private Report
    Publisher's copy, revised. Typewritten layout of some of the frort matter (8 pieces). Hand printed layout of title page (in pencil). Dummy proof of fly-title (2 copies), title-page, copyright, dedication, disclaimer, foreword, and books by author. Galley proof with marginal notes.
  • Wind From The River
    First carbon copy, part I. Hand written corrections throughout. Separate hand written check list of corrections.
  • Box 2:
  • Wind From The River
    Typewritten carbon copy with title-page, books by author, disclaimer, and foreward note. Hand written corrections throughout. Second carbon copy, part II and III. Hand written corrections throughout. Separate hand written check list of corrections.
  • Newspaper clippings - 1943, 1948

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
English & American Literature
Writers Archive at Iowa
Novelists, Story Writers, & Poets